We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allawah Bendigo

5 Mackenzie Street, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Allawah Maisonettes)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allawah Bendigo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Allawah Bendigo
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    17
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
30
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at Allawah, having booked through Booking.com, and arrived in the dark and rain. We couldn't locate the accommodation or reception and after a 20 minute search, I phoned and was directed to where the key could be collected - the Wine Bank, not in the same street as the accommodation. Key in hand, we couldn't find the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, a nice place. While the bathroom was a bit small and hard to navigate, especially getting out of the shower, you don't spend much time in the bathroom, and you manage. A shelf to put toiletries on would have been nice. (Sidebar: the bath soap provided is terrible). I like it cold, but my Partner does not. Had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Hi Dean, thanks for your review it certainly helps us to improve what we are doing. The bathroom is small but we were constricted by the original space we had to work with being a 130 yr old building. The number 6 is now clearly on the door and shelf is about to be installed. The location of the heater... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Wow...beautiful room with amazing space! It was a bit strange to find out how to check in at first (go INTO the wine bar on View St) but once I was given directions by the very helpful staff it was all systems go! A brisk walk across the road and down a driveway to get to the entrance. Beautiful staircase... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review it is greatly appreciated. We strive to make every aspect of our accomadation second to none and it's great to hear that it has been noticed. With only ten rooms the foxtel concept is very expensive and we'd have to recoup the cost from our guests, I can't recall a complaint about this before but I... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I stayed in one of the ‘maisonette’ suites at the back of the Wine Bank. It was about 10 minutes brisk walk from the train station. Check in was efficient and the room was clean and cosy, with reverse cycle air conditioner turned on ahead of my arrival. The room was on the small side, with the absolute minimum of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Maisonettes, we take your comments very seriously and always endeavor to improve our offerings. The maisonettes are central Bendigo and are our entry level rooms, the rooms are compact but typically suit most people's needs. We haven't ever had anyone mention the hard pillows before I will check but I'm mindful that... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Checking in at a wonderful wine bar, an historic bank building, wonderfully large room, spa, well done Allawah you did not disappoint. Walk to everything we want to see including the Art Gallery, the Post office Gallery, War Memorial Gallery and easy parking, very happy. Chinese Garden and Museum, two minutes away!e will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Allawah, Wine Bank and Bendigo. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable time in Bendigo and that our accommodation met your expectations. It was also good to read that you enjoyed your time at the Wine Bank. Looking forward to seeing you back in Bendigo. Regards Mark More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

The Allowah Fountainview Suites are located in View Street just down from the Art Gallery and Capital Theatre. You are literally in the middle of everything, on top of a formal restaurant called Rocks on Rosalind and across the road from a great wine bar with tapas and excellent breakfast called Wine Bank. The rooms have heritage charm, fireplaces etc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are a small business and your positive review makes it a whole lot easier to get up and do it all again the next day. Looking forward to seeing you next time you're in town. Regards Mark More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

A pre organised stay here a few times, so wasn't my choice, but overall a great experience. There are a couple of accommodation options - behind the wine bank or directly across the road. I prefer across the road for ease of parking and the rooms themselves. The wine bank itself is amazing if you love wine... The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Fountain View Suites. We are glad to hear that you are a regular guest and that you've enjoyed your stays. The water saving shower roses were installed during the drought and maybe we don't require them anymore, I'll look into it. The televisions have been updated in some rooms and we will soon... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We as a couple had 2 nights in a maisonette room (No.4) above the Wine Bank and thought it great. Booking in was interesting. It took a while to find the place with the only signage the A-board out front. Staff were pleasant. A very pleasant room. Fresh and clean. Bed was firm-ish - just as we like it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Richard, it helps us maintain and improve our accommodation offerings. I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I will look into fitting an extra shelf to the bathrooms whilst I'm tightening the tap or taps I if that be the case. Thanks again looking forward to your next visit. Regards Mark More 

Castlemaine, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We stayed at the Fountain View, in a top floor suite. From our friendly, helpful welcome, to the spacious, comfortable room, we could not have been happier. The gas log fire was cosy, the bed we found really comfy, and the room/bathroom was spotless. The location is super central, and we enjoyed a filling and tasty breakfast across the road... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks Jenny for taking the time to review Fountain View. It is always great to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay, I'm glad you had an enjoyable breakfast at the Wine Bank, we are very proud of our breakfast and coffee at the Bank. I hope we see you again soon Regards Mark More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Location great. Room cleanliness great. Bathroom was small but clean. Bed left us with a sore back, and we got woken up by other guests coming down the stairs in the morning. Lots of chairs outside the room, which make for an even noisier experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark C, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review

Thanks Miss Shellie for your review, we take on board what our guests have to say with the aim to always improve. Some guests rave about the comfort of our beds, some don't but rarely we get a complaint. I will look into this, I'll do the ultimate test and spend the night in one myself to see if some... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#12 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#3 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#14 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
#6 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Place
Alexandra Place
#8 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay