We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Geelong hotels

Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 The Esplanade | Drumcondra, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Chifley Hotel & Apartments Geelong)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
66%
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Geelong
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rards Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a night as we had a function in town. Rooms were good, reasonably priced. Bed was Comfortable, staff are friendly. Easy access to get to from Melbourne IN PEAK HOUR TO. In the morning we had breakfast in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Rardes, Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the restaurant for breakfast. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely General Manager Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The cons Got given a second floor room, asked for ground floor but said no they were completely booked that night - I checked later, the are not fully booked, heaps of rooms still available on their website. Don't appreciate being lied too. First receptionist (blonde) was lovely and friendly, second one who lied to me was snooty and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear justjude 10, Thank you for your comments. I have investigated the issue you have raised. Your reservation was for a Twin Superior room. I am pleased to read that the room suited your needs however there was an issue with the location of the room. On the day we did not have any twin rooms on the ground floor... More

New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was amazing , and most of the staff were lovely. When we had a shower the water spilled out onto the floor which was awful because I slipped on it and had to mop the floor up everytime someone had a shower. I told the guy on reception while he was nice about it, they all ready knew... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Raine K Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all feedback, some of which may not be complimentary and highlights areas we need to improve whilst positive guest comments help inspire the team to excel in customer service. I appreciate your additional comments regarding the shower and spa. We have engaged a team to work on how we can... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I love this place and is my accommodation of choice in Geelong. Rooms are modern and well equipped. The staff are always awesome, the Salt restaurant is top class and the food great. On this stay I was in room 33, please avoid. In the very early hours of the morning staff (I think) start going in and out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Disboy, Thank you for your feedback. I have investigated the noise issue regarding the door near room 33. This is a security door and I have had our maintenance team slow the closing mechanism to stop it closing with a bang. I thank you for bringing this to my attention so I could have the problem resolved. I appreciate... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very polite staff. Lovely recently refurbished room. Clean, quiet. Good aircon. Great location on esplanade to walk along beach ..felt very safe in the facility as a solo female. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear S492014 Thank you for your feedback. I’m especially pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our refurbished Superior room, it is indeed a big change from when it was an economy room. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely General Manager Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong More

Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Bendigo to be there for a funeral the next day. We were satisfied with our room for the price and were pleased to have the restaurant as we arrived late. The next morning we enjoyed a walk along the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Nora7040, Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the restaurant and the walking paths along the waterfront . Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely General Manager Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong More

Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here last weekend in an executive room, just shy of $190 per night. Room was large, bathroom very large, clean and quiet environment. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Pool was a small pokey area but people seemed to be enjoying it in the hot weather. Car parking was off street and although no designated car parking for each room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear mbm3, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your additional comments regarding the pool, parking, Air-conditioning and breakfast. We often have deals and promotions that include breakfast. We believe that our rooms with complimentary parking and Wi-Fi represents exceptional value in the Geelong market. The prices do fluctuate on demand and the room you... More

warrnambool
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

On booking in staff were very polite and helpful. Room was large and very clean. Stayed with large group in numerous rooms and everyone was happy with service and room quality. Had breakfast in restaurant and was pleasantly surprised with the quality and quantity of food. Will definitely stay her again when in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear jimb0053, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We welcome all feedback, some of which may not be complimentary and highlights areas we need to improve whilst positive guest comments help inspire the team to excel in customer service. We appreciate your additional comments regarding breakfast, and have passed your comments to the chef. Thank you... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our second stay here during Geelong Week Festival of Sails, and we won’t be returning. We booked accommodation for four nights, and were given what would have to be the worst room in the hotel (room 1). Near the front entrance and kitchen, the moment you stepped in the smell of cigarettes was unbearable for a non smoker. There were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Hannah C, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding the room you stayed in. Yes, some of our rooms have not been renovated and are marketed, priced and sold as a 3 1/2 star rooms. We are in the process of fully renovating these rooms and I am sure the difference will be notable. In the... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

So I called 2 days ago asking to accommodate for 6 people, I found rooms and I got told certain prices. After taking the approval of my family members, I called again today to confirm and I got told completely different prices for the same rooms. I am very disappointed and I am sure my family would be to. we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review

Dear meero b, Thank you for your feedback. Our room rates and availability are subject to change and only by making a booking can the room and rate quoted at the time of inquiry be secured. I will relay your comments to the reservations team to ensure this is communicated to all guests making inquiries. Thank you again for your... More

Been to Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong

Also Known As:
Chifley Hotel And Apartments Geelong
Chifley On The Esplanade Geelong
Address: 13-15 The Esplanade | Drumcondra, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Chifley Hotel & Apartments Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong is located right on Corio Bay, 1.2 km's from the city center, where guests can enjoy stunning views or take leisurely strolls along the spectacular Geelong waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.