We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lakes Resort

17 Lake Terrace West, Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lakes Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lakes Resort
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
12
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Lakes Resort is a 20 year old complex that doesnt shape up to its name in any way shape or form. First off the "resort" is what should be classed as a budget motel. Expect basic amenities in the room, average cleaning standards if you are lucky, and hapless babbling from the management. The Receptionist on our first day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff very welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed and made the most of our day. would love to go back again and take the family. rooms a bit tired but they were passable. But still would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Val M, Owner at The Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hi Christinaw17. Thank you kindly for your lovely words. We are glad you enjoyed visiting us, and Mount Gambier. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

First and foremost, as others have mentioned, this isn't really a resort in any way, and I've just read a comment from the management to a wotif reviewer saying the 'resort' name was inherited and not an easy fix. So be it. My husband and I paid no more than $120 for an overnight stay and it appears the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately named a resort, this concrete motel sets the new customer up for a disappointment from the moment of arrival. Given the name and the lake up the hill (cannot be seen from the motel), you expect at least some benefit from the location in terms of scenery or atmosphere. There is a nice night time view of Mt Gambier,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Val M, Manager at The Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear JT, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As mentioned previously, we did inherit the "resort" name, and in no way do we agree with it. However this isn't so easy to change. I would also like to clarify that no where do we advertise that we have any lake views. What you do benefit from... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We purchased an EXECUTIVE WITH SPA room for full rate of $191 at 5.45pm, at the end of a very long day of travel from Victor Harbour. We chose the accommodation for the high city view, quiet location, attached restaurant and advertising materials at an Information Centre along our drive. On check in, curtains were drawn across and soft side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cronulla, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked through agoda.com. Room described as small standard room, and it was very small. Even the bath towels were not much bigger than a hand towel. Confectionary in the room was past its 'use by' date. The bonus with this motel is it is close to the Blue Lake and is in a quiet area with very little traffic noise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed with the lakes Val was pleasant and willing to please.The view was fantastic close to everything rooms are clean and serviced every day.Thanks for a wonderful stay will be back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This motel is good value for what is on offer. best views in mount Gambier, quiet without the traffic noise of the other motels in town. Large rooms and the staff are very welcoming. There are more updated motels but none have this location and once again for the price you pay is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I managed to get a room at very short notice as the other motel I had booked in Mt Gambier was so awful that I refused to stay there. The staff at the Lakes were very helpful and welcoming, and I loved the view over the town from my room. It's the only motel in town that's quiet (all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

After arriving at an apartment and finding it disgusting we managed to book into this beautiful resort which is very close to the blue lake. The staff could not do enough to help and make the disaster we had turn into a delight. From the room to the food coupled withe the fantastic service it was a winner for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Resort

Address: 17 Lake Terrace West, Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay