We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allawah Bendigo

5 Mackenzie Street, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Allawah Maisonettes)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Allawah Bendigo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    17
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
32
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just stayed at Wine Bank Masionettes for the second time. Yes the bathroom is difficult to navigate. Beautiful solid tap/faucet intruding over the tiny sink just makes cleaning teeth a real chore and thus an inappropriate choice. The bathroom fan for room number 2 is extraordinarily noisy and this is a maintenance issue, not design. Took more than a minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing the Maisonettes. I was surprised that you found the tap too large as it is one of the smallest flick mixers available and has never been mentioned before. We need your feedback to address maintenance issues, if you had let us know whilst you were staying here we could have fixed the noises fan. For environmental reasons... More 

Zadar, Croatia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The building itself has been beautifully restored and the Wine Bank is amazing. The Accommodation however, was incredibly disappointing. The bed in Masionett Room 1 would have to be the worst bed I have ever slept in (perhaps equal to the weeks I spent travelling around India). The light shone in through the window above the door, making it difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Maisonettes. I'm glad that you appreciated the Attached Wine Bank and the restoration of the 1870's former bank. As for the beds in all of the rooms they are a standard double bed on a base in very good condition. We consistently receive compliments on how good of a nights sleep was... More 

Woodend, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was beautiful. The décor was luxurious and stunning. It was very clean throughout. The location was perfect and we could walk to restaurants, shops, bars and the art gallery. There was no noise from the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Allawah and more importantly choosing to stay with us on your anniversary. Reading reviews such as yours makes it so much easier for my staff and I to get up and do it all again the next day. I'm glad you enjoyed our cleanliness, second to none location and the comfort of our private, quiet and... More 

Wodonga, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the room was quite nice, however within 5 minutes of being there I had killed 3 baby cockroaches... the floors didn't seem to be that clean either! I wouldn't say that there was really a "fountain view" as there are large trees next to the windows that block the view... beautiful trees though. Overall it was overpriced for what it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Fountain View Suites. We are currently experiencing a large number of elm tree beetles which are currently in the beautiful trees adjacent to the room, I can only think it would've been these that you saw as we have never seen nor had reported to us cockroaches. I will improve the seal on... More 

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They have a few properties but we stayed in a little place at the back of the Wine Bank. They were lovely and clean, with all the basic amenities. We had a room upstairs and it was nice and quiet. Was lovely sitting outside on balcony enjoying a few drinks before heading out for dinner. I was concerned with rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our accomadation. It was really good to read that you enjoyed staying in the maisonetts and our central location. I'm glad you were able enjoy breakfast at the Wine Bank before departing, we look forward to seeing again you when you're back in town. Regards Mark More 

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in Maisonette Room 1 and really liked it! Arrived in the afternoon and the room was warm with the heater already on for us - loved it! Very cute with kitchenette, decent TV and lots of pillows. Yes, the bathroom is a bit small but that's to be expected in a converted building such as this. Yes, I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Joslyn, except for the bit about the shelf it was like I had written it myself. The shelf has been mentioned before and it has been on my job list, thanks for the reminder it really does help, six shelves will be fitted this week, ready for your next stay. Regards Mark More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at Allawah, having booked through Booking.com, and arrived in the dark and rain. We couldn't locate the accommodation or reception and after a 20 minute search, I phoned and was directed to where the key could be collected - the Wine Bank, not in the same street as the accommodation. Key in hand, we couldn't find the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Allawah. I was sorry to read that you had difficulty checking into the Maisonettes. To avoid this happening next time please check your confirmation, clearly it has the address of where to check in and also the address of the carpark, which is at the rear of the accommodation and check in. The location is also... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Overall, a nice place. While the bathroom was a bit small and hard to navigate, especially getting out of the shower, you don't spend much time in the bathroom, and you manage. A shelf to put toiletries on would have been nice. (Sidebar: the bath soap provided is terrible). I like it cold, but my Partner does not. Had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Hi Dean, thanks for your review it certainly helps us to improve what we are doing. The bathroom is small but we were constricted by the original space we had to work with being a 130 yr old building. The number 6 is now clearly on the door and shelf is about to be installed. The location of the heater... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Wow...beautiful room with amazing space! It was a bit strange to find out how to check in at first (go INTO the wine bar on View St) but once I was given directions by the very helpful staff it was all systems go! A brisk walk across the road and down a driveway to get to the entrance. Beautiful staircase... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review it is greatly appreciated. We strive to make every aspect of our accomadation second to none and it's great to hear that it has been noticed. With only ten rooms the foxtel concept is very expensive and we'd have to recoup the cost from our guests, I can't recall a complaint about this before but I... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I stayed in one of the ‘maisonette’ suites at the back of the Wine Bank. It was about 10 minutes brisk walk from the train station. Check in was efficient and the room was clean and cosy, with reverse cycle air conditioner turned on ahead of my arrival. The room was on the small side, with the absolute minimum of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Maisonettes, we take your comments very seriously and always endeavor to improve our offerings. The maisonettes are central Bendigo and are our entry level rooms, the rooms are compact but typically suit most people's needs. We haven't ever had anyone mention the hard pillows before I will check but I'm mindful that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#12 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#3 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#14 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
#7 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay