We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shores Holiday Apartments

#3 of 31 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
9 Pacific Drive | Blacks Beach, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Offers & Announcements
AUD20 off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shores Holiday Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Shores Holiday Apartments
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Gympie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pleasant suroundings, Pools, Tennis courts, Large out BBQ area, beautiful gardens, Beach at the back door and is suitable for all ages. Great Managers, Walking distance to take away and restaurant and shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review. We strive very hard to ensure our guests have a lovely stay and enjoy our little piece of paradise. Hope we get to welcome you again soon. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

After a long day looking for reasonable priced accommodation for the Christmas period, we came across The Shores Holiday Apartments. The destination was perfect for us. The Shores Holiday Apartments was one of the most cleanest places we have ever stayed at, and being a regular traveler we would know. With a short walk to the beach or pool, bbq... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our holiday apartments and your wonderful comments. We are thrilled that our property met your expectations. Hope we get to see you again. More 

Sanctuary Point, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Cleanliness of units could not be faulted, upgrading of some fittings and fixtures in units could be looked into. The upkeep of the grounds and pools is exceptional. Staff on reception were friendly, efficient and extremely helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Great to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank You for your lovely comments.Our aim is to make everyone feel comfortable and relaxed so they will return again. I will also pass on your wonderful feedback to our cleaners and let Peter know you thought the gardens were well maintained. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Thanks Peter, Karyn and staff for providing all the comforts of home with holiday extras. . 3 pools, spa, tennis court, beach and takeaways at door made it a great stay. .excellent coffee and cake to : )

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review. Lovely to see you again. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Access to shower was unacceptable. Car parking space very tight but undercover. Remainder of accommodation was well above average & comfortable. Shops close by and next to the beach but you cannot really swim.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Shores Holiday Apartments. Of the 31 units we manage only 4 of them have the shower over the bath which can be a bit difficult for guests with mobility issues. These four units are all Standard Villas. We only have one Standard Villa which has a walk in shower. We would... More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We stayed for 6 nights including New Years Eve, and to be honest, we were expecting it to be noisy with holidaymakers at that time, but the grounds are so well set out that you can either join in with others, or have time to just relax on your own. The apartments are clean and spacious, very comfortable. Being January,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. Much appreciated. Hope to see you again some time. More 

AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

we had a 2 bedroom apartment here for 2 nights. what a lovely spot. The reception was warm and friendly and easy. i used booking.com and everything went smooth. We had a clean neat apartment with everything you would want. there are aircons in each room and main living. which was so good. there are also fans. We had beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Shores Holiday Apartments and look forward to you returning again to our little piece of paradise. We try very hard to ensure all our guests have a lovely stay.Thank You. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Nice clean,spacious-friendly helpful staff,good facilities and close to beach.quite while we were there.beautiful beach 2minutes from room.not that close to shops so take gear with you but overall a good place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. It's lovely to hear our guests have enjoyed our quiet but special piece of paradise. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My husband & I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary early this year. We decided we would like to celebrate in Mackay where we went to school & started our careers. We also wanted a place & date when all our family & bridal party could join us. Our best man came from Holland with his family. Our groomsman from Scotland... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerryn B, General Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We also believe The Shores Holiday Apartments is a great place for family get togethers. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We had a lovely eight night stay with black's beach just a stones throw away. The accommodation was comfortable and relaxing and the staff always friendly. The only downside was that we couldn't stay any longer but we'll definitely be back, david and Julia from Tassie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. We strive very hard to ensure our guests have a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you again another time. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay