We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 St Kilda hotels

Hotel Urban St Kilda

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   35 - 37 Fitzroy Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3018, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Urban St Kilda to your Saves list
Hotel Urban St Kilda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in St Kilda
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Gail M Adelaide
  • Overview
  • Reviews (268)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (70)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    110
    58
    12
    6
See reviews for
24
135
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Urban. Very easy access to many popular Melbourne destinations. Would have to be one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Quirky design details added to the experience. Would definitely consider another stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently attended a work conference at the Hotel Urban and stayed for 2 nights. Everything was included and I have to say that the service and facilities were awesome. The food was amazing and the rooms were very neat, tidy and comfortable. I had a fantastic time and would recommend this venue for conferences, or simply staying at for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We unexpectedly found ourself at Hotel Urban. The friendly staff who checked us in was accommodating, friendly and helpful. My partner and I received a discount as well as free parking. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was also clean and well presented. Although we don't consume champagne (which isn't for everyone), it was good to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Kulycia, Thanks for your recent review. I am always glad to here when our guests enjoy all elements of their stay, especailly the rooms, bed and our service. I will be sure to pass this onto the team. What a shame you didnt let us know you dont drink bubbles....we are always happy to swap this over for something... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a Scoopon Deal with no idea about the hotel. It was better than I expected. The room and bathoom were clean and the bed comfortable. We stayed at this hotel for two nights, a Saturday and Sunday night and didn't experience any issues with regard to noise. The location is good, walkable to all that St.Kilda has to offer,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Maffradasher, Thanks for recent review. Its sounds like you really enjoyed your last visit with us at Hotel Urban, and got quite a good deal on our last Scoopon offer. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Kind Regards James Muscat General Manager More

Brisbane Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 2-day stay and were reasonably comfy. The hotel is fairly central, in a bit of a seedy area (not the "posh" end of St Kilda), with plenty of local eateries close to hand and a very noisy bar over the road, but at least the windows reduced that a bit. The bed was big and firm enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi ianzcarr, Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you found your stay at Urban St Kilda comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. Apologies in relation to the smoke burn in your bath, but as you can imagine as a 100% non smoking hotel we do our absolute best to ensure our guests refrain from smoking,... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night on a Wotif deal, for a Friday night. I found whilst checking in the Receptionist wasn't friendly at all - no smile, no 'how are you?, or 'have a nice stay' etc. The parking is quite difficult to get into and its first come first serve, so you cannot book ahead. Once we got to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi WeLoveMelbourne, Thanks for your feedback. So sorry to hear that there were elements of your stay that didn't meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the lack of service provided by our reception team at check in are very concerning and certainly not the level of service that the team is trained to provide. In relation to the car parking... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whenever I book hotels I make sure the room has a tub as it's not a luxury I'm able to enjoy in my shower-only apartment. This room did not disappoint with it's large bath in the bed area. You can lie back and watch a movie on the big screen TV. There is plenty of space to spread out with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Lindleann, Thank you so much for your recent review. We too also love our unique Round Rooms, and they are so popular as we only have two....nothing better than relaxing in large spa whilst cathing up on some TV. Glad you slept well on our Urban Snoorer also, they are so comfy, so much so that we even sell... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here during March 2014. The hotel was being renovated which involved noisy works and hindered entry/exit from the building. However, no apologies or compensation was made for the inconvenience. Our room wasn't available at the agreed check in time and we had to wait for another hour. The service was not friendly or welcoming, some staff seemed more interested... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Shelley F, Thanks for your feedback. So sorry to hear that there were elements of your stay that didn't meet your expectations. It was unfortunate that we were undergoing our facade and entrance refurbishment during your stay, and although we did our best to manage the noise there are always times when this is not going to be possible.... More

Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had never really stayed in this area before but I was having trouble finding any hotel in the Melbourne CBD over this particular weekend. I found this gem as a Last Minute Secret hotel and was overall really happy. It said it was a 4.5* however I would rate it a good 4*. Our room was on the third... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi JustAllie, Thank you so much for your positive review on Trip Advisor. There is nothing better than booking a mystery hotel and discoverying a little gem. It seems that you enjoyed Hotel Urban for everything we want it to be. I will be sure to pass on all your feedback to the team. Our beds (Urban Snoorer) are very... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel staff were lovely and very accommodating and the location was excellent, walking distance to great cafes and restaurants, waterfront and main attractions in St Kilda. Easy tram access to most places. Accommodation was basic and the walls were thin, so it was a bit noisy. The rooms were not quite like the pictures, however it is clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Nicole G, Glad to hear you enjoyed your recent girls weekend away in St Kilda. We are so lucky to be conveniently located on Fitzroy St, with the beach only 200 metres away, 3 trams out the front and with new bars and cafes opening up every week there is always something to do when your in the area.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Urban St Kilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Urban St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban St Kilda

Address: 35 - 37 Fitzroy Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3018, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Urban St Kilda 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Urban St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Hotel Urban St Kilda Greater Melbourne

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda #6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Urban St Kilda. More than a hotel... It's not your typical hotel setting - but then this isn't your typical Melbourne hotel. Hotel Urban St Kilda offers more comfort, more indulgence, more choice and more inspiration. Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barclay and Acland Streets at your doorstep, the boutique Hotel Urban St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. Our ultra-comfy rooms feature designer everything, premium amenities and our signature Urban Snorer beds that have been designed to provide the ultimate slumber.Consider our Urban Superior Room with designer everything, Deluxe Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Sweet Urban Room with enormous separate bathroom and shower, and double spa. For extra fun check out our oh-so-popular Urban Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. Whatever you fancy, you won't want to leave. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch.So come on over and experience the Urban difference for yourself! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer