We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Gladstone hotels

Rydges Gladstone Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Goondoon Street, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Country Plaza International)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rydges Gladstone Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Gladstone
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
cdchiken Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (92)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (30)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
11
26
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here one night for business. The hotel is centrally located in town so easy to walk to bars and restaurants. The room had some modern touches but covered up a tired bathroom with a shower over an old bath and a shower curtain. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. A very large mini bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here on and off for the last 20 years under its various names. Always convenient to the centre of town. Parking is good as is the service. Always found the restaurant a little expensive for dinner or breakfasts but convenient. Rooms average and clean. They also now have "studio" rooms out the back across the street in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 92saint, Thank you for your commentary regarding your recent stay. I am please you enjoyed the service and I am pleased to say we are about to launch our new menu shortly, which is more extensive than the current one. We are working towards improving the facilities and offerings and I am confident, your next stay we should hit... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Rydges Dream beds are always reliable and take me back each time as does my platinum membership which gives me great food discounts. This hotel is central and very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are getting tired especially the bathrooms and general decor which are reminiscent of the eighties.However the rooms are a good size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HMLesley, Great to hear that your enjoy our Rydges Dream Beds, we certainly get great feedback about them. In fact I bought one myself, which you can do on Rydges.com! The pool is certainly great with an outlook over the harbour, and just a great spot to relax. Kind Regards Edward Brennan General Manager More

Edmonton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I spent 1 night at this hotel in June 2014 while on business in Gladstone. My initial reaction just at the lobby was that the hotel was in serious need of cleaning and probably should just be completely gutted. The rooms look like at some point they attempted to do a renovation but only did about 25 percent. The sheets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Timmycanfly, Thank you for the commentary on your recent stay, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the quality of bedding and cleaning. It is pleasing however, that you enjoyed our new free WIFI and found the staff to be friendly and helpful, always good to hear Sincerely, Edward Brennan General Manager More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

on our way home I thought we would stay in Gladstone. As I am a member of Ridge's I chose to stay with them for one night and maybe add another. This is rated 4 star according to RACQ. Well we have stayed in 3 star that where nicer. The staff could not fault, but the room was another thing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KCK55, Thanks for the commentary regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed that you experienced the issues noted, and I will make sure in retrospect, that the sliding door is fixed. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass this on to the team. Kind Regards Edward Brennan General Manager More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Having stayed at several Rydges properties previously I had reasonable expectations. The photos of the hotel are far better than how it actually presents, the property is very dated and in need of some improving. The rooms at least have a comfortable bed and 32" flat screen tv. Location is central and off street parking available. Check in staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason_Barrett76, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am pleased that you found our Rydges Dream Bed to your liking. It is disappointing to hear you did not find the front office staff friendly, but on the flip side that you did find our bar staff to be helpful and accommodating. I will certainly take... More

Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again after two disastrous single night stays in December 2013 and January 2014. Rydges offered a free night's stay to compensate, which we accepted. No change though - quite indifferent attitude at reception, the corridor carpets are still stained, the room ordinary. The bath tub was still dangerously slippery (I fell last time, suffering a severe jar).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gail M, I am not sure of the background of your previous stays as I have just started, however it is disappointing to hear that even after these we were not able to meet or even exceed your expectations. I am pleased to say that we are close to adressing the carpets in the corridor. I understand that we... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have stayed here before facing the main street. This time I had a harbour ( busy port) view and whilst this was interesting, it was also very noisy overnight. The minibar area now has an unusual array of rather random gifts. The pool was a bit murky.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oz5_10, Thank you for your feedback and certainly a pretty amazing view but as you mentioned the sound can travel with the amount of activity. When booking again please feel free to specifiy a side / floor so that we can ensure that we are catering to your preference. Kind Regards Edward Brennan More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

CHECK YOUR MINI BAR PEOPLE. After being broken down stranded on the hwy for 11 hours the first thing I did was scan the mini bar. It had not been checked, there was a half eaten box of popcorn, the cup box was empty, I called front desk because I was not going to be charged for those at $5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tashleo, It is disappointing to hear we missed the mark in so many areas of your stay and as we know first impressions do count, which obviously we did not achieve. I will be addressing the items raised with the team and hopefully with your detailed feedback we put into place systems whereby these occurences are minimised. On another... More

Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Thank you to the helpful staff at Rydges, you made such a difference to our stay. From organising taxis for Heron Island and Curtis Island transfers and to the airport, to arranging a room move away from a noisy bridal party, and not forgetting the awesome service and food in the restaurant. You made a special birthday weekend memorable, thank... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TassieLady2014, It is great to hear from a fellow Taswegian and also great to hear that we made your special weekend one to remember. I hope that you will return to Sunny Gladstone again soon! Kind Regards Edward Brennan General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rydges Gladstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Gladstone Hotel

Address: 100 Goondoon Street, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Country Plaza International)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Gladstone Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rydges Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Gladstone

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gladstone
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
73

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer