We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel

175 Commercial Street East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    34
    19
    11
See reviews for
23
46
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room/hotel was not as expected. We went downstairs to a man (the owner) who when asked for a refund pointed fingers to all but himself, and then denied this. Confronted him about his customer service after he refused a negotiation through the booking provider, so he says he will call the police if we don't leave, and swore at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southgate175, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Dear rhibi17, I am afraid I must correct some inaccuracies in this review. You booked one of our standard rooms via an online travel agent but expected to get the superior room that you had booked in the past. We were happy to provide an upgrade but you were not prepared to pay the small extra charge and then told... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

One of the keys to a good stay is a friendly greeting at check in -the ever so efficient mechanical cold greeting doesn't cut it for me. This place comes out on tops in this regard. Add to this a well presented lobby ,bar and restaurant and you are on the way. My room was spotless ,the bed comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I cannot begin to describe how bad our stay was here. The hotel looks really nice, with a good size room, nice pool in the middle etc. and looks to be good for the price offered. This is where it stops. The carpet was dirty filthy and looked okay but when you walked on it, you realized this was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Staff good and very helpful, room average with basic amenities, restaurant had good food, Hotel overall was clean and tidy. happy to stay there again close into town has everything you need with bar and restaurant

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We stayed for one night (Friday Jan 16th) to catch up with some mates at the Mt Gambier RSL. The room was huge, away from the highway, clean, with everything a traveller could need. It might be a bit "dated" but work is underway. Very comfortable bed and effective curtains for a good sleep. Friendly helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

One night stop over between Adelaide & Melbourne. The reception staff were very friendly & helpful, but the room was very tired & in desperate need of updating. The carpet in the room was very stained & the bathroom was old fashioned. The walls were also very thin so we could hear every conversation & argument from the rooms from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

So the motel/hotel is a little tired! Maybe hasn't been renovated dive the 1980's!! The carpet in the bedroom was stained all over! Disgusting is the word! Please see pics! And for $180 I'd question staying here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stayed in an executive room for 1 night. The room was huge! The biggest hotel room I've ever had. The bathroom was very spacious with a large shower and large spa bath. Had a king size bed and the lounge area was so spacious. We had a full breakfast in the morning which was delicious. That was included in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
72 hotel reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Selected as I am a Best Western member, no booking, cold called. Check in was good, the receptionist was efficient, and fast, and helpful with questions I asked. The room was ok, clean, tidy, and with Wi-Fi and cable, but lacked soul. I think the motel has had some renovations in the past few years, but its in need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Don't Stay here, we had confusion with the room we had booked which wasn't anybody's fault but when we asked about changing our room we were just told it wasn't there problem if we were confused as it was booked via booking.com ( they didn't want to know).. they didn't even have the courtesy to ask us if they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question