We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers

34 Sydney St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
sammie2252 Airlie Beach, Australia
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
16
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Airlie Beach, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

my partner and i started in a 4 bed dorm on our own which was very nice as we were on a tight budget, the bed was very cosy and room was so dark we had the best night sleep :) loving the wall paper all around the hostel very creative and different :) the lady at reception and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed for one night in a private double and shared bathroom. The room was perfect for what we wanted - clean, with fridge and aircon. The tv room was good, nice big comfy couches. Not many people staying there when we were there which suited us perfectly - we had the run of the tv! Bathrooms were kept clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Stayed in a double room for a night. It had a bit of a smell to begin with, but that went after the air con was on for a while. It was one of the rooms with no windows, only sky light type things. They were cracked and a bit dirty. They lit the room up in the morning, wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Great Location I really liked the hostel it feels like a shared flat to live there. I stayed there for long therme and the fact that it has got a big kitchen makes it easy to connect with people. The hostel is in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a short walk to the free lagoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location is great and really like the showers and th fact that it has got a big kitchen (meaning that it doesn't get too crowded), but our room had such a strong smell of sweat that we felt like throwing up every time we got in and it really ruined our stay! To top it off the room had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Veton N, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you were satisfied with location, showers and our well-sized kitchen. We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay at Gecko's Rest completely because your room was not in a perfect state. Some of our rooms do not have windows but indirect... More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lived at this hostel for 4 months whilst working in Mackay. Right in the centre of town close to supermarkets, shops, cinema and a 10 minute walk to the free lagoon! Rooms all have good working air-con, very clean and own fridges which is a bonus. Large deck area which is great to meet people, we met some really great,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geckosrest, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Pam, We thank you very much for your review and are glad that you enjoyed your long term stay at Gecko's Rest. We are aware of the fact that some of the dryers just take too long to dry but we are fixing the machines at the moment. Additionally, we are working on the WIFI issue. I hope you... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great place to stay, friendly staff and good facilities. I enjoy coming back and meeting new people! Washing and drying is a little bit expensive ($7) but other then that all is great! Located close to pools, shops and the movies. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mackay
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The room at the hostel was roomy with own fridge, loved the location, directly in the city centre, other guests and staff were friendly, fair prices, big kitchen and comfy lounge, outside deck was good fun, free DVD hire.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colmar, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I met a good friends there. Ur feeling like at home, i stayed almost 6 months. Thanks to the staff to be so friendly and helpful. Good location, closed to the greyhound station and nightlife. Miss my Aussie Family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeannette N, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mel, thank you for taking the time to give us a short feedback. The Gecko's family is missing you too and little Tia. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope you are doing fine back home. All the best and take care :) Jeannette More 

Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night as there was little else around. The room was pretty small, no windows and close to the shower block, and it was pretty expensive. There was a lot of noise at night - there is a karaoke bar close and you can hear the singers, plus for some reason people were really noisy -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette N, Receptionist at Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, We are sorry our facilities did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate any feedback wether positive or negative. Unfortunately, some of our rooms do not have windows. We apologize for this. Instead of windows all of our rooms have got air-conditioning and daylight through the roof. It can get a bit noisy on the weekends because... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question