We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers

34 Sydney St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
KalamityKate88 Brisbane, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    3
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
16
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for just one night on my way down the coast. I was in a Private room which was clean and came with air con and even a mini fridge in the room! The hostel is really quirky and fun with crazy jungle themed murals everywhere. The communal areas and kitchen were clean and had almost anything you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I chose to stay here because of the price and it is true you get what you pay for. The room was ok. Bed was quite uncomfortable. Bathroom facilities were in poor condition. Communal kitchen was extremely messy due to guests not cleaning or washing up. I couldnt handle the late night noise of other guests who had no consideration... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

This place is the best backpackers in Australia. It's friendly, spacious, clean and has excellent amenities. I found the tone of the place is set by the warm welcoming face of Cheryl at reception and continues. With a large kitchen area, good bathrooms and a very relaxing deck area, geckos is a deficit for and return visits I will make.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Stayed one night, couldn't wait to leave. The kitchen was filthy, people leave sinks full of food scraps pots and pans and anything else they use to cook with. The benches and stoves are left covered in food splatters, there's little wonder I saw cockroaches in the hallway and stairs. The place is dark. Nearly every light bulb or tube... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

my partner and i started in a 4 bed dorm on our own which was very nice as we were on a tight budget, the bed was very cosy and room was so dark we had the best night sleep :) loving the wall paper all around the hostel very creative and different :) the lady at reception and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed for one night in a private double and shared bathroom. The room was perfect for what we wanted - clean, with fridge and aircon. The tv room was good, nice big comfy couches. Not many people staying there when we were there which suited us perfectly - we had the run of the tv! Bathrooms were kept clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Stayed in a double room for a night. It had a bit of a smell to begin with, but that went after the air con was on for a while. It was one of the rooms with no windows, only sky light type things. They were cracked and a bit dirty. They lit the room up in the morning, wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Great Location I really liked the hostel it feels like a shared flat to live there. I stayed there for long therme and the fact that it has got a big kitchen makes it easy to connect with people. The hostel is in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a short walk to the free lagoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location is great and really like the showers and th fact that it has got a big kitchen (meaning that it doesn't get too crowded), but our room had such a strong smell of sweat that we felt like throwing up every time we got in and it really ruined our stay! To top it off the room had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Veton N, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you were satisfied with location, showers and our well-sized kitchen. We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay at Gecko's Rest completely because your room was not in a perfect state. Some of our rooms do not have windows but indirect... More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lived at this hostel for 4 months whilst working in Mackay. Right in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a 10 minute walk to the free lagoon! Rooms all have good working air-con, very clean and own fridges which is a bonus. Large deck area which is great to meet people, we met some really great,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Pam, We thank you very much for your review and are glad that you enjoyed your long term stay at Gecko's Rest. We are aware of the fact that some of the dryers just take too long to dry but we are fixing the machines at the moment. Additionally, we are working on the WIFI issue. I hope you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#6 of 32 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#12 of 32 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Mackay Airport
Ibis Mackay Airport
#4 of 32 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
0.2 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#10 of 32 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
5.7 mi away
MyCow Accommodation Mackay
MyCow Accommodation Mackay
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay