We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Mount Gambier hotels

Motel Mount Gambier

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   115 Penola Road, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Motel Mount Gambier to your Saves list
Motel Mount Gambier
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
56%
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Mount Gambier
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014
DriveHoli Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family room. Suits large family or group (up to 6). Exactly what we needed for an overnight stay during our driving holiday. Great shower and pressure which is important for us when you want to relax during lengthy drives. Kids loved the bunk bed! Staff very friendly and keen to ensure we were both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello DrivHoli Thank you for your feedback. The 2 bedroom family suite is indeed a very special room, big and open, lots of storage, bigger than normal fridge (to cater for families) big 6 person table and chairs and the bunk bed set-up is truly unique, it was made in Italy and shipped out here. It is interesting you mention... More

Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in a standard twin room for AUD115. We felt it was over-priced and would have been more comfortable paying AUD 80 for this type of room. Tired 1970's décor, cold draught coming in under the door, worn carpet, wall mounted soap and body wash dispensers in the bathroom instead of bar soap and toiletries, 1-ply toilet paper that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Ecotourism Thank you for your feedback. The price that you quoted indicates to me that you stayed here during the "high" season as the twin rooms are normally a little cheaper than that, therefore the price reflects the level of demand for rooms. I am not sure what to say regarding the soap dispensers as in most peoples own... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. There was always a car parked opposite reception. Fortunately, the motel wasn't very busy so you could still get in and out. The disabled room had a great external ramp with a rail. The bathroom had grab rails by the shower and toilet. The plastic garden chair was adequate in the shower. There was little water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Disabled Client Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the road noise was upsetting but since the only disabled access room that I have is along the front their was not much that I could do to reduce that issue for you. Out of the 32 rooms in total that I have here, only 3... More

Steeple Bumpstead, Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Dirty, ripped-off, road noise from very early morning. Not a good place to stay and to think it was recommended by the local Tourist Information office is unbelievable. I haven't stayed anywhere quite like this in the last twenty years. The sights of Mount Gambier are well worth seeing but find somewhere else to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this place sight unseen, couldn't be happier. Got a twin room situated at the front corner on the main road, but the road noise was so little it never mattered. Staff were helpful, our room was one of an interconnected set and the internal door between the two was left unlocked, this was fixed within 2 minutes of asking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Art S Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and that the rooms in particular and the motel as a whole were clean neat and comfortable. As I have always said in the past, please approach me in person if you require something and I will always do my very best to provide... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Don't waste your money here. Stayed here 2 nights and regretted the $240 we got slugged. A family of 5 in the so called '2 bedroom family room'. Old, totally outdated and miserly. Even to the extent of no lights outside, just sensor lights. No toaster, microwave or Internet. A whole host of 'instructions' all aimed at saving money and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Phil B Whilst I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here I would like to point out that many of the items you claim are not accurate. For example we gladly supply a toaster if you ask, and at no cost. A microwave is also available; once again, please just ask me and I will... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Off the main road so little traffic noise. Yes, it is a bit dated but the bed itself isn't. Very comfortable. I've had worse beds in more modern premises. While the decor is tired, the rooms are spacious and the bathroom adequate. Breakfast was ample and delivered to our room on time. All we really wanted was a comfortable bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello wys1wyg Thank you for your review. I am glad you noticed the quality of the bed because we take great satisfaction in providing you with a good nights sleep (and as you pointed out, in a clean room). After all, is this not one of the main reasons you choose carefully where you stay overnight? Also worth noting is... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

No complaints here. A bit worn but very clean and beds comfortable. It is away from the centre of town and away from the highway so it is quiet. Noticed motels in town were more heavily booked which means more noise. Fine for an overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MMGIndependent, Owner at Motel Mount Gambier, responded to this review

Hello Cabquokka Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is nice to know that - like yourselves - many of our guests find us clean, comfortable and enjoyed a good nights sleep. Our catchphrase is Quiet, Spacious, Affordable; and I feel given the numerous comments we receive from guests (as they depart to their next destination... More

Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Motel Mount Gambier is very run down and poorly maintained. It's not expensive, but it's not worth the money. There are much better options for what you pay. As soon as we approached the driveway, the signs were not good. It's in desperate need of a facelift. The grounds just look so shabby and uninviting. We stayed in a more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
alice springs
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Motel Mount Gambier and found it to be clean and comfortable yet dated. We booked the handicapped accommodation and we were not disappointed as the room had everything necessary for our particular situation. We chose this place specifically for its convenient location and close proximity to Mount Gambier. The owner was knowledgeable, courteous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Motel Mount Gambier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Mount Gambier

Address: 115 Penola Road, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Mount Gambier 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Mount Gambier is a clean, spacious and affordable motel that is close to all the major attractions and city centre, plus we are the closest motel to the airport. We offer a wide variety of room types and all rooms are ground level. Good off street parking right in front of your room along with friendly and helpful service are reasons why many of our customers return when they are next in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Motel Mount Gambier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Mount Gambier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.