We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 St Kilda hotels

Crest on Barkly

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Crest on Barkly
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crest on Barkly to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kymmybabe Sale, Australia
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
8
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Sale, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment I called to book I was happy, the lady making my booking was not only lovey and friendly but also gave me a great deal on a room. The rates are so reasonable compared to other places in melbourne. The rooms were clean, our room was spacious ( more spacious than some other I think.) The place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wodonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Great area to stay for a few days. we stayed 2 nights in a standard room, in the room we had 2 queen beds, good quality beds, good big room, they have renovated these rooms and but they have not replaced the carpet which needs doing because they are stained and worn out even has an iron burn.We stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central Victoria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Easy to get to, free parking, clean unit, great and friendly service.. very central to just everything. Walking distance to Palais, eateries, beach and general shopping. Quiet room, easy to book, great in all ways.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for only a one night stop over, we arrived quite late and left reasonably early. The rooms have been recently painted/renovated and are clean but still lack a nice finish. Carpets are stained and scorched from where people have dropped irons and the spot light in our bathroom was hanging down. The walls are very thin to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maroochydore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Crest on Barkly, although just your average accommodation by standards the friendly and helpful owners/operators more than make up for the niceties (and price tag) that other upmarket hotels have to offer. The restaurant within the hotel which is open to the public offers an intimate or alfresco dining experience and you simply must try the veal marsala off the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The room had recently been refurbished but still smelt strongly of paint. Woke up in the morning with a headache as there was no way of airing the room. The bed was ok and the amenities were all there. Due to the smell and headache we decided not to stay for breakfast so cannot comment on this. We were looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St George, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room for the grand Prix the location was superb and you could hear the cars from first thing in the morning, other than that there are not too many good features, the room although tastefully decored have been updated on a shoestring budget this is shown on the terrible patch jobs bad tiling and terrible cabnitery,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NSW
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel itself is pretty old and it shows in the rooms. They're quite spacious, but need an update. My room definitely needed the carpet replaced and it looked like the bathroom door had been touched up (with paint), but the colour wasn't quite the same....4 to 5 "touch ups" that didn't quite match. The hallways are quite narrow and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are sorry that we have let you down in this instance. The maintenance team have been working on updating carpets repainting rooms and replacing curtains. unfortunately they had not completed the room you had bee allocated. We would like to welcome you back to our hotel... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I had a weekend to see my son who's in Melbourne for a year. The Open Tennis was on so regular hotels were all full. I booked a 1 bed apartment here for $180 a night. Barkly Street is near St Kilda so a 20 minute cab or bus ride to the CBD The apartment was spacious, and clean but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnp1410, General Manager at Crest on Barkly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments. we are always trying to better our facility and its guests like you that assist with constructive feedback We have taken your comments seriously and are now working up updating the facility. We assure you that on your next stay with us we will have made some serious... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

- Window cannot be opened, so when the room smells bad, it stays. It smelled like something rotted, and the air felt stuffy. The only thing good about the room itself was the two queen sized beds. The room needs refreshment, sheets were old. - The lift was soooooo old, noisy and loud, and made people feel unsafe. - The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crest on Barkly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest on Barkly

Address: 47 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crest on Barkly 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crest on Barkly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest On Barkly Hotel St Kilda
Crest On Barkly St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay