We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Hotel website
16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Announcement
Immerse Yourself
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Add Photo Write a Review

1,824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    447
    799
    410
    114
    54
See reviews for
319
867
167
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1824)
  • Mar-May only
    (463)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (385)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (461)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (515)
All months
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really enjoyed our stay here for three nights in a King Room. We had an awesome view of the beach and pier area where we could watch the kitesurfers and we also had a view of Melbourne's high rises in the distance. The lobby, bedroom and bathroom were all modern and updated and clean. The staff were very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Whilst the Novotel St Kilda is getting a little long in the tooth, I enjoy staying here for business when in Melbourne rather than in the city. Location is everything. The eating options in Fitroy St in one direction and Acland St in the other is great. Not to mention the Esplanade Hotel (The Espy) stumbling distance a block away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

GuitarmanBowral Thank you for taking the time to place a review here in Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Yarra Valley, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm so glad my partner and I chose Novotel St Kilda for our weekend escape to the city! We couldn't believe the stunning views of the bay from our window. We had a great night's sleep on the cosy, comfy bed and loved the delicious-smelling toiletries in the bathroom. The location was fab and we loved being a five minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

CamandRose Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is vey convenient to the city and should be your choice when visiting the NGV or theatre and restaurants in town - very easy access to the city via the streetcar which is right in front of the hotel. The beach is in front of hotel across the street and there is alot to do with a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

PJ L Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mostly helpful staff but I cannot believe this belongs to the Accor brand!! Shocking marketing for your brand. How long will you keep charging dollars for this hotel before you update it????? Will never stay here again. The so-called "restaurant" is of very poor standard. The rooms and facilities are ancient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

Narelle6153 Thank you for your review and our apologies that you felt that the hotel was not to your liking. It is clear you feel strongly about this and I would welcome you to contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Novotel St Kilda is in an ideal location for the perfect weekend away. Away from the CBD, St Kilda offers a diverse range of restaurants, activities, parklands, markets, culture & great beaches and the Novotel in right in the thick of it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

Peter Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for almost 3 weeks. Heater not working, small room and small bathroom. Breakfast was below average with really bad coffee. The only good thing is the location, opposite tram station and plenty of good food within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

Mr Wong Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and please accept my sincere apologies. We do hope you had a safe trip home and that we do see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
48 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here primarily for the location. It's right on the esplanade, so you only need to cross the road to reach the beach. It is only a few hundred metres from the Palais Theatre and Luna Park, so definitely an ideal location. When we arrived, which was around 4pm our room which we had booked online had been given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

sm05060 Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will follow up with regards to your departure as it is very unusual that we receive this type of comment as we need to ensure that all guests receive a great farewell. Kind Regards Llewellyn Wyeth General Manager More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This has to be hands down the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life. 1) The rooms were dated and old. The mattress was sinking in the middle and the showerhead in the bathroom was leaking. I requested for a room change and did get one. However, the toilet bowl seat was coming off and there were mysterious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review

Ian L Thank you for posting your review and photos on Trip Advisor. We are extremely dissapointed by your review and I would like to extend my personal apologies for your experience. I would also encourage you to contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com so taht I can ascertain where our mistakes were made so that we can focus on continuing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

433 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (243)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Standard Double Bay View Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Double Bay Vew Room (26)
Viewed
Superior Double Full Room (28)
Viewed
Superior King Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Superior Queen and Double Twin Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay