We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shady Acres Caravan Park

9435 Western Highway, Ballarat, Victoria 3352, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballarat
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Shady Acres Caravan Park
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Glenning Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I camped with my teenage daughter, the write up on the park said it was quiet and peaceful, this was not true, all night long the constant noise of trucks and cars passing. The grounds were run down, the facilities were dirty and smelly. Our powered site area smelt like urine. I asked for a refund for our last 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
Norty71, Owner at Shady Acres Caravan Park, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not discuss your concerns when you came in for a refund. You just said you had to leave early. If you had mentioned why you were leaving we would have been more than happy to discuss this with you. Our refund policy is on the web site and we are not obliged to provide... More 

Gawler, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The managers are rude & very unhelpful. The caravan sites are riddles with big tree roots (tripping hazard) & the sullage intake was uphill. The amenities are riddled with rotted timber & the floor tiles are an serious accident waiting to happen. The only power outlet is right near the door & in the way of others coming in/out. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 33peppermintpatty007
Norty71, Owner at Shady Acres Caravan Park, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not come to the office and speak with us about your concerns so that we could explain the situation to you. The park is earmarked for a freeway exit to be built by Vic Roads and will cease to exist at some point, however there is no time line for this at the moment.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ballarat hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

This is the worst spot in Australia! The camp grounds are on a very steep hill not even able to camp, we told the lady that we were unable to camp there as it was to un level, she told us we could go in a powered site as long as we don't plug into power so we went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank millyndan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

You must leave this caravan park at exactly 10am otherwise a lady will sit in her car outside until you do so. Not even 15 mins of grace is allowed. Lady at reception was very rude when i went in to talk about it. Cabins need a refurb. Have advised my company to not stay here again. Very disappointed. Stick... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anton B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I spent one night in a cabin here for a little weekend away. The service at check-in was friendly, and while the cabin was aged it was in good working order. The kitchen was kitted out quite well- there was no large kitchen knife in our cabin but as we were there for a short time only... More 

Helpful?
Thank plussizedadventures
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Seemed very run down and overpriced for what was provided. Even controlled the number of pillows in our cabin to prevent non-paying guests. Too bad if you need more than one pillow to sleep. Won't be staying there again.

Helpful?
Thank KiraHolly
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I stayed in this park with my husband and 2 adult children for our last night before returning to the UK. We had 2 ensuite cabins which were basic and quite small but comfortable enough for 1 night and reasonably priced. There were some signs of previous flooding.The surroundings were quite pleasant and the lady at reception was friendly allowing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole89
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I obtained a job in Ballarat and had to move in 10 days. Looking for somewhere to live hopeless while so far away. This was the only camp that would allow me to stay for an extended time in peak session. It is close to the freeway so noise is a hassle for the first night. Owners very friendly. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

After a weekend at a camping music festival we needed a pit stop on the long drive back to Adelaide, Shady Acres fitted the bill! We got there around 7 pm was welcomed by a lovely lady who gave us our key to a cabin & a little carton of milk (nice touch). Finding our cabin was easy & the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We booked for one night stop over because we had our a pet travelling with us. The site was hidden away in a service road parallel to the main road. It was easy to check in and find the cabin (with ensuite). The cabin was standard and hot! We turned on the fan and A/C to full just to cool... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
4.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Eureka Stockade Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
BIG4 Ballarat Goldfields Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities