We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Launceston accommodations

Launceston Backpackers

103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Launceston Backpackers to your Saves list
Launceston Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014
upsalala Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
20
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I hate those reviewers who expect 5 star accommodation and treatment, but stay in super cheap places. I also hate super cheap places who don't meet a very basic level of expectation. I am hopefully not the former, but Launceston Backpackers is definitely the latter. We arrived to be met by signs. Signs EVERYWHERE saying how the staff DESERVE to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Slm0nT, thanks for taking time to post a review. Yes we do have a sign on our office door letting people know that the manager is working within the building. At quiet moments in the office our office manager is cleaning fridges, tidying up the kitchen, emptying full rubbish bags, washing pillow cases, hanging up towels or pillows to... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for one night only in February 2014; twin bedroom with shared bathroom. The hostel is located in a grand, old two-storey Federation-style building in a quiet location opposite a small park, yet in comfortable walking distance to city centre. A Coles supermarket and a café that opens early for coffee and breakfast are nearby too. It quickly becomes apparent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Upsalala, thanks for your detailed review. We appreciate you taking time to tell other people about Launceston Backpackers. More

Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stay just one night in a 3 beds room in which there was a lot of space and a cupboard. Nice and comfortable and cleaned showers. Big kitchen and a separate dinning room so you should be unlucky if you wait to prepare your meals. Friendly staff. A good place if do not want to spend a lot of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Emma for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed here for a night as part of a tour in a single room. I was unlucky enough to have a room with some kind of vent in the door and therefore heard every single foot step up and down the stairs all night. Extremely stuffy as the only window opened into the stairwell and the place had been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, thank you for your review. We apologize for your sleep being interrupted by noise from other guests, this is a difficult matter to control. You mentioned cooking smells.........our kitchen is very busy each evening. We have a huge extractor fan above the gas cookers. At times the guests turn the extractor fans off. We hope you enjoyed the... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very cheap, close to supermarket and some nice staff, but nothing else good. Rooms, common areas and bathrooms all dirty. The showers were also bad - poor water pressure and blew hot and cold all the time. Room was small and stuffy. Wifi wasn't cheap and could only buy an hour at a time. Kitchen was poor - even turning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Katie thanks for your review. We are sorry that you found some of our areas untidy. The backpackers is cleaned daily and the kitchen is cleaned 3 times a day. The water pressure is deliberately kept low to minimize (water robbing.....a plumbing term) this also reduces excessive hot water coming through the showers when water is being used elsewhere... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Cheap, close to the city centre, receptionists were nice and kind. However the couch in the common room desperately needs to be cleaned! The dormitory where i stayed are clean, however an air conditioner would be nice, but i suppose for such a good price, no air con would be considered appropriate

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Nguyen. You are one step ahead of us when you mentioned the couches. Our next improvement is buying new couches for the TV room.. This will be done soon. Safe travelling. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My mum and dad had a separate private double bedroom to my griflriend and I and for $58 a night for each double room the place was great value. Nothing extravagent but everything was clean and tidy and the staff were helpful. Good cooking facilities and overall very happy for the price. The place was not noisy and full of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Cornwood for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you are looking for a short description then here it goes: It is a backpackers hostel, clean, modest and simple that has just what you need to cook, shower, use the bathroom and sleep. If you want a four seasons category hotel with swimming pool, free wifi, spa and so on, go to another place and don't waste this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Rodrigo for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a no frills place to stay in Launceston. No towel or linen supplied beyond a fitted sheet and pillow with case, but we had our sleeping bags so it was OK. The bathrooms were clean as was the kitchen, which is well stocked and easy to use. Affordable and the staff were friendly. There's a cat on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Belinda. Our bed prices are always far cheaper than other backpackers because a large percentage of customers bring their own bedding. For those that don't we can hire them liner and towels. We hope you enjoy travelling in Tasmania. More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I came here without much expectations (after all, it was only $25/night). But to my surprise, it turned out to be a great stay. My traveling companions and I found the beds really comfortable and we slept very well during the 4 nights that we stayed. Blankets can be rented at 50 cents each. The toilets were extremely clean –... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Catherine, the staff at Launceston Backpackers put a lot of effort into keeping the hostel clean and it is nice that you took time to make a comment about this on Tripadvisor. Safe travelling. More

Been to Launceston Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania
Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Launceston Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.