We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Inn

#11 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
1317 Mair Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lake Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    34
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
30
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very spacious rooms and well maintained.Easy access to everything Ballarat has to offer. Plenty of off street parking as well as adjoining the City Oval Hotel which provides great meals. All at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great clean, warm and spacious; facilities were great. Walk across to Wendouree Lake, etc. Decent Tea/coffee supplied for a change including Twinings; and the toiletries were good and plenty too for a change! Bedding was so comfortable and the staff were friendly. We had a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Regards Toney & Trish Managers More 

Swan Hill, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here multiple times over the past 2 months and every time I am here the staff and service is second to none. Rooms are spacious and clean and check in/out is always a breeze. The owners in reception are always cheerful and go out of their way to ensure you've got everything and are happy with the stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoy staying with us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Toney & Trish Managers More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice well appointed spacious rooms at a responsible price, we received a discount for staying for 4 nights. Clean and comfortable with good service and friendly service. A nice touch was every time we returned back to the room it was re made and everything re stocked and the heater on which was appreciated. The only negative was we received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we apologise that things didn't go so well on your departure. We hope you will come back and stay again with us. Regards Toney & Trish Managers More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a weekend away with family and stayed one night at the Lake Inn, managment were very friendly and helpful. Rooms very spacious and inviting we were on the upper floor. Very quiet not noisy at all. Great location would definetely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are very large and spacious. We look forward to seeing you again at the Lake Inn. Regards Toney & Trish Managers More 

Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the Lake Inn. Checked in at 6:30pm. Absolutely freezing weather with the rain to add. Trish greeted me at reception and was so friendly. To our delight upon opening our room door, it was lovely to feel the heating was on and very welcoming. We had one of the Executive rooms downstairs away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to be able to walk into a warm room when you arrive. We hope to see you again soon at the Lake Inn. Regards Toney & Trish Managers More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Clean room but let itself down on a few aspects. 1. No heater in the bathroom and in winter in Ballarat it is very cold. 2. Poor WiFi....it rarely worked and when it did it was soooo slow. 3. Terrible TV reception..screen is covered in "snow". Location is a bit out of the main town but is priced accordingly. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We did speak to the noisy children at 10.30pm and asked them to go inside. Our internet is being upgraded to NBN in the next few weeks. We were unaware of the television problem so we will now get Foxtel in to check it. We... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Had a one night stay when in Ballarat for business. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Great room and comfy bed. Enjoyed the room service breakfast. Would definitely stay again if I was traveling in that part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The room was great, we are glad we got a room with a lounge, it was so comfy. It is a nice quiet location with no traffic noise. It is close to the main Ballarat attractions and shops. Wonderful management. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

From the absolute genuine old school customer service from the lovely owners to the spacious rooms, all round great stay Only negative is the pub that is attached is way over priced small selection of tasteless food PLEASE NOTE THE PUB IS OWNED BY A SEPARATE OWNER

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.7 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.3 mi away
Lake Wendouree Luxury Apartments
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
1.1 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#6 of 36 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 36 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay