We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Hotel website
16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Add Photo Write a Review

1,856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    457
    811
    417
    114
    57
See reviews for
322
879
169
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1856)
  • Mar-May only
    (463)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (417)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (461)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (515)
All months
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful room, very clean, excellent localization, in front of a tram station, a lot of bars, pubs and restaurants close. Excellent breakfast, staff very polite. I liked also the gym and swimming pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is a disgrace to the Novotel Chain. Rude staff, rude Duty Manager and most of all the housekeepers are the worst in my 15 years extensive travel experience. My partner was sick so we asked for a late turn down and we were told NO as it was after 4pm...???!!! Then we booked a second room for friends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay at Novotel St Kilda on the last night after our Great Ocean Road family holiday before flying back to Brisbane. The reason we chose St Kilda is because we wanted to take the kids to Luna Park. Novotel St Kilda was in prime position for exactly what we wanted, Luna Park was a 5 minute walk,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

KylieJP1 Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the sites and sounds of St Kilda. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff are helpful and friendly at check-in and check-out. We stayed in a bay view room which had a lovely outlook over the bay of St Kilda. A plentiful selection for breakfast and a good size meal for dinner. Drinks a little expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

SusieMacSydney Thank you for your review, it is great to read you enjoyed your stay and our amazing view overlooking the bay. We do hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

The Entrance
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were on the small side. I did not like the breakfast, but I eat a Paleo lifestyle and did not like their hot food. Loved the location right on the beach, even if it was Winter. So easy to jump on the tram and go to the city and Casino. Right next to Luna Park and lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

Angela P Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would welcome your return. I will pass your comments onto the Chef to see what other options we could provide for Paleo requirements as this is a growing demand. Thank you once again. Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed in fact could not believe it was a Novotel. We paid for a premium room which they first took us to a room that was set up for the disabled which did not appear to have been used for a long time. It was dirty and smelt. We then had to settle for a room at the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

Micmac001 Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that you did not feel that your stay was what you expected. I would recommend on your future visits that you upgrade to the next room type available which would have provided you with more space and comfort during you evening with us. I can only also recommend that... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel continues to improve. I use it regularly for convenience of parking and good access to restaurants and the city. Each stay I notice small improvements in service and facilities. Always efficient check-in.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

mbw555 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and it is great to read that you are enjoying your time with us more and more. We do hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a tad disappointed with this particular Novotel as we have stayed at others which were more superior. It looked out over the ocean and it underground covered parking $$.s both which were a plus. Hiding in the tiny wardrobe we found a safe, an iron and ironing board, kettle, teas and coffees, cups, glasses and a set of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

BMW70 Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor. At Novotel St Kilda, we offer rooms that have different features, one of those is size. From your review, I would encourage you on any future visits to request a larger room particularly for a longer stay. We do endeavor... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

442 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (243)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Standard Double Bay View Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Double Bay Vew Room (26)
Viewed
Superior Double Full Room (28)
Viewed
Superior King Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Superior Queen and Double Twin Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.7 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.2 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay