We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 St Kilda hotels

Crest on Barkly

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Crest on Barkly to your Saves list
Crest on Barkly
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
50%
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in St Kilda
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
allanbulpin Toowoomba, Australia
  • Reviews (31)
  • Photos (18)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (9)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
8
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a room for the grand Prix the location was superb and you could hear the cars from first thing in the morning, other than that there are not too many good features, the room although tastefully decored have been updated on a shoestring budget this is shown on the terrible patch jobs bad tiling and terrible cabnitery,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NSW
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel itself is pretty old and it shows in the rooms. They're quite spacious, but need an update. My room definitely needed the carpet replaced and it looked like the bathroom door had been touched up (with paint), but the colour wasn't quite the same....4 to 5 "touch ups" that didn't quite match. The hallways are quite narrow and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are sorry that we have let you down in this instance. The maintenance team have been working on updating carpets repainting rooms and replacing curtains. unfortunately they had not completed the room you had bee allocated. We would like to welcome you back to our hotel... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I had a weekend to see my son who's in Melbourne for a year. The Open Tennis was on so regular hotels were all full. I booked a 1 bed apartment here for $180 a night. Barkly Street is near St Kilda so a 20 minute cab or bus ride to the CBD The apartment was spacious, and clean but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments. we are always trying to better our facility and its guests like you that assist with constructive feedback We have taken your comments seriously and are now working up updating the facility. We assure you that on your next stay with us we will have made some serious... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

- Window cannot be opened, so when the room smells bad, it stays. It smelled like something rotted, and the air felt stuffy. The only thing good about the room itself was the two queen sized beds. The room needs refreshment, sheets were old. - The lift was soooooo old, noisy and loud, and made people feel unsafe. - The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked here for a weekend stay, while all of Melbourne appeared to be booked out one weekend. We ended up with a room that was two doors down from reception and as such was quite noisy at times as people returned at various hours of the night. The room itself was well appointed, comfortable and clean. The reception staff however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback and regret that you were disappointed with our level of service. We have taken your constructive comments seriously and have discussed your remarks with the team for immediate action. We dedicate ourselves to ensuring our level of friendliness and service are met with a can do attitude at all times. It... More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall we were pleased with our stay at this hotel. It is an older hotel which shows in "bones"; the tiles in the bathroom and the configuration but this did not detract from our stay as it had updated fittings and fixtures, the bed was comfortable and the amenities all worked. I would like to give a special thanks to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seymour, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this motel as we were in town for the night to go to the Palais Theatre. We were told no Taxi will come to them (???) and to make other arrangements. The room was older style, walls had been plastered over holes but not repainted. The bathroom was clean, but the shower was over an older style bath... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback and regret that you were disappointed with your experience in our Hotel. Taxis have become relentlessly impossible in St Kilda on a Friday Saturday night. None the less we are looking at offering a hotel driver service to our guests in peak times. Please contact me directly on your next visit... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights and was terrible from the start. Arrived at 330pm to find the room was still being made up. After 20 mins we went in to find the carpets and upholstery was significantly stained and the room stunk of stale cigarette smoke. Our room was also next to lift which was very old and very noisy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We are always trying to improve our service and facility. We take all our guests feed back seriously and do our best address any concerns. We note your comments regarding room service suggesting it was closed. Our Restaurant and Room service is actually open every Friday and Saturday for both for breakfast and dinner... More

Wodonga, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The good: hot strong shower. Price. Access to Fitzroy st. Parking. The bad: appallingly noisy. We had room 001. Don't stay here, it's right next to reception and there is no passage door, meaning you get everybody arriving in off the street at all hours and all their noise as they stump past or go upstairs. You can hear the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnp1410, Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to Thank you for your feedback and regret that you were disappointed with your experience in our Hotel. We are taking your constructive comments serious and have discussed each point with the team for immediate action to be taken Your detailed comment regarding the noisy room has been met with an immediate resolve. We are... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Don't let the photos fool you. The furniture maybe newish, but everything else is OLD, really old. As soon as I got to my room, noticed that the window was broken, leaving a massive gap, allowing wind and anything else to come through. The hotel handyman (who looked like he was angry) came up to fix it, all the while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnp1410, Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to personally thank you for your feedback. I understand your disappointment with our product and would like to thank you for your constructive comments. We appreciate receiving comments from our valued guests, even if they be of a critical nature. This is the only way for us to learn how to continuously improve the service... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crest on Barkly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crest on Barkly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest on Barkly

Also Known As:
Crest On Barkly Hotel
Crest On Barkly Hotel St Kilda
Crest On Barkly St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Address: 47 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crest on Barkly 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crest on Barkly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#11 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
80

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.