We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kryal Castle

Certificate of Excellence
121 Forbes Road | Leigh Creek, Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kryal Castle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kryal Castle
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    28
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
43
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sisters and I stayed at Kryal Castle for two nights last week. It was something a little bit “different” from the usual hotel/B&B weekend getaway, and the location of the castle was fabulous – right off the highway and surrounded by undulating green farmland. Very peacfeful, with wonderful views! The castle is an easy drive along the highway to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hi Vancouver Beck, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Castle. We are glad you enjoyed your overall experience with us but are a little disappointed you thought our service was inadequate. When people check-in we do explain there are designated smoking areas around the Castle. I can assure you one of them is not outside... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time staying in one of the rooms. Very spacious and warm. Went to one of their school holiday night shows. Very entertaining for both adults and children. Great exhibition of jousting and horsemanship. Shops very authentic to the period.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hi Margaret R, It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our last school holiday Alice in Wonderland evening shows were a great hit with everyone and we will definitely be doing more in the future. Kind Regards Craig More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My young son and I shared a room, it was very clean and the room was great. Very comfy bed . I would recommed you stay at the castle, fantastic experience, friendly staff and very helpful. We will go back for another stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hi Kitty, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review. It's always nice to hear positive feedback from one of our guests. Look forward to your return. Warm regards Craig More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a bit worried as we drove up to the accommodation entrance at the back, as it looked like the tradies entrance - pipes and electric equipment sticking out awfully against the medieval look of the castle. Once we were welcomed inside the gate, it was evident the owners have been working hard to make it as lovely as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hi Lou H, We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have taken your feedback onboard regarding the accommodation entrance. Have no fear it is on the "To Do List". The Castle is major project and will always be a work in progress. However we will get there and always keep improving our product and service that... More 

Cooranbong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We spent the night in one of the castle suites and felt thoroughly spoilt. Beautifully appointed and luxurious, we completely enjoyed our time there. We then spent all day exploring and watching the various entertainment. The staff are delightful, and the reenactors approachable and engaging. Thankyou for a wonderful stay, we hope to be back one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hi Vanessa P, Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return. Kind regards Craig More 

Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Are you looking for a room with a difference, then this could be for you. The Suites at Kral Castle are located inside the attraction and are really well appointed. Large King Beds a 'medieval' tapestry hanging over the bed and very large rooms including interconnecting. The room rate also included entry to the park and you are free to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Loved the accomodation. Room five star cleaniness five star. Loved having the run of Kryal Castle to ourselves after 4pm. We checked out the animals, played on the kids play ground. Walked the maze a dozen times. If we we were prepared we would have cooked a BBQ. My Granddaughter loved the dragon and the baby dragon garden. She loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We had a 2 night stay with our first day spent at the attraction. Discounted entry was provided because we were staying at the castle. Had a great day with our 7 year old daughter. Checked in at the hotel after the park closed at 4pm and was impressed by the friendly staff and beautiful rooms. There are not any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hi Kylee G, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and all that our Castle has to offer. We have taken onboard your feedback regarding the sofa lounge and have in fact purchased a new bunk bed for the room you stayed in. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards Craig More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights at the castle and it is definitely different to your average hotel. The room was comfortable, clean and well appointed and the castle grounds were interesting to explore when the park was closed. We also stayed for a day in the park and the performances were entertaining and interesting - although aimed at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hello M0501, It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience as much as your children. We are happy you were comfortable and found us to be different to your average hotel. We may see you again in the future Regards Craig More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We stayed here New Years eve. The park staff were amazing, so friendly and very accomodating, really got into their character, they really must love their job. I particularly liked the lady making potions, her manner and enthusiasm was fantastic. We were a little disappointed that there were no activities for the night ( being NYE ) or anywhere on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review

Hi Holiday3219, It is a little disappointing to hear that you feel you chose the wrong night to stay with us. We have never offered New Years Eve entertainment but maybe we will look into it for the future. There are four designated smoking areas around the grounds of the Castle . We wish you had contacted us in regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question