We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Launceston accommodations

Launceston Backpackers

103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Launceston Backpackers to your Saves list
Launceston Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
75%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kirsten B London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (100)
  • Photos (20)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
26
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This backpackers is huge, but the communal dining room, kitchen and TV room are spacious enough to accommodate most guests (although I wasn't there when the hostel was full!) These communal areas were well heated, however I found my bedroom quite cold. A panel heater was suspended from the ceiling over the bed (very bizarre) but it was connected to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kristen B, I will check which room you were in. You may have been in a room with an old panel heater, if so we will replace it if it is not working efficiently. Yes we do have signs about not using your own heaters, we do this to help minimize the fire risk. After 24 years in the... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

went here in late july on a cold wet day. everyone was friendly and rooms were clean, the amenities are good and the place is huge. one tip is bring your own blankets, you can hire blankets from the reception and the price is ok for them, you will need them in winter though. I'm sure in the summer it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Matt19900 thanks for your review. We are glad you good nights sleep. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only here for one night, but I thought the staff was friendly and the place was clean. The only thing I would say is that you have to bring some serious blankets, because the building really retains cold air! Freezing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Evelyn, thanks for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. It is a good idea to grab a few blankets in winter. For 50 cents customers can take as many blankets as they like. All the bedrooms have heaters which come on at 7pm and go off at 6am. Safe travelling. More

Hobart
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I'm an Artist who works on Festivals I always book into Launceston Backpackers because of its casual relaxed atmosphere and dependable service. Its a great location 10 min walk to the unbeliveable Cataract Gorge and 10 min walk into town. When I've finished for the day I know I can cook up a feast in the huge kitchen that has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Fujirama thanks for your review, it was nice to see you traveling through this way again. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had a great time here - the location is very quiet but a quick walk to town (though I found very little to do on a Sunday arvo/evening) so easy parking and minimal traffic. Middle of winter so I had the room to myself and was a bit nervous about how cold I would be - you can rent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your review Sophie M. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you found your room warm and comfortable. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a twin room, bathroom shared but clean, kitchen - dining is large and also clean. Reception was very helpful and gave us plenty of tips for the oncoming track in Cradle Mountains. We didn't use the living areas, went out instead. Hostel location is very good, about 10 minutes walk from the gorge and 5-10 minutes walk from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Victoria2011 for your review. We are glad you liked the facilities at Launceston Backpackers and thanks for recommending us on the Tripadvisor site. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of an Under Down Under package tour. We found the beds comfy, the bathrooms and kitchen clean and well appointed, and the glorious rabbit-warren of a building charming. Management were cheerful, helpful and accommodating. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Owner at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew M for your review. Under Down Under have been staying with us for nearly twenty years now. We are glad you liked our comfy beds. We do keep an eye on the mattress quality and we replace the ones that are wearing out. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around Tasmania. More

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

comfy beds with a spare blanket in the cupboard. room heater worked a treat to keep out the winter chill . great kitchen. easy walking distance from anywhere in Launceston, several pubs within a few blocks.. Quiet area. great t.v. room. Very easy to find. Funny old cat is friendly. We had 3 twin rooms for us and the adult... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Donald. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went to Tasmania with my parents and decided to give them a taste of a backpacker's experience. My parents took the ensuite double room while I took the single room. Stayed in this place for two nights and here's my review: Room: - 1 double bed or 2 single bed - 2 pillows - Bathroom attached for the double ensuite.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Hypernut, we apologize for the fright we gave you during the night. One of our staff picked up the wrong key while showing someone to their room. More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in an ensuite room which was quite ok. The hostel appeared to be busy whilst we were there but was quiet during the night. ie no parties etc. Off street parking, close to shops and the centre of town. The staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. We happened to check out the kitchen, which is quite large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Macca46 thank you for staying at Launceston Backpackers and we appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Launceston Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Launceston Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Launceston with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Launceston Backpackers and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer