We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Inn

#12 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
1317 Mair Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
28
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Clean room but let itself down on a few aspects. 1. No heater in the bathroom and in winter in Ballarat it is very cold. 2. Poor WiFi....it rarely worked and when it did it was soooo slow. 3. Terrible TV reception..screen is covered in "snow". Location is a bit out of the main town but is priced accordingly. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trish W, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We did speak to the noisy children at 10.30pm and asked them to go inside. Our internet is being upgraded to NBN in the next few weeks. We were unaware of the television problem so we will now get Foxtel in to check it. We... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Had a one night stay when in Ballarat for business. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Great room and comfy bed. Enjoyed the room service breakfast. Would definitely stay again if I was traveling in that part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The room was great, we are glad we got a room with a lounge, it was so comfy. It is a nice quiet location with no traffic noise. It is close to the main Ballarat attractions and shops. Wonderful management. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

From the absolute genuine old school customer service from the lovely owners to the spacious rooms, all round great stay Only negative is the pub that is attached is way over priced small selection of tasteless food PLEASE NOTE THE PUB IS OWNED BY A SEPARATE OWNER

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

There's a warm welcome at the Lake Inn once you find the entrance to check-in. However, if you are looking for elevators and carpets on the way to your room then you need to look elsewhere. The room was clean and had the usual stuff you'd expect but we are talking MOTEL here along with concrete stairs and open-to-the-elements concrete... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The Lake Inn, Ballarat is a great place to stay if you want a good night's sleep. The room was quiet and the bed really comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and provides everything you need. It is very clean. Sandra at reception is friendly and welcoming. We appreciated the bottles of water Sandra gave us on departure. Lake Wendouree is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are spotless, the bed was so comfy, soft and clean! The Hotel was the perfect location. Linen and towels were of excellent quality. The room was nice and quiet and we were able to make it nice and dark with shut out curtains. The City Oval restaurant is beautiful as well. The only fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelaide, south australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

half way from adelaide to melbourne, reviewing overnight stops ahead,we had a sense of dread at the motley collection of highway facing motels on offer. With hope in our hearts, we plumped for the Lake Inn in Ballarat. Happily as it turned out! Large, clean, quiet room, well stocked with lovely host, Sandra. Hotel next door did an adequate meal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Spent three nights here to revisit the town of my early years.This motel is very well presented & maintained,room spotlessly clean & linen & towels of excellent quality.Good breakfast in room. Very pleasant & helpful management.Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SandraLakeInn, Manager at Lake Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ballarat and Lake Inn Ballarat. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back another time. More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We stayed here for one night after attending the Ballarat Beer Festival and really enjoyed our stay. The feel of the hotel was very warm with excellent customer service. The location for the festival could not have been better with the City Oval a very short stroll away. Tge room was spotless and very comfortable and we enjoyed the luxury... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.7 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.3 mi away
Lake Wendouree Luxury Apartments
1.1 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#6 of 36 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
1.5 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay