We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 St Kilda hotels

Crest on Barkly

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Crest on Barkly to your Saves list
Crest on Barkly
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
50%
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in St Kilda
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
Derek H Maroochydore
  • Overview
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
8
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Crest on Barkly, although just your average accommodation by standards the friendly and helpful owners/operators more than make up for the niceties (and price tag) that other upmarket hotels have to offer. The restaurant within the hotel which is open to the public offers an intimate or alfresco dining experience and you simply must try the veal marsala off the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The room had recently been refurbished but still smelt strongly of paint. Woke up in the morning with a headache as there was no way of airing the room. The bed was ok and the amenities were all there. Due to the smell and headache we decided not to stay for breakfast so cannot comment on this. We were looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St George, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room for the grand Prix the location was superb and you could hear the cars from first thing in the morning, other than that there are not too many good features, the room although tastefully decored have been updated on a shoestring budget this is shown on the terrible patch jobs bad tiling and terrible cabnitery,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NSW
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel itself is pretty old and it shows in the rooms. They're quite spacious, but need an update. My room definitely needed the carpet replaced and it looked like the bathroom door had been touched up (with paint), but the colour wasn't quite the same....4 to 5 "touch ups" that didn't quite match. The hallways are quite narrow and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are sorry that we have let you down in this instance. The maintenance team have been working on updating carpets repainting rooms and replacing curtains. unfortunately they had not completed the room you had bee allocated. We would like to welcome you back to our hotel... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I had a weekend to see my son who's in Melbourne for a year. The Open Tennis was on so regular hotels were all full. I booked a 1 bed apartment here for $180 a night. Barkly Street is near St Kilda so a 20 minute cab or bus ride to the CBD The apartment was spacious, and clean but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments. we are always trying to better our facility and its guests like you that assist with constructive feedback We have taken your comments seriously and are now working up updating the facility. We assure you that on your next stay with us we will have made some serious... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

- Window cannot be opened, so when the room smells bad, it stays. It smelled like something rotted, and the air felt stuffy. The only thing good about the room itself was the two queen sized beds. The room needs refreshment, sheets were old. - The lift was soooooo old, noisy and loud, and made people feel unsafe. - The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked here for a weekend stay, while all of Melbourne appeared to be booked out one weekend. We ended up with a room that was two doors down from reception and as such was quite noisy at times as people returned at various hours of the night. The room itself was well appointed, comfortable and clean. The reception staff however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback and regret that you were disappointed with our level of service. We have taken your constructive comments seriously and have discussed your remarks with the team for immediate action. We dedicate ourselves to ensuring our level of friendliness and service are met with a can do attitude at all times. It... More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall we were pleased with our stay at this hotel. It is an older hotel which shows in "bones"; the tiles in the bathroom and the configuration but this did not detract from our stay as it had updated fittings and fixtures, the bed was comfortable and the amenities all worked. I would like to give a special thanks to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seymour, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this motel as we were in town for the night to go to the Palais Theatre. We were told no Taxi will come to them (???) and to make other arrangements. The room was older style, walls had been plastered over holes but not repainted. The bathroom was clean, but the shower was over an older style bath... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback and regret that you were disappointed with your experience in our Hotel. Taxis have become relentlessly impossible in St Kilda on a Friday Saturday night. None the less we are looking at offering a hotel driver service to our guests in peak times. Please contact me directly on your next visit... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights and was terrible from the start. Arrived at 330pm to find the room was still being made up. After 20 mins we went in to find the carpets and upholstery was significantly stained and the room stunk of stale cigarette smoke. Our room was also next to lift which was very old and very noisy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We are always trying to improve our service and facility. We take all our guests feed back seriously and do our best address any concerns. We note your comments regarding room service suggesting it was closed. Our Restaurant and Room service is actually open every Friday and Saturday for both for breakfast and dinner... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crest on Barkly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crest on Barkly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest on Barkly

Address: 47 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crest on Barkly 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crest on Barkly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest On Barkly Hotel St Kilda
Crest On Barkly St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St Kilda with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#11 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crest on Barkly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer