We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Mount Gambier hotels

Motel Mount Gambier

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   115 Penola Road, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Motel Mount Gambier to your Saves list
Motel Mount Gambier
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
52%
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Mount Gambier
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014
Lyn N Ocean Grove, Australia
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We found caring at this Motel and well worth the stay. The room was clean and found everything to our liking. The gardens and surrounds need attention . Before summer needs to fix the pool and BBQ area. Otherwise quite and comfortable for our stay. Would stay there again anytime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Lyn N Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear that you were comfortable and as I am so well aware of, noise is not an issue here as our road is not the main highway that carries much of the truck and car traffic. The ability to assist customer queries is something that I am very... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed there for just 1 night and we took out the shared rooms with 2 beds in each room. It was actually pretty good and the beds were comfy. The bathrooms were clean and had hot water and the heaters worked fine. Great location. Friendly staff. They were very helpful and informative. It wasn't 5 star but I think for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Thank you Chamith P for posting a review. I have had many guests comment on how comfortable the beds are, but it is always good to know that others feel the same, and yes, I even had one family tell me the showers were like a spa, invigorating. This is exceptionally good news as all of Mount Gambier (houses, industry... More

Robe, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is by far the worst motel I have ever stayed in worldwide. The carpet was filthy, the sheets had been slept in, hence the bed was not made properly. The headboard of the bed was extremely dangerous as it jutted out, thus I bumped my head quite badly. No microwave or toaster, cutlery or crockery except for two cups... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

I am sorry to here that you bumped your head on the headboard, but short of removing the whole headboard I am not sure what I can do to prevent this. With regards to the sheets, I can assure you that they have been changed and I can only assume that the ultra soft feel they provide my guests with... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family room. Suits large family or group (up to 6). Exactly what we needed for an overnight stay during our driving holiday. Great shower and pressure which is important for us when you want to relax during lengthy drives. Kids loved the bunk bed! Staff very friendly and keen to ensure we were both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello DrivHoli Thank you for your feedback. The 2 bedroom family suite is indeed a very special room, big and open, lots of storage, bigger than normal fridge (to cater for families) big 6 person table and chairs and the bunk bed set-up is truly unique, it was made in Italy and shipped out here. It is interesting you mention... More

Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in a standard twin room for AUD115. We felt it was over-priced and would have been more comfortable paying AUD 80 for this type of room. Tired 1970's décor, cold draught coming in under the door, worn carpet, wall mounted soap and body wash dispensers in the bathroom instead of bar soap and toiletries, 1-ply toilet paper that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Ecotourism Thank you for your feedback. The price that you quoted indicates to me that you stayed here during the "high" season as the twin rooms are normally a little cheaper than that, therefore the price reflects the level of demand for rooms. I am not sure what to say regarding the soap dispensers as in most peoples own... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. There was always a car parked opposite reception. Fortunately, the motel wasn't very busy so you could still get in and out. The disabled room had a great external ramp with a rail. The bathroom had grab rails by the shower and toilet. The plastic garden chair was adequate in the shower. There was little water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Disabled Client Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the road noise was upsetting but since the only disabled access room that I have is along the front their was not much that I could do to reduce that issue for you. Out of the 32 rooms in total that I have here, only 3... More

Steeple Bumpstead, Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Dirty, ripped-off, road noise from very early morning. Not a good place to stay and to think it was recommended by the local Tourist Information office is unbelievable. I haven't stayed anywhere quite like this in the last twenty years. The sights of Mount Gambier are well worth seeing but find somewhere else to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this place sight unseen, couldn't be happier. Got a twin room situated at the front corner on the main road, but the road noise was so little it never mattered. Staff were helpful, our room was one of an interconnected set and the internal door between the two was left unlocked, this was fixed within 2 minutes of asking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Art S Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and that the rooms in particular and the motel as a whole were clean neat and comfortable. As I have always said in the past, please approach me in person if you require something and I will always do my very best to provide... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Don't waste your money here. Stayed here 2 nights and regretted the $240 we got slugged. A family of 5 in the so called '2 bedroom family room'. Old, totally outdated and miserly. Even to the extent of no lights outside, just sensor lights. No toaster, microwave or Internet. A whole host of 'instructions' all aimed at saving money and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Phil B Whilst I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here I would like to point out that many of the items you claim are not accurate. For example we gladly supply a toaster if you ask, and at no cost. A microwave is also available; once again, please just ask me and I will... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Off the main road so little traffic noise. Yes, it is a bit dated but the bed itself isn't. Very comfortable. I've had worse beds in more modern premises. While the decor is tired, the rooms are spacious and the bathroom adequate. Breakfast was ample and delivered to our room on time. All we really wanted was a comfortable bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello wys1wyg Thank you for your review. I am glad you noticed the quality of the bed because we take great satisfaction in providing you with a good nights sleep (and as you pointed out, in a clean room). After all, is this not one of the main reasons you choose carefully where you stay overnight? Also worth noting is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Motel Mount Gambier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel Mount Gambier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Mount Gambier

Address: 115 Penola Road, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Mount Gambier 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Motel Mount Gambier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mount Gambier with
any amenities