We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Tower Inn

1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Tower Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
18
20
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Melbourne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here because my usual place in ballarat was booked out. The room was spacious and comfortable. I slept well until I was disturbed by a loud vehicle idling outside at 6am. Aside from that I didn't hear much other noise- even though the place was full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After paying $190 a night for this place, I was extremely disappointed. The room was very dated and the bathroom was filthy. We found a used bar of soap in the shower on arrival. The huge spa bath was the only highlight, however I had to clean it before I could even bare to get in. The indoor "heated" pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kelsey, I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to ensure our guests have a great, positive experience at the Bell Tower inn. We would have liked the opportunity to rectify the situation if we had been notified when you were here. I can't explain why the heated pool was cold as... More 

Normanville, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

My husband loves boot sales swap meets accommadation is booked early so we were lucky to find this hotel/ motel for 3 nights. Swap meets are very noisy so to come back to a quiet motel was a bonus I could not fault it Very clean friendly staff big big room. Restaurant on site or breakfast to room. We really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Margaret, Thank you for your kind words and your time to review the Bell Tower Inn. The Swap Meet is a very busy time and we enjoy hosting everyone that attends this busy event. A lot of our regulars love the peace and quiet and the spacious rooms, and we look forward to seeing you both again next year.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Great service excellent motel rooms very roomy and very clean and in traveling distance of Ballarat city nice and quiet nice and cheap for all people travel with or without children and the spa rooms are excellent the restaurant is very good nice food I wi be letting everyone know about the motel heaps of car parks etc etc

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for you very kind words. We appreciate great feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you appreciated all the facilities the Bell Tower Inn has to offer and we welcome you back for another great stay. Kind regards, Andrew Cronin Owner More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Wonderful hospitality and can't believe the size of the rooms- enormous. Enjoyed the steak with seafood sauce for dinner. We would definitely stay again when in Ballarat . The rooms were immaculate and the service was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Claire, Thank you for the time to review the Bell Tower Inn. It is great to hear fantastic reviews and I'm glad you enjoyed every part of your stay. We would love to see you back when you are next in Ballarat. Kind Regards, Andrew Cronin Owner More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

not a bad place to stay, staff are friendly too. Only problem is ,someone had been in our room and moved things and taken something out of the fridge, lucky we hadn't left our suitcase there. Management were not fussed that someone had been in there, but clearly they have a security problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I am very disappointed in learning that someone has been in your room and we were very concerned when you reported it to us. It would appear, upon investigation, that the cleaners had returned and found your item in the fridge, mistaken it as being left behind by the previous occupants and thrown it out, as is our policy... More 

Ballarat, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I have been to the Restaurant twice now with work colleagues - Once with a group of 20 and Once with a group of 8 - Both times the meals where excellent, out on time and very friendly service. I was not staying at the hotel but was accommodated anyway - Would highly recommend for any business functions

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Simplex, Thanks for the great review. Our Glasshouse Restaurant is proving very popular with groups and couples. The menu is designed by our new chef, and she is using great local produce to deliver outstanding quality meals. We look forward to hosting your group again soon. Kind regards, Andrew Cronin Owner More 

Nhill, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

About a year ago we thought we would stay at The Bell Tower Inn (which was on the main Western Hwy west of Ballarat city well before the Freeway went through) due to this wonderful memory I had of the property and the service was pretty ordinary. The rooms were spacious but very tired and dark. Everything needed an upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Helen, A lot has happened it 12 months, as we took over at the start of the 2014 and we have spent a lot of time refurbishing the rooms and getting the indoor heated pool and spa operating to a lovely warm temperature. Our Glasshouse Restaurant is now open Monday to Saturdays with for dinner and breakfast is also... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

The Bell Tower inn is a hotel that is stepping forward! ive stayed here approx. 16 weeks in the last few years as i had tradeschool to attend in ballarat. As all the reviews have stated below, the place is currently being renovated. ive stayed in both renovated and non renovated rooms. to start with the unrenovated rooms, theres no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi karaleeandliam, Thanks for your wicked review of the Bell Tower Inn. It was really nice to read your review and love everything we have done to make our guests more comfortable when resting and enjoying all of the facilities we have to offer. The Glasshouse Restaurant is going great guns and our new Head Chef Sharon Francis is serving... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work and was really surprised with this hotel. The staff were delightful and the hotel is really well maintained. Highlights were the size of the room, very clean, and the breakfast. Now my new hotel whenever I come to ballarat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stu, Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn, Ballarat. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and the breakfast was a highlight. We look forward to hosting you again real soon. Regards, Andrew Cronin Owner More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question