We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Mackay hotels

Dolphin Heads Resort

Beach Rd, Dolphin Heads, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Dolphin Heads Resort
Ranked #22 of 25 hotels in Mackay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
20
18
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Dolphin Heads Resort over the weekend for a wedding. I agree that the resort is in need of a face lift as mentioned in other reviews, but that was the only negative. The staff were courteous, attentive and friendly. I will make particular mention of Sacsha who worked the Bar for the 3 days we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Kerry for taking the time to review Dolphin Heads Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just returned from a 15 night stay at Dolphin Heads resort. We had an ocean view room which was probably better than garden or pool view even though they are a little cheaper. I found my room to be quite tired and in need of an upgrade. We chose not to have the room serviced every day as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolfenbuttel, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

we have been there with a group of German Basketballplayers and their wifes a couple of years ago. We have been hosted very friendly and the resort was exactly what we have expected after a long tournament. Great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Great spot. Was really quiet while we were there so that was a bonus. Needs a facelift but all facilities are clean & functional. Nice to breath the sea air at night. Restaurant was ok for dinner. Bit overpriced for what was on offer but the lone waitress on duty was friendly and helpful and didn't mind that we stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Positives: lovely location overlooking ocean, very friendly, helpful staff; rooms decent (a bit old, but for what it is it's ok), everything works. The restaurant is better than it looks: thai beef salad was decent. The pool is pretty nice and there are lots of places to relax in the sun. Negatives: full of screaming children and (dare I say?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place has so much potential it is sad to see it lag behind, so far behind. GOOD: The location is magnificent, the views from the rooms are unparalleled (ocean view) The pools are well maintained. Food is good. Great room service. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. I've stayed here over 20 times over the years and never had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Thank you for noting all the good aspects of our beautiful resort. Yes the location is amazing and we do always pride ourselves on good customer service. We are very happy to hear that you have stayed with us so many times ~ we love looking after our returning guests. We take on board your... More

Moranbah, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here recently and what a waste of a nice getaway and money it is! The rooms are completely out dated, it might have been an ''ocean view'' but it wasn't anything special. The two women working the bar were rude, ignorant and couldn't of cared less. I watched on as they rolled their eyes when certain drinks were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Hi Krystal Thank you for your review. We are very sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Dolphin Heads Resort in October 2013. Since your stay last year we have had a major overhaul in staff thanks to honest feedback, provided by guests like yourself. We agree there are "no excuses" for bad service and since... More

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Attended a wedding. Arrived and we did not have enough beds for people. Was told "we are very busy". I had made the reservation 12 months ago. On the day of the wedding, we went shopping in the morning. Returned at 1.20pm to find our room not serviced. Again was advised very busy and what exactly did we want. Replied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Thank you for noting all the good aspects of our beautiful resort. Yes the location is amazing and we do always pride ourselves on good customer service. We are very happy to hear that you have stayed with us so many times ~ we love looking after our returning guests. We take on board your... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great views of the ocean and great position. Best if you have your own car. Not good if you need to get taxis into city area of Mackay as may be expensive. Rooms comfortable. Pool a little bit tired. Staff were friendly at bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mackay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

we stayed overnight to attend my nieces wedding, paid $144 for a garden view. The garden wasn't that good. the tiled floors inside the room were gritty. By the time you walk to the bathroom ,feet were black. The bed was dreadful, I went in quite normal and came out almost a cripple. Don't go if you have back trouble!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for your compliments about the our beautiful location and the wedding reception. With regard to your Garden View room, unfortunately we are only the resort managers and we do not own the rooms however we are currently in talks with the owners/body corporate to formulate a plan to refurbish the rooms. We are... More

Been to Dolphin Heads Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Heads Resort

Address: Beach Rd, Dolphin Heads, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Heads Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dolphin Heads Resort to your Saves list