We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay

190 Marine Parade | Rainbow Bay, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Columbia Beachfront Apartments)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We loved our apartment on 13th floor. Tastefully decorated with everything to make for a comfortable stay. The only thing I could suggest is a couple of beach chairs and an umbrella to use at the beautiful beach opposite. An easy 10 minute walk to cafes and shops, we enjoyed going out every day and the surf club with $10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear Harper02 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Such great information to pass on to prospective travelers. With equipment hire, we do have a large number of beach chairs, boogie boards and beach toys available either for hire or free of charge (depending on item) so feel free to let us know next time you book... More

Brisbane
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the "penthouse" of this apartment and upon arrival were shocked with the state of it all. This should not be called a penthouse. The electrical work in ALL rooms were faulty. Power points weren't working, lights weren't working etc. The maintenance on this place was evidently very minimal. The sliding door locks were faulty, the rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear Cnc07 I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay and apologise that your stay did not meet your expectation I am not too sure why you may be referring to it as a Penthouse as we have never advertised it as such. Power points issue was solved by resetting the safety switch. The vacuum was... More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family just recently returned from a great week staying at Columbia apartments. The location is great, the onsite management unassuming and not nosey (which is nice and makes for a change) and the apartment was well equipped and very comfortable. We will definitely return in the future. P.S This is a great location for small children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear GeoffT Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Coming from Brisbane, you are certainly spoiled for choice of accommodation on the Gold Coast and we are pleased you chose to stay here. Its such a great area for kids with the Bay itself, heated pool and the pathway across the road with users usually travelling at... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed over Christmas and loved every minute of our stay. We booked a 2br apartment on 12th floor and had spectacular views and a great balcony to sit and admire the view.The apartments are directly across the road from the beach so great access with children , Rainbow Bay is a beautiful beach for all age children and Greenmount... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear JRob3 Thank you for taking the time to post the review. Very pleased that you had a memorable time. People from the West dont often get a chance to hear about our little pocket of the world. The Gold Coast is much more than just Surfers Paradise, so your review described Rainbow Bay perfectly! Thanks again Stacey Family More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Thanks for a great stay. Layed back managers with a positive attitude.We booked a 2 bedroom two level ground floor apartment. The unit was straight opposite the pool. We had views from even the ground floor. 100 metres from the beach, I mean the surf. Free boogie boards for the kids( one of the boogie boards in the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca K Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The surf club is very convenient. Monday & Tuesdays are $10 Roast nights and many locals take advantage of the deal so it is good to book ahead (which we can do for you). We have plenty of boogie boards & beach toys for the kids so... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The best location at the southern (and best) end of the Gold Coast. Its definitely worth checking out the available apartments, we had photos emailed so we could choose. And you get what you pay for. The older apartments are priced lower but we chose a recently refurbished apartment and were not disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear Deborah2727 Thank you for your great review. We have to agree with you, we do think that this end of Gold Coast is the best. We are very fortunate to have Rainbow Bay as our home. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. Best regards Stacey Family More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We have hit the jackpot discovering the best location on the Gold Coast! Spacious apartment, fabulous views from all windows. I have loved watching the waves roll and roll the longest ride into shore and world-class surfing. The pool is heated to 28 degrees so was pleasant to swim in mid-winter. What I loved about our apartment, 36 on 12th... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear Harper02 Thank you for posting your lovely review. The indepth info that you have included will help others decide if this is the place for their special family holiday. We agree that Rainbow Bay is an amazing location - we love it here and glad you do too. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you on... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is absolutely unbeatable, and the managers are probably the friendliest and most generous I have ever come across. Whilst the rooms are a little dated, you just have to step out onto the balcony to remind yourself that you are not there for the decor of the rooms. Really great value for money considering the apartments are literally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear Bradhay99 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Sounds like you are a first time visitor to Rainbow Bay and have been one over by all it has to offer. It is as you described it and we are glad that you enjoyed the surrounds and facilities of Columbia Apartments Best Regards Stacey Family More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Was very excited to be staying in the penthouse of the Columbia apartments in beautiful rainbow bay. However my excitement soon turned to utter disappointment from the moment I walked in. It was the worst apartment I have ever stayed in and I think the owners should be ashamed that they actually rent it out. Apart from being totally unrenovated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Dear BronnyDean Thank you for your review. Negative reviews are disappointing and we never shy away from criticism. I would like to balance out the review with information you did not disclose. As conveyed to you (at the time of your stay) we are also disappointed that your stay fell below expectations. I am surprised that you do not mention... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you want to take a trip to the Gold Coast with young children you just can't go past Coolangatta and Rainbow Bay. The beach here is great, there are loads of playgrounds set up all along the water front and everywhere you look are families with little kids. No seedy nightclub scene here. There are a number of surf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Rainbow Bay has so much to offer for families who enjoy the peace & quiet. I have to agree with you, the Northerly winds you describe were particularly horrendous last year – the locals still talk about them. Reviews such as these help other people choose the option that is best for them so I... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay

Address: 190 Marine Parade | Rainbow Bay, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Columbia Beachfront Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay