We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allan Cunningham Motel

808 Ruthven Street | (808 New England Highway), Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allan Cunningham Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Allan Cunningham Motel
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
12
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Southport, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in a standard room (No. 4) which was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed and had all the usual requirements of a motel room. Friendly staff at check in. There was a odour that wafted through the room regularly, like a blocked drain smell, that was very strong and very unpleasant. Unfortunately, there were also guests who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so sorry of your experience, but if you came to reception we would have promptly fixed your problems, how do we know when you dont tell us? You were here for a couple of nights, why not come and have a chat as we are always wanting to assist. Im sure you would appreciate your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Was clean and tidy. Quick check-in. The rooms are quiet despite the traffic noise. Air conditoning worked well. Good value for money. Only complaints were the renovations happening next door, I guess you have to renovate sometime but the impact drill at 7.30am was a bit much. Overall a good stay, glad to see the renovations taking place, maybe better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, we have many guests state our rooms are very quiet. You are welcome anytime. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

When researching a place to find, you wonder what a place is really like by what others say, but we found Allan Cunningham Motel to be clean, staff very friendly and helpful when we wanted to know where to go in Toowoomba. Free Wifi was a bonus, stayed 4 nights, our room was standard family room, new renovated with kitchenette,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's appreciated and you are welcome anytime. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Very bad service, stayed here for one night. They offer Foxtel but you can't watch it because it has a fuzzy picture, free wifi you have to ask for and when it bothers to work it's very very slow, my iPhone 4 was quicker with only 2 bars. When we entered the room there was no tv remote and 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

From the same room as previous review - sadly you do occasionally have guests who are very difficult. These certainly were. Our service was immediate, we had all their issues fixed within the first 15 minutes of their complaint. The mother was a lady who could hardly walk and upset one of our young staff when assisting them, so management... More 

Travelers are raving about these Toowoomba hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Not what it seems. On arrival no internet offered. Globes blown in room no tv remote. Asked for globes told I should use dull mirror light on wall . Did get upset with girl but management happily told me off like a child and continued on and on . Room outdated, phones and noisy aircon. Wouldn't stay again purely because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

From the same room as the above review - sadly you do occasionally have guests who are very difficult. These certainly were. Our service was immediate, we had all their issues fixed within the first 15 minutes of their complaint. The mother was a lady who could hardly walk and upset one of our young staff when assisting them, so... More 

Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

A lovely little place, a bit dated but very comfortable, clean and secure. Staff were friendly and helpful. We also had a delicious continental breakfast which was included and welcome bonus. We would recommend! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. You are welcome anytime. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this motel many years ago, so we decided to try it agan. We were not disappointed. The new owners are renovating the rooms. The room that we had not been renovated yet. However I must say that it was very clean and comfortable. There is filtered water on tap and a Continental breakfast is included. The next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Manager at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. You are welcome anytime while visiting Toowoomba. I enjoyed having a chat. See you next time. More 

Gladstone, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

Never stay at this hotel ever, My husband and I stayed the first week of November at this hotel to visit our daughter who lives in Toowoomba, she went to visit us in the room for 2 hours and then again in the morning to have breakfast with us. The next day I checked my credit card and they charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ACM02, Manager at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

In response, this review is not an honest review as they simply paid for the room as used. Upon check-in, we particularly ask them if it was for Queen only and the lady hesitated and said yes. After management checked the room, all beds were used - not simply laid on, but used. They were very unpleasant during a phone... More 

Yarrawonga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Have stayed here before and was pleased with the accommodation, this stay we had one of their updated rooms , marble effect bench top, filtered water, great shower recess, only had one bedside table, could do with two. as usual, you get the free continental breakfast, definitely recommend this motel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACM02, Manager at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Thank you - your review is much appreciated. You are welcome anytime. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

After a long drive from West Wyalong we arrived hot and tired looking forward to our exucutive apartment as advertised. We were unhappy to find a small motel room dated back to 1970s. All bare brick interior walls. Smelt strongly of toilet cleaning product. No bedside tables at all. Husband had to kneel on floor to get to refrigerator. Scum... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ACM02, Owner at Allan Cunningham Motel, responded to this review

Please kindly check your booking confirmation details, and then you will believe what you have in fact booked. After checking your review details verses your booking, your online booking states a standard double room, not an Executive room or nor the cost of one of our new standard Kitchenette Rooms. The email confirmation clearly confirms this guest booked a Standard... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities