We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allan Cunningham Motel

808 Ruthven Street | (808 New England Highway), Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Allan Cunningham Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Allan Cunningham Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    15
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
12
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was roomy and beds comfortable. The room had free wifi and free continental breakfast. Close places to eat and undercover parking. There was a bit of noise from road but nothing overly disturbing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights. Clean rooms that have recently been refurbished friendly and helpful staff. Also available free continental breakfast . The motel is close to most major venues and shops with only a short drive into toowoomba.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rated a 3. Rooms are in need of a spruce up. Curtain were grotty, blown light bulbs, heater rattled like it was going to die. The dark brick is pretty cold and melancholy without the lights on the blink. Comfortable beds though and shower was hot and water plentiful. Had filtered tap water which was a bonus. Plenty of car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always encourage guests to advise us of any faults and welcome a chat. You also had one of our budget rooms at a budget price - maybe with a friendly chat we could have fixed your bulbs immediately and also advised that we have completely renovated 14 rooms into modern kitchenettes. In a short... More 

Southport, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I stayed in a standard room (No. 4) which was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed and had all the usual requirements of a motel room. Friendly staff at check in. There was a odour that wafted through the room regularly, like a blocked drain smell, that was very strong and very unpleasant. Unfortunately, there were also guests who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so sorry of your experience, but if you came to reception we would have promptly fixed your problems, how do we know when you dont tell us? You were here for a couple of nights, why not come and have a chat as we are always wanting to assist. Im sure you would appreciate your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Was clean and tidy. Quick check-in. The rooms are quiet despite the traffic noise. Air conditoning worked well. Good value for money. Only complaints were the renovations happening next door, I guess you have to renovate sometime but the impact drill at 7.30am was a bit much. Overall a good stay, glad to see the renovations taking place, maybe better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, we have many guests state our rooms are very quiet. You are welcome anytime. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

When researching a place to find, you wonder what a place is really like by what others say, but we found Allan Cunningham Motel to be clean, staff very friendly and helpful when we wanted to know where to go in Toowoomba. Free Wifi was a bonus, stayed 4 nights, our room was standard family room, new renovated with kitchenette,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's appreciated and you are welcome anytime. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Very bad service, stayed here for one night. They offer Foxtel but you can't watch it because it has a fuzzy picture, free wifi you have to ask for and when it bothers to work it's very very slow, my iPhone 4 was quicker with only 2 bars. When we entered the room there was no tv remote and 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

From the same room as previous review - sadly you do occasionally have guests who are very difficult. These certainly were. Our service was immediate, we had all their issues fixed within the first 15 minutes of their complaint. The mother was a lady who could hardly walk and upset one of our young staff when assisting them, so management... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Not what it seems. On arrival no internet offered. Globes blown in room no tv remote. Asked for globes told I should use dull mirror light on wall . Did get upset with girl but management happily told me off like a child and continued on and on . Room outdated, phones and noisy aircon. Wouldn't stay again purely because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

From the same room as the above review - sadly you do occasionally have guests who are very difficult. These certainly were. Our service was immediate, we had all their issues fixed within the first 15 minutes of their complaint. The mother was a lady who could hardly walk and upset one of our young staff when assisting them, so... More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

A lovely little place, a bit dated but very comfortable, clean and secure. Staff were friendly and helpful. We also had a delicious continental breakfast which was included and welcome bonus. We would recommend! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. You are welcome anytime. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this motel many years ago, so we decided to try it agan. We were not disappointed. The new owners are renovating the rooms. The room that we had not been renovated yet. However I must say that it was very clean and comfortable. There is filtered water on tap and a Continental breakfast is included. The next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Manager at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. You are welcome anytime while visiting Toowoomba. I enjoyed having a chat. See you next time. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay