We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Mackay B&Bs / inns

Eungella Chalet

Save
You added Eungella Chalet to your Saves list
Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Eungella Chalet
Ranked #12 of 20 Mackay B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This is an old property and is something a bit run down. The view is very good and looks out over the mountain and valley. I guess if you want a simple pub style experience it is fine but for anyone else it will dissapoint. Food was pretty ordinary and service the same. I probably wont go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed in room 15 in the chalet for one night for $115. The room was well presented, clean and functional with a walk in robe and ensuite and the usual amenities (fridge,tea,coffee etc). #15 is right above the stage so i wouldn't recommend it if there is a live band playing. The room has the most amazing views, from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your view, we are glad you enjoyed your stay & the character of The Chalet. The stage down stairs in rarely used. Our musician play at Sunday lunch time either on the deck or outside on the top terrace area. We do try to inform our guests if we have a function booked and are expecting a... More 

Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We booked a cabin at this chalet sight unseen at $150 per night. It was suggested to us by the staff that the hotel accommodation (at $115 per night) could be noisy on the Friday night because of a weekend function. If we had inspected this accommodation before checking in and paying, with check in time set at 2pm, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff had suggested a cabin to hopefully make your stay quiet and comfortable as on a Friday hotel rooms can be a little noisier. Check in time at most Hotel is 2pm. Eungella has several other accommodation options within walking distance to The Chalet and the... More 

Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Let me preface by saying we had very low expectation for our accommodation; we knew going into it that it was un-renovated. Our only expectation was that it would be outdated but clean and as long as there was a fire we would be happy! We LOVE Eungella, and usually stay at the Broken River Resort but our budget only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your statement. We always appreciate feedback however you will no longer have to endure a non renovated cabin. This cabin has been repainted, new kitchen equipment and furniture has been purchased. Thank you again for your feedback. More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Quaint cabins with amazing views from the front facing ones (Units 1 and 2 I think), they are older style but have everything you need - wouldn't recommend if your wanting a luxurious stay, but for our short weekend getaway it was perfect. Fireplace was great, as we stayed in winter and it was freezing! They supply a small amount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Aside from the view from the restaurant this place has nothing to offer (same view also seen from a lookout down the street). We stayed in the motel type rooms upstairs. Dark musty smelling corridors with pipes running along the walls and rooms with 1960's decor. Mostly unhelpful staff who were unprepared to go out of their way to help.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The Chalet was built in 1934, part of it's character in staying in this lovely old building is enduring and enjoying it's old design. Many clients enjoy staying in The Chalet and the experience of it's old style ambience. Sorry you didn't like it. We do have a high standard of cleaning however in the... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed in a cabin at Eungella Chalet. The location could not be faulted, being at the top of the range road. The chalet bar had fabulous views over the Pioneer Valley, and the hang glider launching pad. There were National Park walks beginning right next door. It was also central for a driving tour of the Eungella district.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Go for the view but eat before you get there, we had chicken soup which tasted like it was straight out of the can with some extra chicken added. Also watery tasteless pumpkin soup at a cost of $13. The saving item were the wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pomona Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently had an overnight stay in the hotel. It was a lovely experience with spectacular views from our window. The hotel is best appreciated when seen in the context of its interesting history. My husband has fond memories of staying there as a child in the 1950s. It is not 5 star and its rates are in keeping with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The chalet isn't 5 star, but the rooms are acceptable they are older and a bit musty, but we weren't expecting much more. We found the staff friendly and the food on the hotel was good pub food. The location and views were great

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Eungella Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eungella Chalet

Address: Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Eungella Chalet Hotel Mackay

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Eungella Chalet

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby