We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Bendigo accommodations

Bendigo Backpackers

33 Creek Street, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Comfort Backpackers Australia)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bendigo Backpackers to your Saves list
Bendigo Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
38%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We were three students (2 french and 1 aussie) and had a great time ! Clean, cheap, well situated, nice host, free wifi, free laundry, free coffee&tea. What else ? Perfect place for a short stay, close to shopping spot, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. It matches perfectly with family, students, couples, hips of friends, anybody will be pleased !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After seeing the reviews that are quite negative about this place at the start we were quite aprehensive about staying here.. we are 3. After traveling over from Perth we have stayed in our fair share of crap, dampy, overpriced places. And in reality this place does feel like your home. With free wifi, free washing machine (free powder too)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed one night in this Hostel on our way to Camberra. The service is excellent, free Wifi, free laundry, nice host, clean kitchen and bathrooms, a common room with TV and sofas. The room was comfortable and spacious. The quality price ratio is really good. I totally recommend this place, especially if you want to walk around Bendigo because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I booked three rooms to stay at the Bendigo Backpackers two weeks prior to needing accommodation for a reunion we were to attend locally, however, just three days before check-in I received a phonecall to confirm "ONE" room had been booked. It didn't seem to matter to the manager that I could prove the booking with printed confirmation - which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It is so SO hard when writing a review not to let the actions of your fellow guests influence your judgement of a place. Their impact on the hostel leaves with them. We stayed overnight and shared the place with a large group of what seemed like Uni students basically and we felt like we were crashing their party. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I checked into this backpackers slightly wearily because of the reviews that i had read on this site and the place couldn't be anything further from any negative comments below. The check-in was orderly, friendly, efficient and at a great price. I took a private room which was straight forward but very comfortable. The room was clean and tidy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

So I decided to cheap it on a weekend to Bendigo and stay here. The room was clean (though I slept in my sleeping bag w/my own pillow) The owner/manager was an alright guy, let us swap rooms. However: The bathroom/toilets were vile The halls were disgusting The amenities were poor I’d probably crash here again for the price, if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cancun
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ignore all the old reviews from the period when it was managed by a different guy, this place is now managed by a man called Graham and it is a great backpackers. It is based in a good, quiet location near he center of town and easy walking distance from the train station- 7-8 minutes. The place is spacious, pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My brother and I stayed here for 1 night on Wednesday 5th December 2012. After reviewing the options for budget accommodation in Bendigo (there aren't many), we decided to try this place, with some trepidation given the earlier comments. I contacted the (recently re-established) manager on the preceding day via phone and confirmed a booking and price. We were greeted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Aggressive and rude hostel owner named Darrel Left the hostel after he hit my traveling mate and thrown or gear on the street.For the reason we still don't know. Informt the police but the can not take any action jet, the have to get more evidence. So if something like this happens to you let the police know so he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Comfort Backpackers, managed by Darryl Barnard, at 33 Creek St south, Bendigo was leased from the 1st of March 2012 until 3rd of October 2012. On the 3rd of October The Victorian Civil & Administrative Tribunal terminated Darryl's lease because he hadn't paid any lease money for the preceding 21 weeks. He was ordered to pay over $15000 in back... More

Been to Bendigo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendigo Backpackers

Address: 33 Creek Street, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Comfort Backpackers Australia)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty lodging in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buzza's Bendigo Backpacker has family, Double, single and shared Dorms. It has a capacity of 26 beds and is suitable for school and sporting groups, who can book the whole hostel for their own EXCLUSIVE USE! Discount rates $ apply. Bendigo Cinemas is a few minutes walk or you can take in one of Bendigo's special treats - that is the Star Cinema in the old town hall in neighbouring Eaglehawk, where you can sit in an actual lounge/sofa. What a comfortable to watch current or alternative foreign country films. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Bendigo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bendigo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.