We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballarat Colonial Motor Inn and Serviced Apartments

9379 Western Highway, Ballarat, Victoria 3352, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ballarat Colonial Motor Inn and Serviced Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised with the room and the facilities , our stay was enhanced by the very kind staff , the warm indoor pool and quiet surrounds. This accommodation is at the entry to Ballarat and worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julza67
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Place is very tired, dirty and in need of major reno's, Staff were friendly, didn't see anyone after check in though. Main reason for staying was the pool for the kids..... major mistake!!! If you use the pool don't put your head under the water especially little ones. Wether its salt water and way to much chlorine I don't know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacy F
Kara M, Manager at Ballarat Colonial Motor Inn and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Good morning Stacy. I am very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of the property. As you would have noticed, several of our entrance door were replaced last week, however the whole property can't possibly be finished in a couple of days. Our entrance doors have just weathered over the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ballarat hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Not sure if it was arriving late in the evening or what - but this place left me completely disappointed. The front door of the room looked as if it had been broken down at some stage - probably by the local police, and once inside, whilst clean, doors of the bedside cabinets were broken, and I chose not to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James K
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Booked for two adults and one child and requested two rooms. When we arrived there was only a queen bed in each room. I had stated that the child was 11 when I booked When I asked reception why we didn't have another bed she was quite rude, stating we hadn't mentioned it. I politely told her I had as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley E
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We decided to stay here as it was close to Kryal castle, where we were going for New Years Eve. The family room suited us perfectly, as it had a room with 3 single beds, for our 3 boys. The indoor pool was great. The service was great too. Unfortunately the onsite restaurant was closed during our stay, which would... More 

Helpful?
Thank ffghia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Whilst the lady at the front desk was friendly and warm, everything about this place left me cold. Room doors looked as if they'd been broken into. Old, mis-matched broken furniture, badly designed and worn bathroom. The spa bath looked unclean and the over bath shower is only good for people under 120cm in height! Dead insects under the bed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen E
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

We only stayed one night on our way home. The staff we met were very friendly. The motel was clean and we ate at a nearby great Chinese restaurant (in their brochure). But one bedside lamp was not working and the bottom drawer was broken. The bed was 'lumpy' and uncomfortable. In the shower the soap holder was falling off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

Our first impression was that the Colonial Inn was looking a little tired. We picked it as we were going to a wedding at Kryal Castle so it was perfectly located. There is also a restaurant and bar right next door. Very convenient and we really enjoyed our drinks and meals there. Our room was very clean and well maintained.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kris M
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

We enjoyed an overnight stay at this motel and the owners were wonderful. It was a very busy weekend and they still couldn't do enough to make the stay pleasurable. The rooms themselves, although a little tired and in need of some revamping, were very clean with comfortable beds. A good mid price option!!

Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Itaparica, BA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Disappointment after our previous accommodation for much less. The room is badly set out and not appealing at all with a mix match of furniture that all needs replacing and then you walk into the bathroom that the shower curtain is so dirty and the shower head is so low my husband can't even wash his hair without kneeling. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
4.6 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
4.3 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#5 of 35 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sovereign Park Motor Inn
Sovereign Park Motor Inn
#6 of 35 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay