We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers

34 Sydney St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
Christine P
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
16
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I chose to stay here because of the price and it is true you get what you pay for. The room was ok. Bed was quite uncomfortable. Bathroom facilities were in poor condition. Communal kitchen was extremely messy due to guests not cleaning or washing up. I couldnt handle the late night noise of other guests who had no consideration... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

This place is the best backpackers in Australia. It's friendly, spacious, clean and has excellent amenities. I found the tone of the place is set by the warm welcoming face of Cheryl at reception and continues. With a large kitchen area, good bathrooms and a very relaxing deck area, geckos is a deficit for and return visits I will make.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Stayed one night, couldn't wait to leave. The kitchen was filthy, people leave sinks full of food scraps pots and pans and anything else they use to cook with. The benches and stoves are left covered in food splatters, there's little wonder I saw cockroaches in the hallway and stairs. The place is dark. Nearly every light bulb or tube... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Airlie Beach, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

my partner and i started in a 4 bed dorm on our own which was very nice as we were on a tight budget, the bed was very cosy and room was so dark we had the best night sleep :) loving the wall paper all around the hostel very creative and different :) the lady at reception and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed for one night in a private double and shared bathroom. The room was perfect for what we wanted - clean, with fridge and aircon. The tv room was good, nice big comfy couches. Not many people staying there when we were there which suited us perfectly - we had the run of the tv! Bathrooms were kept clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Stayed in a double room for a night. It had a bit of a smell to begin with, but that went after the air con was on for a while. It was one of the rooms with no windows, only sky light type things. They were cracked and a bit dirty. They lit the room up in the morning, wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Great Location I really liked the hostel it feels like a shared flat to live there. I stayed there for long therme and the fact that it has got a big kitchen makes it easy to connect with people. The hostel is in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a short walk to the free lagoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location is great and really like the showers and th fact that it has got a big kitchen (meaning that it doesn't get too crowded), but our room had such a strong smell of sweat that we felt like throwing up every time we got in and it really ruined our stay! To top it off the room had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Veton N, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you were satisfied with location, showers and our well-sized kitchen. We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay at Gecko's Rest completely because your room was not in a perfect state. Some of our rooms do not have windows but indirect... More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lived at this hostel for 4 months whilst working in Mackay. Right in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a 10 minute walk to the free lagoon! Rooms all have good working air-con, very clean and own fridges which is a bonus. Large deck area which is great to meet people, we met some really great,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Pam, We thank you very much for your review and are glad that you enjoyed your long term stay at Gecko's Rest. We are aware of the fact that some of the dryers just take too long to dry but we are fixing the machines at the moment. Additionally, we are working on the WIFI issue. I hope you... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great place to stay, friendly staff and good facilities. I enjoy coming back and meeting new people! Washing and drying is a little bit expensive ($7) but other then that all is great! Located close to pools, shops and the movies. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities