We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads St Kilda Beach

24 Grey Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Coffee Palace Backpackers)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nomads St Kilda Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Firstly, I'll start with the fact that St Kilda in general is an absolute hell hole. There are crack heads on every street corner and there's really nothing to do there. But if you have to visit, I wouldn't recommend this hostel. As soon as we got to this hostel we were greeted with a dark reception area and an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy G
DJBewsic, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hey Amy! Thanks for taking the time to review! As most people know, St Kilda has a colourful history, which adds to it's charm. However, it's not for everyone! We are currently undergoing some heavy refurbishments, and our kitchen is next in line! We were having some difficulties with the electrics in the kitchen a few days ago, however an... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Smelly hot and rude people in dorms that dont let people sleep, people are loud, bring extra people in the beds staying up until late night talking loud eating in the dorm. Also got a new bag of food stolen. I would of never recomend this place to nobody. Paying 220$ a week and not even able to sleep due... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giada B
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review. It sounds like you may have been placed in a room full of new stayers and people travelling through Melbourne with less attention to a good nights sleep. Had we known, we would have happily moved you into one of our long term dorms where some of the other guests staying... More 

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place was dark and old almost like an old court house. It smelled bad and the rooms got really hot with no air conditioning which made it hard to sleep at night. They also put the price up at weekends and wouldn't give us a weekly deal. Also the bathrooms on the 2nd floor had no glass in these... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review, I'm very disappointed to hear your stay with us was not satisfactory. while I can't be sure of the building's origins I can say that the building was once a ball room and is indeed over 100 years old. Most people love this about our little hostel, but to fit in with... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Worst hostel we've stayed. No value for your money and really expensive compering what you get. House is old so kitchen/common areas are shabby. I would have managed with that but the sheets we got were all dirty. They had stains all over sheet, pillow case and linen. I went to ask new ones two times from reception but every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorechu_
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to notice our logo, indeed we currently are in the process of changing our building branding. Like anything good, this takes time and the building has been subject to other important changes like our new bathrooms which you mentioned and refurbishing bedrooms. I can assure you we bleach and maintain all our linen regularly,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was really nice! It's hard to believe in some of the coments here as the staff we met was really good, helpfull and kind, making us fell at home. The Portuguese guy Francixsco is the one you should look for. The rooms were also really nice for the price. They were clean,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lars B
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Thanks for the rocking review! You're right, Francisco is my favorite too. Looking forward to seeing you again if you're back in Melbourne. Kind regards, NSKB More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend last week. We hadn't seen eachother and decided to have a private room for 2 nights. To be honest we would have been better staying on the beach. $150 a night!!! The room was tiny and dirty. No air con, not even a fan. The floor had around 8 rooms and ONE toilet. So waiting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig91234
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for reviewing. I'm disappointed you were not satisfied in your stay. I am embarrassed(to say the least) by the state of your linen, ALL our used linen is washed daily, I'm not sure what happened to yours. We also bleach our linen regularly but any sheets with blood on them would be normally thrown out. Our housekeeping team... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

The third worst hostel I have stayed at in the past 30 years. Kitchen to small for the number of guests, knowledge of the reception staff varied. Generally tried to be helpful. Cleanliness - what cleanliness? The photographs outside I presume were either of the penthouse or another hostel altogether. Stair carpets were away, I presume being cleaned, which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank WickedGiant
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hi there, Cleanliness and safety is a top priority to us and we appreciate your feedback. We have considered this and have made a few changes to amend the problems you outlined in your review and hopefully lift the standards that you experienced. Some staff have been retrained. Stairs are now being mopped every day Kitchen(and bins) now being cleaned... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

As a backpacker you can not expect the best beds the best sheets or a 5* accommodation. This hostel offers everything you need, laundry room, travel advice, kitchen, clean bathrooms, social area, tv room, wifi, cheap rooms. The beds are quite comfortable the pillows are slightly hard but it's nice enough, smoking on the roof which closes at 10.30. Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry O
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hi Kerry! Thanks for reviewing! It's always nice to get some feedback about our little hostel and especially about our staff and you're right, we are so lucky to have this little spot! Come stay again soon! NSKB More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

The dorm was disgusting , nowhere near clean. , housekeeping had come but didn't even clean the room , the dorm had a disgusting smell to it and it was very noisy with loud music being played until late hours and started again very early , had to move out after a night , it was an awful experience and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay, awesome new bathroom, friendly helpful staff und super management. Definitely the best hostel and the best people in Melbourne! And the Rooftop is always about 2-3 °c warmer then the rest of Melbourne. Spent weeks up there.

Helpful?
Thank Philipp H
DJBewsic, Manager at Nomads St Kilda Beach, responded to this review

Hi Phil! First of all, thanks for the kind words! Secondly, I think you're right- we're pretty lucky to have that rooftop, it's always good weather up there. ...even when it's "Melbourne weather!" NSKB More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Abode By Easystay
#3 of 19 in St Kilda
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tolarno Hotel
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#88 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay