We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

96 on Arthur

96 Arthur Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Hotel amenities
96 on Arthur
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015
455Naomi Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Launceston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at above address in the afternoon and walked around the building a few times with limited movement to find the reception, there wasn't any. We finely had to knock at somebodies door to get further information . There was not even any sign age or written information what to do. We ended up not to stay at those... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Very well located accommodation in Launceston in a quiet part of the city. The apartment was large and well appointed with good views across the city. A large kitchen made self-catering easy. The bathroom was a little tired and basic but it did fulfilled ones needs. Parking was more of an issue with very tight spaces, while we managed we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sybilla96, Guest Relations Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your for your positive review of 96 noting the apartments are large, well appointed and include a large kitchen for those wishing to cater for themselves. The views from the rooms and large balcony with outdoor setting offer a relaxing and personal stay and the inclusion of FREE parking, movies and phone calls represents amazing... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Ok we stayed here over the new year with high hopes of the 'penthouse' providing us with a great place to spend the night and first couple of days of 2015. After sorting out the key access without staff we were confused about the wifi - over the phone it was free but the in room poster says it costs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sybilla96, Guest Relations Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review of your recent stay in a Penthouse apartment at 96 and your positive comments regarding the comfortable bedroom, location and view. The fireworks would have been spectacular from this location as stated. I am disappointed to read of the combination of small issues that combined to reduce the quality of your stay and have... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Comfortable stay. No reception staff which made it a bit harder. The free movie promise wasn't delivered on. But good view and a comfortable stay. Bit old in places. Eg. Shower, bathroom and flooring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sybilla96, Guest Relations Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Hello; thank you for your review advising us of your comfortable stay at 96. The movie system is within the television system and instructions are noted in the compendium so were provided. Whilst we do not have an on-site reception we do have an affiliation with a nearby hotel which is able to assist with any issues by simply phoning... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This is a 3 room apartment (bedroom, bathroom and lounge/kitchen). It's in a quiet part of the town, on a side street. I's up the "hill" from the main CBD. It's a nice walk to the down to have dinner but in winter take the car. The accommodation is simple but comfortable. The air-condition works well and the floor in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sybilla96, Guest Relations Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of your stay at 96. We appreciate your honest feedback and recognition that we offer a simple but comfortable apartment close to the CBD at a low cost. We believe that we offer very good value for money for this market. Free parking, Free movies, Free phone calls and Free Wifi on the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

As with other reviews, this is in need of a makeover asap. Bathroom and toilet area are particularly in urgent need of some TLC. We also didn't like the fact that there was no dishwasher, but a very direct sign saying that tells 'guests' they have to make sure dishes are washed and put away...this means someone has hand washed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sybilla96, Guest Relations Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for taking the time to review your stay. I couldn't agree more with what an inexpensive stay we offer at 96. FREE parking, FREE phone calls, FREE movies and FREE Wifi all inclusive of a very cheap rate. FREE does not extend to the sofa bed but unfortunately due to the dishonestly of many guests who pay... More 

Melbourne
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I think we had the best apartment, away from busy road, with sun filled balcony. The apartment needs a bit of TLC and a makeover. The toilet bathroom is very old and for us oldies the shower in the bath dangerous, plaster around shower falling off and mouldy. We told staff a couple of times that the light over vanity... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback on our apartment, it is a shame to hear that you have mixed feedback our our apartment - I have inspected the apartments recently after your feedback to ensure that quality is maintained and updated where needed. We do advertise that apartments are serviced weekly - which can cause some inconveniences in getting items... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The title basically sums it up. If you had a city view apartment, there were very nice views over Launceston from the deck. The location was also excellent for walking into all the main attractions. Wi Fi and free phone were also nice extras. On the negative side, the allocated carpark was next to useless. It was pretty much inaccessible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments, I am glad to hear that you found the location handy - and enjoyed the gorgeous views from the apartments. We do aim to keep the apartments well kept and clean - and we believe this is reflected in pricing. Since your stay there has been a great change in... More 

Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Because we stayed during the weekend that Breath Of Life was on, the nightly rate increased to $300 (as im sure other accommodations spots did too) and because your paying so much more than the usual price, you expect more. Obviously you don't actually get more, so we were a bit disappointed. We were expecting to get a text with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment, it is disappointing to read that you have had these issues upon checking into the apartments. We have had a thorough update in the way that our arrivals are handled and I can ensure you that when staying next time – you won’t come across such inconveniences. I would also... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I would agree with some of the check-in comments but this didn't really cause us any bother. The location is great, the view from the top floor rooms is spectacular and the accommodation was clean, spacious and peaceful. The only thing to be aware of is the steep walk back up the hill when you return of an evening may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review 96 on Arthur Apartments, It is very pleasing to hear that you have enjoyed the location and the view from the top of Arthur Street – the penthouse really does has some amazing panoramic views of the city skyline. I am glad you have used the hill to your advantage – being... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay