We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel

175 Commercial Street East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    35
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
49
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
adel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a standard room for four nights. Room was clean, and spacious. It included a two seater lounge suit and small table and chairs for in-room dining. There is also a small sink for washing dishes which was handy. Good security with swipe card entrance into the building and rooms. The motel has an internal atrium with swimming pool which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here on our anniversary. Got one of the Executive Rooms which was at the back of the hotel and quite large. Only thing was, the "back" of the hotel was actually facing the main road through town. The room was double glazed but you could still occasionally hear the exhaust brakes of trucks. Not a big deal though. Restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We received a warm and cheerful greeting and went to rest in our Standard room. Everything was ready, clean and in order. The motel is close to food shopping. There is a restaurant onsite, as well as a fast food outlet and other hotel options close by. There is a pleasant central courtyard with a pool and spa. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm lying in my room now reading through the reviews. When we first arrived the building and reception was nice and staff were friendly. When we got into our room it did have a strange smell and so did my parents and sisters room as well. The carpet was dirty with crumbs and stains and also I noticed on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked online, not sure what to expect as we had not used online booking before. However we were pleasantly surprised by the warm friendly reception by the manager upon arrival. The room was very clean and quiet as promised. The manager arranged for us to book into the excellent restaurant next door so that we could relax after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good size and spacious room, except appears to be under staffed for a big motel. Reception was managed by the manager on Good Friday who returned from elsewhere after the attendance buzzer was rung 3 times. Wi-Fi was good on the first day, but was unusable on 2nd night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

The room/hotel was not as expected. We went downstairs to a man (the owner) who when asked for a refund pointed fingers to all but himself, and then denied this. Confronted him about his customer service after he refused a negotiation through the booking provider, so he says he will call the police if we don't leave, and swore at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southgate175, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Dear rhibi17, I am afraid I must correct some inaccuracies in this review. You booked one of our standard rooms via an online travel agent but expected to get the superior room that you had booked in the past. We were happy to provide an upgrade but you were not prepared to pay the small extra charge and then told... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

One of the keys to a good stay is a friendly greeting at check in -the ever so efficient mechanical cold greeting doesn't cut it for me. This place comes out on tops in this regard. Add to this a well presented lobby ,bar and restaurant and you are on the way. My room was spotless ,the bed comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I cannot begin to describe how bad our stay was here. The hotel looks really nice, with a good size room, nice pool in the middle etc. and looks to be good for the price offered. This is where it stops. The carpet was dirty filthy and looked okay but when you walked on it, you realized this was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Staff good and very helpful, room average with basic amenities, restaurant had good food, Hotel overall was clean and tidy. happy to stay there again close into town has everything you need with bar and restaurant

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question