We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
140 Jubilee Highway West, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Special
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times and have definitely found my "Go-to" accommodation in Mount Gambier. I travel to the area on business every 5 weeks and it's always hit or miss with lodging but this accommodation ticks all the boxes. Clean, comfortable and convenient there's no reason to stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Johnnynero
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight in February'16 as part of our Melbourne to Adelaide tour. The location was fairly central and the welcome warm and helpful. The room was modern and had a small fridge and a kettle, but no toaster in our room. There was no cooking facilities in-room although there was an outside kitchen. Be aware though there is no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The cars and memorabilia was 150 percent loved the S&R series Valiants as well as all the other cars and model cars there was dolls and toy of a past era and lots to interest every one. The motor museum is about a half hour south of Mount Gambier near port macdonnell. The hosts are great people with all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was clean, comfortable and spacious. The bed has a comfortable pillow top and the pillows themselves were great. Bathroom is modern and the shower has good pressure. Kitchenette well equipped and has a microwave and decent fridge. Free WiFi was good.

Helpful?
Thank Oscar T
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was great, we stayed for 4 nights and had a great experience. The only complaints would be that there was a toaster but no cutlery or dinner plates and the shelf above the bed kept catching us off guard. The smoke alarm was a bit temperamental but that can be attributed to our lack of cooking skills.

Helpful?
Thank Max K
Victoria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent one night, but it was a most comfortable and up to date room, with an enormous flat screen tv. It has obviously recently refurbished. All rooms are ground floor. The motel is on the main through road, near a roundabout, but noise was not a problem. The manager was helpful and obliging, and pointed us towards the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brightievictoria
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two thumbs up!!! We spent 4 nights at the Tower Motor Inn and couldn't fault anything from the friendly efficient checkin right through to our check out. The recently updated queen room was spotless, roomy and very comfortable. All furnishings, fittings and finished were very well done and the bathroom light and airy with great water pressure and hot water.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott E
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

We stayed in the newly refurbished room, it was excellent. Spotlessly clean and thoughtfully stocked with all you would need for an overnight stay. The cooked breakfast was also great value and came on time. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank keewest
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately our room did not look anything like the advertised photographs however it was clean, tidy & perfect for our 1 night stay. We had very noisy neighbours which we mentioned to reception. This was dealt with immediately which was great.

Helpful?
Thank GIN1212
MellaMountGambier, Owner at Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of one of our standard rooms, we do have photos of these room types on our website and online booking sites. Perhaps next time your in town you could try one of our Newly refurbished Deluxe Queen rooms, in fact we have just finished our latest room last week ! Hope to see you again. Regards... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Check in was trouble free, payment was required upfront and we were given some fresh milk to take to our room. Advertising stated rooms had been recently renovated, but not all rooms as ours was not. Everything was functioning and the bed was comfortable. The shower was hot, however the pressure was a bit low and the temperature fluctuated a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy and Steve W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
7.3 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#1 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#7 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.1 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#6 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lakes Resort
The Lakes Resort
#9 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay