We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Ballarat hotels

Bell Tower Inn

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bell Tower Inn to your Saves list
Bell Tower Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #30 of 35 hotels in Ballarat
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
susan c Prahran, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (56)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
15
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prahran, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Maybe needing a bit of a face lift but cant go past this Motel for value for money. Stayed here with family for school holidays and v. impressed with friendly service and comfortable vibe. Restaurant was a big hit. At breakfast we all had different cooked eggs - no trouble at all. Bacon was yummy and plenty of it. Evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to visit Ballarat for school holidays and really enjoyed our stay. Our room had a separate children's bedroom which was ideal and the beds were all comfortable. After a long day visiting Sovereign Hill we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant and thought the food was really good, much better than the pub counter meals, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was expecting older hotel, that was finr, but i felt gross been here, the bed was so uncomfy barely selpt, mattress was very old type! I would not reccommend this place at all! And im not being fussy, ive stayed at better places in bali! Smelt dusty and mouldy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kirsten, Thanks for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn. We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not satisfactory. If you were to advise us at the time, we could have changed rooms for you. Interestingly, no one else has complained about that room. Since February when you stayed, we have put 25 new beds... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean though we'll out dated, decorated in the 70's and never updated. At least it was quiet and not on a main road. Room was old and lighting in the room was poor. Was too cold to use the pool. And with lazy moes next door why would I eat at hotel. No bath in our room which was frustrating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Laurine, Thank you for advising us that your stay was not satisfactory. This is not our aim and we look at every review seriously. Our indoor heated pool is a great hit in winter and everyone thoroughly enjoys this fantastic facility. Your booking was made via a third party website, and as such, you would incur extra fees, increasing... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our room was very very old. The cornices were being held on by screws, the curtains had a section cut out from which looks like an old heating unit had been removed so they have put black plastic over the pane of glass so make the room darker. Our doors (both front and back) were so hard and stiff to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Megsmel1, Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn. We had a great lot of positive comments from your group about our motel after the long weekend. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, however you were able to hi-light the fact that we are refurbishing our rooms. The black... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

After reading devious reviews I was very dubious . Well, this older style motel is not bad at all. We were travelling in a group of 28 people (14 rooms) and there was not one person who had nothing negatives to say. Rooms were good size,bathrooms adequate. My room was at the rear, a lovely large queen bed and big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sussanne51, Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn. I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here and the breakfast was a hit. As it is currently being refurbished, we are consistently striving for a clean, quiet motel with great facilities. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Andrew Owner... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in spa room. Very clean, Spacious & comfortable. Only complaint was fan in bathroom not working. Didn't get a chance to use any of the facilities but it looked like they were well set up. Give this place a go if you're looking for accommodation in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your favourable review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome your back anytime. Thanks for alerting us regarding the ceiling fan, it has now been replaced. Regards Andrew Cronin, owner. More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My partner and I booked well In advance for a weekend stay here, we booked an executive room but on arrival we were given a standard room with a spa that didn't work, then after complaining we were given another standard room with a working spa, room was outdated and bed was uncomfortable, we also were not told prior to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn. I appreciate your comments, however, it would appear that you booked an executive suite which does not offer a spa which is clearly stated in the website you booked through. In relation to the spa and sauna, it is currently being renovated and will look fantastic when completed... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Really brilliant staff Great beds! super comfy Very clean Big rooms Indoor pool & sauna Brilliant rooms looks like something straight out of scare face the movie Really enjoyed my stay Had a great time Looking forward to doing it again. Thanks for everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

They advertise free wifi but when we arrived it was only for 1Mb!!!!!!!!. Other hotels in area offer totally free wifi so why not here. The bed was terrible, sagging etc, room was clean but very old. They charge the same rate for the newer rooms as the old ones. Will never come here again and will not suggest this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn. Our WiFi is complimentary to all guests staying at our motel. Every guest receives 100 MB per day which is ample for checking emails, the weather, and news etc. Additional internet allowance is also available at minimal cost. We are also in the process of updating our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bell Tower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Ballarat with
any amenities

Been to Bell Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Inn

Address: 1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bell Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat
Bell Tower Inn Ballarat, Victoria

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
67 ground floor rooms with a variety of rooms to choose. Restaurant and Bar, indoor pool, breakfast room, function and conference rooms. We have it all!! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
67

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer