We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Hotel website
99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    149
    86
    25
    15
See reviews for
121
124
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 3 nights 23/26 April in a two bedroom apartment. I travel with my 12 yr old son & elderly mother. The checkin staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartment was just right, clean, modern and spacious. We were given one of the few apartments with a walkin shower, great for mum, thank you. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The pool and resort have everything that you need for a relaxing stay. You will not be over the moon on the bells and whistles but the essentials are there. The only thing disappointing was the gym space which was very limited in size and equipment. Staff also unreasonable about a paper voucher that I needed to get a discount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I am glad that you had a relaxing stay at Calypso Plaza , we are currently in the process of having the gymnasium rest rooms and shower facilities modernised, unfortunatly we are unable to alter the size of the work area though. As you have mentioned we do require all vouchers on check in that have been pre purchased through... More 

Tewantin, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Being a woman in my 70's on my own and have stayed at Calypso quite a few times visit friends around C'gatta 5daystwice a year - and I realise that it is only 3 1/2 stars and fairly cheep - but this visit staying there will probably be my last - can get others nearby on the front for $10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I would like to apologise to you for what seems to have been a very disappoiting stay with us at Calypso Plaza Resort. I would like to further discuss your stay with you personally , please feel free to call me at any time,It most certainly is not Oaks Policy's and Procedures to allow our guests to check in to... More 

Warkworth, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a 7 day stay here through our travel club. As of such it was like having your own place, no housekeeping etc but the advantage of having a front desk to use. Very central,could walk most places,including into NSW for the mandatory photo! Secure offstreet parking and easy access. We had the separate bedroom which meant a good lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor we are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us through the Timeshare Company that you booked with. We hope that you will come and stay with us agin in the near future. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Calypso a number of times over the years. It is good value for money, and I prefer this resort to high rise apartments where it is often too windy to use the balcony! The apartments have always been clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and obliging. We had a problem with the lock on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, I will pass your praise on to the Front Office Staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where I am sure you will once again have an enjoyable stay at Calypso Plaza Resort. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
861 helpful votes 861 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I used this place to spend the night before a flight out of OOL Check in very smooth and swift Room size very large with proper living area and full kitchen Very clean and quiet with small balcony Bed very comfortable and bathroom well equipped with usual standard items Numerous eateries and shops right outside ( the property is on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

We hope that you will come and stay with us for a longer period next time you are in Coolangatta.We would love to welcome you back again and I am sure you will have another hopefully extended stay with us. More 

Alexandra Headland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This is a terrific location for a family getaway. We firstly drove in with our surf craft on top of our four wheel drive and didn't have to take them off to get in... that was a treat compared to most other more modern resorts. the expansive pool with water slides for the kids topped it off for space from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

It was great news to hear you had a successful and enjoyable holiday with us at Calypso Plaza Resort during the Surf Titles, I hope you will return and stay with us again in the near future we would love to welcome you back again, hopefully before the next titles in 2017 for a well deserved break. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the Coolangatta district for 2 nights. It was spacious, bright, clean and the bed was really comfortable. A great night's sleep. Undercover secure parking. Our hairdryer sounded dodgy and they gave us a brand new one straight away after calling reception, no question. The location is perfect for the beach and restaurants.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Its good news to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I hope that you will return at a later date where I am sure you will once again have a pleasurable stay. More 

Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

The location on Griffith Street is fantastic. Fast and easy access to either Griffith St or Marine Pde - shops, cafes, restaurants and the beach. The pool area is brilliant for families with children. Pool is only 90cm deep so easy for young children to touch the bottom. Water slides and hot tub provide hours of fun. We stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had less than a pleasurable stay with us at Calypso Plaza recently, all of our rooms are due for refurbishment which will occur in the next few months. I would love to discuss your stay with you personally, please feel free to contact me direct at any time as we would love to... More 

Gold Coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We booked the Oaks Calypso about 6mths before our wedding- and yes, as bride's do, I was very fussy and rang the resort and asked if we could please have a lovely room as it's where we were spending our wedding weekend. The staff were very lovely, but we were very disappointed with the state of our unit. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear GoldCoast123, Firstly I would like to Congratulate you both on your Wedding. I would like to apologise for the room on arrival. This is most defiantly not what Oaks Hotels and Resorts standards. We try to provide a high service from our rooms to our staff. I will pass the comments onto the housekeeping manager. We thank you for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Coolangatta hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay