We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince

Certificate of Excellence
2 Acland Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Prince
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    63
    24
    20
    11
See reviews for
12
92
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am staying here. Had delicious dinner in the restaurant. This morning I'm in the restaurant. There is one other guest here. It's 8.30am. I ask for a vegetable omelet (not on the menu though all ingredients are). Chef says he's too busy to make it! I don't even mind which vegetables. He can make scrambled egg with spinach but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found The Prince on a web flash sale and thought we'd give it a try. A nice hotel but overpriced for its "boutique" status. Fantastic location. Friendly service. The Circa bar is really classy with a good selection of wines. Although the room was dressed well, the facilities were basic. Uncomfortable double bed and no extra blankets despite it being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick M, Accommodation Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear Rose_ColouredCoffee, Thank you for writing to us following your stay at The Prince. We do hope that you enjoyed your weekend in St Kilda however I would like to apologies for a number of small items which overall made for a less than perfect stay with us. I can assure you that we will be working to improve our... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely disappointing stay. The lady at reception was rude and dismissive. We had our son/brother's wedding to be ready for at 3 and we were not able to check in to our room until 2:45. To top it off, rooms are tiny and dingy. I do not recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick M, Accommodation Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear BiancaMikhail, Thank you for your review following your stay with us at The Prince. My sincerest apologies for a stay which was far from perfect. Unfortunately due to circumstances on the day your room was as you noted ready upon your arrival however it is how this is handled which is most important. I will be working with the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our one night staycation in St Kilda was a complete let down. There was an event on at the hotel the night we stayed, which made our stay impossible. First off, the hotel bar was closed to hotel guests. A bit disappointing, but we got over this. But it was impossible to get over the noise of the party, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick M, Accommodation Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear LJ_aus, Thank you for contacting us following your stay with us at The Prince this past weekend. Again may I offer our sincerest apologies and assure you that we are addressing your most valid points raised. Our team will of course be working hard to ensure this disturbance does not occur again. Since your stay with us we have... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a night after seeing a show at the Alex Theatre just down the road. Perfect location - close to everything and a stone's throw from the beach. Although quite dark and dingy looking - the rooms are airy and had a real modern feel. The bed and pillows were really comfortable - giving us both a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveM80, Accommodaton Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear Kellie E, Thanks for your excellent review following your stay at The Prince. Although a freezing weekend it sounds like you had an enjoyable time with us and down at The Alex Theatre. Its excellent to hear that you found our rooms comfortable, hopefully on your next visit you can take advantage of our balconies overlooking the bay. Until... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here for business for 2 nights and enjoyed my time at the Prince. Excellent breakfast and a complimentary drink at the bar downstairs was also a nice touch. The only issue I had was some noise from the Street of people going past but that is hardly the fault of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveM80, Accommodation Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear MattyL73, Thank you for choosing The Prince during your St Kilda stay. My apologies for the noise disturbance from the street below. Next when on business and in need of a quiet room please let us know so we can arrange. We have a selection of internal rooms which I think would be suitable. It's excellent to hear you... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I have stayed at The Prince in Melbourne's buzzy St Kilda several times over the past 15 years or so (since it was renovated some years back). It is not a cheap experience but I have always appreciated the quality of the service and accommodation. Also, you can't ask for a better location. The Prince is on the corner of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveM80, Accommodation Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear swimwritechick, Thank you for writing to us following your stay at The Prince. Sorry to hear that this stay was not quite perfect which is of course our aim. Housekeeping is something of concern and I can assure you that we will be working to improve on this. I can assure you an improved experience on your future stay... More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We stayed here on an impromptu trip to Melbourne. We booked the deluxe room which said included breakfast. The room was dirty (bed had dirt and pubic hairs) and the walls had been drawn on, looked quiet dated. When we enquires with reception to make sure we had been put in the right room for what we had booked (pictures... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveM80, Accommodation Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear EmmaCSC, Thank you for writing to us following your recent stay at The Prince. My sincerest apologies for our experience which I must admit falls well below our own high expectations. It is however reassuring to know that our team did look after you during your stay. May I ask that if you are ever looking to stay in... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed on a busy Saturday night in St kilda. Room was clean and modern and on the fourth floor away from any noise. On arrival we received complimentary drinks in the bar, which was a fabulous way to start our evening. Every room also comes with breakfast and it was a gourmet delight! Coffee fantastic too. Many thanks to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveM80, Accommodation Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear sydsunshine, It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Prince. Glad to hear you enjoyed your pre dinner drinks and breakfast with us and I must agree our coffee is fantastic! The pleasure was all ours and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne. Until next time, Nick & The... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We have just stayed here over the long weekend, and was very pleased with our visit. We only booked here as all the hotels in Melbourne CBD were fully booked, so we thought we would stay down the road in St Kilda. The outside of the hotel isn't that fancy and I think that's what makes the inside such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince, responded to this review

Dear Tailia16 Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We really take pride in the art-design look and feel of the property as well as the onsite food and beverage facilities. We hope to see you back with us again in the not-too-distant future. Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.2 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#2 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay