We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Barkly

109 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Barkly
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The receptionist are really helpful and friendly! Free breakfast and cool rooftop parties at every Friday. Kitchen, dorms and TV room are really clean and big. Nice bar in the ground-floor. Nice People all around. Close to beach and city. I WILL come back!

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian R
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Barkly after backpacking through South East Asia. It was a welcoming environment with cool people hanging around. The kitchen was clean and the front desk staff were helpful in getting my friends and I in the same room for the week. It is a good place for young people to hang with other like minded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julien M
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant enough , but lack of areas to hang up clothing , there's was also besides the bed no sitting area and no desk and soap In bathroom was an ordinary scent , hallways were very seedy looking , the area was very ghetto and not to appealing , I find It funny that the price was higher on a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi Shannon, Apologies for your disappointing stay - it does state on all of our booking sites and our confirmations that we are an entertainment venue with elevated noise levels over the weekends. Unfortunately our standard double rooms do not come with a desk or dining area, however our Studio and Twin rooms do. Thanks for taking the time to... More 

Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We were VERY ANNOYED that we couldn't access our balcony! There was a sign on the sliding doors saying we could not access the balcony!!!! So imagine our surprise and frustration when we saw the people next to us on their balcony! They told us there was no sign forbidding them to access! Very very annoyed at BARKLY hotel!!! One... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heideey
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi there, I apologise for your disappointment, however it does state on our website, all booking sites and on your hotel confirmation that hotel balconies are unable to be accessed due to council regulation. As we have many residential neighbours, we are prohibited to open balcony doors at council request. We do apologise for the inconvenience. More 

Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Booked a studio for Melbourne Cup Eve. Staff were friendly on check-in. Studio was large. Furnishings a little off with placement (Hanging space over fridge, drawers with sink??) Bathroom with impressive bath/shower. Great balconies, with decent views - shame couldn't open balcony doors. Bed was comfortable, couldn't find extra pillows (only 2 in total) Location is fantastic. close to shops... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi James, Thanks very much for your review. Yes unfortunately it is very inconvenient not to be able to use balconies due to council regulation, however we do our best to inform guests prior to their stay. We do have extra pillows available form housekeeping, please don't hesitate to let us know next time you decide to stay and we... More 

Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

ive stayed here a couple of times, its great value for money for melbourne, i hate the beds though, made out of plastic/rubber material and is very noisey when moving around in bed, doesnt bother my ears but i feel bad for the other people sharing the room, i say in the 6 bed dorm which is actually 1 room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Lambo
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, unfortunately your review was meant for St Kilda Beach House, our hostel on lower levels to Hotel Barkly. We still appreciate it though! More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this place several times. The rooms are pretty modern and looking nice. The atmosphere is good and the price is not to expensive. It is well located and you need to like party. From Friday to Sunday is a big party on the roof, which is really loud. The kitchen is all right and the staff is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thanks very much! Enjoy your travels... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
446 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Okay, I haven't stayed in the accommodation but I have visited the pub on the ground floor, which was okay, but nothing fantastic. I came here once to check the place out, and to have a drink, and I can't say that it really attracted me all that much. Okay, they did have a one way window in the guys... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrDavetheSarks
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We stayed the night we had an event on at Next Level (1 floor up). Used for getting ready and to sleep afterwards. We had a great function and the event staff we tops. Being able to sleep in the room afterwards was a problem due to noise

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tthornbrough
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

All the staff are lovely and had the best time here! Rooms are big with en suite and bar downstairs and upstairs on the weekend. Communal kitchen and tv room and clean aswell. Will be coming back to the barkly!

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace-Sellars
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am happy to announce that Hotel Barkly now has a new Management Team and all of your comments here have been taken on board and further action has been taken. Regards, Management. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Abode By Easystay
#3 of 19 in St Kilda
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#88 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Tolarno Hotel
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay