We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Mackay hotels

Pioneer Villa Motel

30 Nebo Road, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pioneer Villa Motel to your Saves list
Pioneer Villa Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
41%
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Mackay
A recent review
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
3
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I know this site is usually only for those who have stayed at a certain motel. But I had to leave a note. Because this experience made me smile and lifted my day. The morning I made my booking, I had called a number of Mackay motels. As I am in need of accommodation during my business trip. I am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here on two occasions and have found the the staff amazing. On the last occasion I arrived at 7 am for that night and was able t.o immediately check in. Darryl and Mal provide amazing customer service with a smile. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with new very comfortable beds, austar t.v and not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmview, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Pioneer Villa Motel on 2 occasions when travelling up and back the Qld coastline. On the first occasion things were in quite a state and needing repair as per guest comments below. I have stayed here again in March and things are very different for good reasons. The old sign has been replaced, the pool fence has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments and we have made significant changes since removing the previous managers. We operate 24 hour check in and give priority to a personalised service. It is a pleasure to look after our guests and we value them highly. New pool fencing and signage gives us a new profile in line with the improved levels of... More

Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

needs upgrading, one air con which did not have any effect on the 2nd bedroom, for that we had a pedestal fan that didn't work. breakfast was terrible, didn't get what we ordered, restaurant aircon got turned on when we sat down so we sweated thru the meal. bathroom in need of help

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Dear Townsvillemiss, I apologise that you were not satisfied with you stay at Pioneer Villa Motel, it is my hope and intention for all guests to be completely satisfied based on the value of the rate they are paying for the service and condition of the motel. Since you have not stated when your stay was I can only assume... More

Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Pretty basic and needs a little love and attention. Some of the furnishings were broken and it wasn't a very attractive room. The bathroom was functional and clean though and the hotel was very central to most places you would want to go to in Mackay. We booked it while it was on special so was very affordable, price reflected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thanks you Kylie for taking the time to review. We are under new management, I am the owner and now back on site to bring the motel back up to the acceptable 3.5 star rating standard. While we have always been undertaking various maintenance and room upgrades of varying degrees we are currently improving many aspects of the motel to... More

Strabane United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked the Pioneer Villa at short notice as we needed a stop en route to Airlie Beach. We arrived too late to have a meal in the Pioneer Villa but it is opposite a Kentucky Fried Chicken that was still open. It is one of a number of motels on the busy Nebo Road. it is set back enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We took not of your comments about cleanliness under the beads and have since replaced with new cleaning staff. We have also cleaned all the irons. Of course it is an ongoing cleaning and maintenance schedule that has to be maintained to maintain a decent standard. Thank you for stating the fact... More

Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are old badly in need of makeover, poor lighting, internet slower than dial up, AC old noisy in the wall, Bathroom old Taps dripping small shower. Meal was just edible and over priced. It is clean & staff friendly. Note to ones self arrive in Mackay with enough time and energy to inspect rooms, no under the Vacancy sign... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review. We do accept some of the criticisms you have mentioned in your review. We have replaced all air conditions with new quiet split system units. Usually we get great reviews on our meals and service so we must of had a bad night in the kitchen that night if you... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

It is a shame that the rooms are not as pleasant as the management and staff. Really getting to the stage of being and looking run down and is in urgent need for a refurb. Will need a makeover to be brought up to match other accommodation in Mackay. On the other hand the management and staff were very helpful,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mike, we have to agree with your review. We do go out of our way in regard to service and we have an upgrade in schedule for the rooms. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older... More

Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good, cheap, clean accommodation. Cost $135/night for queen room. Rooms are large. Heaps of hot water. Quick and speedy check in and out. Friendly staff. Heaps of off road parking. Even though it was on the main highway, road noise could not be heard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the very fair review. We hope you are still enjoying your travels. We do offer good value and service. With the rooms set back off the main road to try and limit road noise. Thanks again for the great review. From the Team @ Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay. More

Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms are old, smelly and in desperate need of a refurb. The owners were very pleasant on check in and check out. Accommodation in Mackay can be hard to come by, but I would look elsewhere and book here as a last resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Hi James, we appreciate your review. We do go out of our way in regard to service and we have an upgrade in schedule for the rooms. We have a rigid cleaning schedule and try to air out the rooms as well. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool... More

Been to Pioneer Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Villa Motel

Also Known As:
Pioneer Villa Hotel
Pioneer Villa Hotel Mackay
Address: 30 Nebo Road, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new Management, all rooms have been upgraded, and feature brand new beds, and bedding, Digital TV and new split system air-conditioning. Book here now. Pioneer Villa is a small motel with great personal service. Our motel is very clean and comfortable with a large in-ground pool w/slide and on-site restaurant & bar. We also offer free WiFi, off street undercover parking and Foxtel sport & movies. Conveniently located Pioneer Villa Motel is on Nebo Rd 8 minutes from Mackay airport and 15 minutes walk from the City heart - well positioned for business or leisure! Mackay Bowls club across the road, great spot for weekend tournaments. We pride ourselves on the service we offer guests, both business and leisure and like to 'go the extra mile'. Our restaurant offers scrumptious hearty meals that will leave you feeling happy and full. Restaurant open for breakfast & dinner Mon - Thurs night. Room service at other times by arrangement. 24 Hour personal check in. Heavy vehicle parking available in side street Bagley St Cnr & Nebo Rd Come and visit us today in Mackay Pioneer Villa Motel and let us look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pioneer Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Villa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.