We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lakes Resort

17 Lake Terrace West, Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lakes Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lakes Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
16
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lakes resort is a nice place to stay up near Blue Lake. While that sounds great, note it means an uphill walk from town, not a casual stroll. So if you are thinking of walking into town, that's easy, but the walk backs a little tougher. Accommodation was nice, room was good without being excellent. Can't comment on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Our second visit to Mount Gambier & it was suggested by people we met on the road to stay here due to the views & the hospitality. We are so glad we did as the surrounds are so peaceful compared to the properties right in Mount Gambier & the view is to die for. The rooms need a bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile

We were served top quality food, I had the Angus rump and it was cooked to perfection, wine selection is also quite outstanding, we were served by a lovely entertaining young waitress by the name of porcha. We were on a business trip and she made the evening quite a night to remember, we will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I have stayed there many times over the years, the staff are always friendly, the rooms clean and the location is great. It overlooks the city and also is very close to a walking track that circumnavigates the valley lake and crater.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Horsham, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We paid extra for the spa room and the spa was not clean. The room although big is cold and outdated, not inviting. I made an enquiry about the breakfast menu and was told to ask the restaurant owners who were dining at the time, needless to say, the customer service is lacking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Mount Gambier hotels

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The meals we were served on our honeymoon was the most fantastic and well presented dishes we have had in a long time. we returned on our way back to Adelaide to a second dinner, and we were not disappointed. absolute delicious meals and deserts. We thought the wine menu was fantastic with a great selection and class of wine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mount Gambier, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Rooms tired but clean and tidy. Motel receptionist staff and housekeeping staff are very friendly and helpful. Gym equipment definitely needs replacing. As frequent Sydney restaurant diners, the new restaurant owners, Dave and Andrea, have established a lovely ambience,very attentive and friendly service and above all the food is excellent, good menu selection and wine list. Quality food at an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millicent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We were very disappointed in our stay. We usually stay else where in the Mount at a much cheaper price and so excepted much more. When we walked in the room the first thing we noticed was a large chip from the laminate bench top and chipped paint work. It is very dated. We stayed here due to eating at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Val M, Owner at The Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bubblesrule, We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We do apologise that we did not meet your standards. We are continuously trying to improve our rooms and the property. As you may appreciate it does take time and money, but it is in the works to do some upgrades. We are thrilled you enjoyed the... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Resort was perfect for what we wanted. Stopped overnight on the way to the great ocean road. Room was clean tidy and had all the amenities that we wanted. Only negative was that when we showered in the morning we only had about 5-10mins of hot water which was a shame as it was quiet chilly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Val M, Owner at The Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kelly. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We take all feedback on board and work hard to fix issues relayed by the guest. We do hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We found the manager was very very helpful and accommodating , the room was very clean ,modern quiet , and a great view of the mount . The bed was very comfy and house cleaning was great and friendly .We even enjoyed the spa . Certainly would say that it was perfect for every day Aussies . once again great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Val M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay