We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Geelong

4.0 of 5 Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Geelong
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Geelong
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    451
    224
    63
    21
See reviews for
256
340
69
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (905)
  • Mar-May only
    (191)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (196)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (229)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (289)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We no longer stay here over night, but we do come here about 5 times in the year to the Mecures' Restaurant, Zeniths. I find when we are here, with our booking made in advance, we have mixed reviews. When it is very quite here in the restaurant, the staff, from waiter staff and chefs seem to be able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There is a better hotel in Geelong that belongs to the Accor group - avoid the Mercure as it is in desperate need of a revamp and serious TLC! The paint was all peeling off in the bathrooms, the extractor fan clogged, windows filthy (inside and out), curtains smelly and soiled, corridors dark and dingy - seriously over-priced for what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Normally a room on the top floor is a bonus. Not here. Water has been leaking through the roof for some time and the 7th floor hallways and our room(709) smelt awful. There was even an air freshener on top of our wardrobe to mask the smell. In the room the ceiling coating was dropping onto the TV unit, making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Teddall. Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong. We appreciate your feedback however; it was certainly very disappointing to read of your concerns and the way we addressed them and I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience experienced. While we did have some rooms affected by the recent heavy rains, clearly we should have managed the issue... More 

Murchison, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked diplomat suite 712 after staying in one on a previous visit. The room can only be booked directly from he hotels website and at a cost of $369 (room only) Being New Year's Eve we wanted a large room with a great view of the city and bay to enjoy the fireworks from the room and we received a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a sporting event over a very hot day. Very friendly staff, very comfortable and clean room and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. We had a meal at the bar which was quite nice and made use of the outdoor pool and spa. It was all very pleasant. I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel looks tired. As soon as you walk in it seems dull and old. If it were located in a capital city CBD it would have had better care, but this is an up-state town and refurbs put up prices and just how much will someone pay to stay in Geelong? It's in a good location, close to shops,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very close to town centre and all major amenities. Friendly staff very helpful, free wifi, quick check in and check out. Rooms were clean and in need of renovation but you get what you paid for. Shower pressure was very good. Shower needs renovating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really good and friendly staff. Great location on the edge of CBD with easy access to main roads out to Great Ocean Road and sea front attraction in the city. On the negative, the rooms are looking tired and aircon was difficult to regulate. TV remote was also difficult to use and the bathroom is missing a bath. Also $18... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Jon & Tracey. Many thanks for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong and your review. We very much value your comments and it was certainly pleasing to read that in the most part you enjoyed your stay. I apologise that we fell short of our usual standards in some areas however constructive comments are very important as these... More 

Camperdown, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a friends wedding as the couple had co-ordinated a deal with the venue for cheaper rates for wedding guests. The room was just lovely and the bathroom was a great size. there was plenty of room in there for both myself and my husband to move around each other. The check-in staff were just wonderful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Geelong

Address: Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay