We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Mackay accommodations

Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers

34 Sydney St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers to your Saves list
36%
Ranked #16 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
ChefMathiasFischer Townsville, Australia
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
13
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Location I really liked the hostel it feels like a shared flat to live there. I stayed there for long therme and the fact that it has got a big kitchen makes it easy to connect with people. The hostel is in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a short walk to the free lagoon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location is great and really like the showers and th fact that it has got a big kitchen (meaning that it doesn't get too crowded), but our room had such a strong smell of sweat that we felt like throwing up every time we got in and it really ruined our stay! To top it off the room had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Veton N, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you were satisfied with location, showers and our well-sized kitchen. We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay at Gecko's Rest completely because your room was not in a perfect state. Some of our rooms do not have windows but indirect... More

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lived at this hostel for 4 months whilst working in Mackay. Right in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a 10 minute walk to the free lagoon! Rooms all have good working air-con, very clean and own fridges which is a bonus. Large deck area which is great to meet people, we met some really great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Pam, We thank you very much for your review and are glad that you enjoyed your long term stay at Gecko's Rest. We are aware of the fact that some of the dryers just take too long to dry but we are fixing the machines at the moment. Additionally, we are working on the WIFI issue. I hope you... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great place to stay, friendly staff and good facilities. I enjoy coming back and meeting new people! Washing and drying is a little bit expensive ($7) but other then that all is great! Located close to pools, shops and the movies. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mackay
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The room at the hostel was roomy with own fridge, loved the location, directly in the city centre, other guests and staff were friendly, fair prices, big kitchen and comfy lounge, outside deck was good fun, free DVD hire.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colmar, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I met a good friends there. Ur feeling like at home, i stayed almost 6 months. Thanks to the staff to be so friendly and helpful. Good location, closed to the greyhound station and nightlife. Miss my Aussie Family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeannette N, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mel, thank you for taking the time to give us a short feedback. The Gecko's family is missing you too and little Tia. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope you are doing fine back home. All the best and take care :) Jeannette More

Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night as there was little else around. The room was pretty small, no windows and close to the shower block, and it was pretty expensive. There was a lot of noise at night - there is a karaoke bar close and you can hear the singers, plus for some reason people were really noisy -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette N, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, We are sorry our facilities did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate any feedback wether positive or negative. Unfortunately, some of our rooms do not have windows. We apologize for this. Instead of windows all of our rooms have got air-conditioning and daylight through the roof. It can get a bit noisy on the weekends because... More

Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for a night and it was our first time to book a room with sharing bath - not bad at all, though the bath/shower area is pretty cold. Place is decent, am a newbie when it comes to hostels, at first found the place a bit noisy, but at around 10 in the evening, it was just quiet.The towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette N, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Chic_chef81, Thank you very much for your review and feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here. Kind regards Jeannette More

Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It seems no one really takes care enough of the place. It could be nicer than it is (it seems it was nicer some time ago); it is really dirty, and there were even some bugs I don't want to give details about... I don't know if this is every room, but some rooms do not have windows, which would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette N, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Claudia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always want to improve to make the stay at Gecko's Rest unique. We are trying to keep the property as clean as possible and we are going to check our air-conditioning more regularly. Thank you for you feedback. If we had known about the dusty air-conditioning, we... More

Poole Dorset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is apparently the only backpacker place in this expensive mining town, so there is little choice! Dark old and worn. It was the dirtiest place I stayed in on my trip and if it hadnt been for the kind and friendly receptionist I would have cried. It was dark and dingy. mackay is expensive and not a very interesting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers

Address: 34 Sydney St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers