We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nirvana By The Sea

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Douglas St | Kirra QLD, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nirvana By The Sea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nirvana By The Sea
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
44
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a sub penthouse as I wanted a luxury stay with our own private pool and BBQ area. We stayed in 1503, smelt of moth balls, had to spray air freshener twice a day and woke with a headache everyday. 1503 needs a make over, bed head falling apart, verandah roof needs repainting, floor rug extremely dirty! Pool and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve S, Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful location. Regards the items you mentioned, my apologies regards the odour, we checked the owner lock off areas and indeed there were moth balls, we were unaware of this until you raised the issue and have now removed them. The pool furniture... More 

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bed on the 8th floor and the views are great- east facing. Sparkling clean- watch out for all the window glass in the bathroom as it is so clean you may not notice it's there! Shops across the road are handy ( but a little dingy) and great restaurants/juice bars/cheap pubs in a short walk.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a such a lovely review. We are please you enjoyed your stay at Nirvana and Kirra Beach. Its a shame you missed out on using the theatre the kids would have loved it. We look forward to to seeing you on your return trip. More 

Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 5 nights with our 2 children under 3 in March in a 2 bedroom apartment on level 11. The apartment was spacious and clean with secure parking underneath. All staff were friendly and the facilities were top notch. The location is fabulous right across from a park and the beach. Plenty of restsurants, cafes and takeaways within easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Anna. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. There is certainly plenty to keep a young family occupied here at Nirvana and Kirra. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit. More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having a girls week away, and we picked the best place to stay on the GC! Had a great time in a two bed sub penthouse with pool on 15th floor and it was worth every cent. Extremely clean and very comfortable, with a view you can't beat! Thanks to all staff for giving us a week to remember, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

We're pleased all the girls had a great time Gaye. We look forward to your return next year. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love staying at Nirvana, the apartments are always clean, bright and inviting. We have stayed on the 12th and 2nd floor previously. Both apartments were 2 bed 2 baths but the level 2 apartment had the plunge pool. I prefer staying on the 12th floor and losing the pool just for the amazing view! I personally think Kirra is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review and we agree Kirra is the best spot to stay on the coast. You have had two wonderful experiences staying in an apartment with pool and apartment higher in the building. To experience both the spectacular views and also the benefit of your own private pool our 2 bedroom penthouse are the apartments you... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Nirvana by the Sea for two nights recently. Overall I was happy with the apartment. It had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, and a nice view of the ocean. I felt the room looked a little tired. Maybe it needed a fresh coat of paint and some new carpet. Unfortunately the couch in the living room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review and pleased you enjoy your stay with us. We thank you for bringing the unpleasant smell of the lounge to our attention. We have organised for this and the carpet to be cleaned. We do hope you will return to us in the future for your... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only had two nights here after a week in Coffs but wish we had of cut off Coffs trip short and stayed here longer. The room was gorgeous, great light, modern furniture, lovely view of Kirra beach and wasn't overly expensive. Guaranteed to be one of the nicest if not THE nicest hotel I've stayed in on the coast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Nirvana is certainly a beautiful place to be. Please give us a call when you are ready to return, we look forward to seeing you then. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This place is divine. We stayed here for 5 nights in April 2014 in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was perfect for a family of 4. New, modern and kids loved having their own room with a tv in it. The kitchen is top notch, as it the whole apartment. Clean and the view from the balcony is amazing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you in 2015! More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Three word that I would like to descript: excellent, perfect, wonderful. Stay here for only 4 night, and don't feel like checking out. This is the place that I am looking for. Clean, spacious, beautiful, great environment and friendly staff. Fantastic sea view and great location. Very comfortable bed and well equipped kitchen. I like the secured carpark with allocated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in the 3 bedroom sky room, and the apartment was fantastic value for money given the location, views and size of the rooms. Apartment was clean and well appointed, with amazing views across the beach. Pool on level 2 was adequate. Only issue is that you need to pay for wi-fi, which at most places is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Nirvana By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. The 3 bedroom skyhomes have the most amazing views of the coast. We would like to let you know that we will be providing free wifi in two months time when our current contract expires. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (100)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question