We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Launceston hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
63%
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Launceston
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Semisential Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    291
    163
    47
    25
See reviews for
97
270
68
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here last night for one night for business. The hotel itself was built in the 60's/70's and they've worked hard to upgrade it. It's comfortable but walking into you're bathroom you're reminded it's an old hotel. Good: Reception / checkin / checkout / modern appliances / comfortable bed / and it's located in the middle of Launceston. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Going to keep it simple as this place isn't really worth my time in writing a review, however it is only fair I warn others to spend their pennies elsewhere! Ambiance was dated, bathroom was still dirty (toilet in particular) room service was cold and tasteless, was charged a nightly fee for parking however had to park on the street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ambivalence? Yes, 'fraid so! As is always the case, there are good and bad points with any place of accommodation. The good were very good: Presentation, cleanliness, proximity (only 50-odd paces from hotel to theatre for a performance of 'Phantom') and a comfortable bed. But no air conditioner (our room was equipped with a small pedestal fan and an even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like anywhere, this place has its good and bad points. Location is terrific, close to shops, cafes etc. Rooms are good - not overly modern, but the beds are comfortable, pillows lovely and plump, room and bathroom are clean etc. Reception staff were helpful - efficient and knowledgeable. However I can only describe this hotel as 'noisy'. During the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights in the Best Western Plus for two nights. I had a comfortable sleep and got heaps of work done. The breakfast was ample. The hotel's location is excellent. My only complaints were that my room ponged a bit, from a cause I couldn't identify, and the air-conditioner was very noisy. The water pump especially made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When visiting for work last month, I used the iron in the room which was clearly faulty & scorched my expensive shirt. After complaining to the hotel with photo evidence, they denied anything of theirs would be faulty & RUDELY refused to even hear what I had to say! Appalled.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, Thanks for the review but I’m afraid I must correct some inaccuracies. You reported the damaged shirt to us only some days after checking out. Since then we have exchanged over a dozen emails with you about this. We were very concerned that one of our irons may have been faulty and so we tested the one... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great location and nice staff but that's the only positive things I can say really. Our room was old and dated, with no air conditioning and a fan which we had to stand in front of a window to try to get some cool air into the room. The breakfasts were Ok but the main meals were terrible with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Cam0567 Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus, Laucneston. WIth a complete refurbishment underway, I am sure that your next stay with us will indeed be memorable for all the right reasons. With new beds, soft furnishings, art work, high speed internet, IP phones & televisions and free Wi-Fi we hope to deliver a really special... More

Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here on the night of the Breath of Life festival when accommodation was scarce and hotels were taking advantage of that. Booked via Wotif a few weeks prior. Only room available was a Queen with a single bed which I booked even though I was travelling solo. Promised a bath and a LCD tv plus opening windows. Hotel rang... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Lxgirl Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston My apologies that the staff didn't respond to you straight away. Thank you for taking the time to talk to me over the phone and discuss recent stay with us. As discussed the TV in the room was broken from a previous guest which... More

Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel should not be 4 stars, the staff were great. The room was very dated, the bed/pillows were uncomfortable. No modern air con, just a noisy old floor model or noisy fan. The food in the restaurant was overpriced for what was basically a pub meal, and served cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Batrone Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston While we aim to present exceptional service to each individual guest I do apologise that we have not been able to complete during your stay. I am pleased to note that we are in the process of upgrading all the rooms with air-conditioning new... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is worn out it is in need of a lot of TLC the general appearance of the hotel says it all it resembles a communist block building. Friday and Saturday nights can be noisy due to a few pubs that have live bands playing so get a room facing Earl street. The 24 hour room service menu is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear ASDKW Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston While we aim to present exceptional service to each individual guest I do apologise that we have not been able to complete during your stay. I am pleased to note that we are in the process of upgrading all the rooms but as you... More

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Mercure Launceston Hotel
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania
Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#7 Family Hotel in Launceston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport, Penny Royal World and Cataract Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.