We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Hotel website
99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    154
    89
    25
    16
See reviews for
125
127
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff really friendly and helpful, pool very good for kids with supervised water slides, spa nice & hot and kids allowed to go in, nice gym and sauna and the kids also loved the games room. Good location for fast food & restaurants, beach is just across a not very busy road and great for long walks/cycling along the beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Calypso. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us . We are glad you found the location of our resort to be close to all you need and you enjoyed the pool and garden area. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a room that looked out over the rear street but it was more than OK. Pool area is very well set up and rooms are basic but it was clean and a good size. But beware, we booked and paid through Wotif and so they took a $150 security from our credit card. When checking out we were advised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Calypso Plaza after your recent stay with us. I am sorry the staff were unable to answer your queries regarding the $150.00 frozen bond I will speak to all front office staff involved to ensure they are aware of the Resorts practices. I hope that you will come and stay with us again in... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a 2 bedroom executive suite from wotif 6 months ago for this hotel. Was very disappointed in room quality as it was clearly not a 'executive' suite with my plastic chairs on the veranda, dirty walls, broken blinds and crumbled lamps. Furniture is very outdated. Location and view however is beautiful and the staff are friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear that your stay with us recently was disappointing, If you would like to call me at any time I would like to discuss the problems that occurred during your time with us, it is not Oaks Policy or Procedures to have our guests leave in an unhappy manner. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We found the rooms well set up & clean, with great views of the pool & beach - even saw a whale breaching! Our only complaint would be that there could be more crockery in the kitchen. Was a great weekend, beds & bathrooms & facilities were comfortable & clean. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review our Resort . It is always nice to receive guest feedback, staff and management would like to thank you for staying with us at Calypso Plaza Resort and hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there on a Friday and Saturday night. The room was on the first floor facing Griffith Street. The room was a one bedroom self contained unit. It was basic, small and very clean. The beach was straight across the road on Marine Parade. The hotel is very handy and easy walking to all amenities, shops and restaurants. The television... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future where I am sure you will have an enjoyable stay with us once again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Horrible, uncomfortable beds. Ugly dated brown decor. Mouldy shower. Very noisy and the walls are so thin we could hear the people next door and everyone that walked past in the hallway. Had a unit with views of the back street which was noisy from street noise and a very ordinary view. The units on the beach side overlook the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to hear that your stay with us at Calypso Plaza Resort was far from enjoyable. I would be happy to discuss your recent stay with you , please feel free to contact me direct as it is not Oaks policy's or procedures to have any of our guests leave our Resort unhappy. More 

Travelers are raving about these Coolangatta hotels

Aspendale, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a wonderful week with my mother. The pool and spa are fantastic and really made our holiday. Our room was comfortable and the location being across the road from the beach was perfect. We will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Management and staff were happy to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us recently, as mentioned all shops and facilities are within walking distance of our Resort. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and I am sure you will once again have a pleasant experience. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort is right on the Qld/N.S.W boarder. You walk to loads of shops, restaurants, the beaches, take a stroll along the Strand. The self contained accommodations themselves are clean and pretty much cover all you need. With a hot spa, pool and a gym you can relax where it's quiet. Staff are very helpful and parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Calypso Plaza on Trip Advisor it was good news to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that you will come and stay in the near future where I am sure you will once again have a pleasurable stay . More 

Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Stayed here for the Cooly Rocks On Festival 2015 for a week. Calypso is so close to everything and a short walk away from all the major events. Room was spacious and as always, clean. Staff were friendly from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. Would stay again instead of staying at Kirra and driving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the coolie rocks festival and the small break at Calypso Plaza Resort. Yes we are central to all the major events, also close to the shops, restaurants. We would love to welcome you back in the near future where I am sure you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.8 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
5.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#8 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Plaza Resort
Ocean Plaza Resort
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay