We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Hotel website
99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    151
    86
    25
    15
See reviews for
122
124
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Aspendale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a wonderful week with my mother. The pool and spa are fantastic and really made our holiday. Our room was comfortable and the location being across the road from the beach was perfect. We will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Management and staff were happy to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us recently, as mentioned all shops and facilities are within walking distance of our Resort. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and I am sure you will once again have a pleasant experience. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort is right on the Qld/N.S.W boarder. You walk to loads of shops, restaurants, the beaches, take a stroll along the Strand. The self contained accommodations themselves are clean and pretty much cover all you need. With a hot spa, pool and a gym you can relax where it's quiet. Staff are very helpful and parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Calypso Plaza on Trip Advisor it was good news to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that you will come and stay in the near future where I am sure you will once again have a pleasurable stay . More 

Proserpine, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for the Cooly Rocks On Festival 2015 for a week. Calypso is so close to everything and a short walk away from all the major events. Room was spacious and as always, clean. Staff were friendly from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. Would stay again instead of staying at Kirra and driving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the coolie rocks festival and the small break at Calypso Plaza Resort. Yes we are central to all the major events, also close to the shops, restaurants. We would love to welcome you back in the near future where I am sure you will... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last year we only stayed for a weekend - this time we came for a week. Everything as it should be, clean rooms, friendly staff, big swimming pools, across the road to the beach, shops and eateries - from fast food to fine dining. Excellent value. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your weeks break. Yes we are central to all facilities, shops, restaurants and across the road from the beach. We would love to welcome you back in the near future where I am sure you will once again have an enjoyable stay. More 

norlane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner & myself Loved the Oaks Calypso its an Awesome place, pool, spa .Full kitchen, We had a one bedroom apartment .Close to everything you need & the beach is just across the rd. Would definately stay there again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review on Trip Advisor. As mentioned we are centrally located to all facilities, shops and beach. We would love to welcome you back in the near future where I am sure you will once again have an enjoyable stay. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights 23/26 April in a two bedroom apartment. I travel with my 12 yr old son & elderly mother. The checkin staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartment was just right, clean, modern and spacious. We were given one of the few apartments with a walkin shower, great for mum, thank you. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor I will pass your comments on to Housekeeping and the Front Office staff. We hope that you will come and stay with us again would love to welcome you back again in the near future to Calypso Plaza Resort. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The pool and resort have everything that you need for a relaxing stay. You will not be over the moon on the bells and whistles but the essentials are there. The only thing disappointing was the gym space which was very limited in size and equipment. Staff also unreasonable about a paper voucher that I needed to get a discount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I am glad that you had a relaxing stay at Calypso Plaza , we are currently in the process of having the gymnasium rest rooms and shower facilities modernised, unfortunatly we are unable to alter the size of the work area though. As you have mentioned we do require all vouchers on check in that have been pre purchased through... More 

Tewantin, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Being a woman in my 70's on my own and have stayed at Calypso quite a few times visit friends around C'gatta 5daystwice a year - and I realise that it is only 3 1/2 stars and fairly cheep - but this visit staying there will probably be my last - can get others nearby on the front for $10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I would like to apologise to you for what seems to have been a very disappoiting stay with us at Calypso Plaza Resort. I would like to further discuss your stay with you personally , please feel free to call me at any time,It most certainly is not Oaks Policy's and Procedures to allow our guests to check in to... More 

Warkworth, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Had a 7 day stay here through our travel club. As of such it was like having your own place, no housekeeping etc but the advantage of having a front desk to use. Very central,could walk most places,including into NSW for the mandatory photo! Secure offstreet parking and easy access. We had the separate bedroom which meant a good lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor we are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us through the Timeshare Company that you booked with. We hope that you will come and stay with us agin in the near future. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We have stayed at Calypso a number of times over the years. It is good value for money, and I prefer this resort to high rise apartments where it is often too windy to use the balcony! The apartments have always been clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and obliging. We had a problem with the lock on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, I will pass your praise on to the Front Office Staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where I am sure you will once again have an enjoyable stay at Calypso Plaza Resort. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay