We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   146 Marine Parade, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Komune Resort to your Saves list
Komune Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
75%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Matt C Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (114)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    16
    9
    12
See reviews for
19
25
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best Resort I have ever been to. The service at the beach club was astounding and service was always fast! Food was extremely nice and prices are perfect. Thank you Agus, Dewa and the rest of the Komune crew!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed has a great ocean views from the living room and from the room. The staff were friendly, the room clean and comfortable. Another plus was ample car parking in front of the hotel. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Komune Coolangatta is a great beachfront place to stay. Stay are friendly, the rooms are clean and well priced and it's party party over the weekends. If you don't want party noise ask for room 44. The food is really good too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
perth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm surprised at some of these negative reviews! I came to stay with a bunch of friends and we had a great time. Komune is conveniently located in Coolangatta - beautiful views, good surf and great places to eat and party if thats your thing. Personally I felt amenities and standard of room was a reflection of the price and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Macquarie
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed elsewhere in coolangatta for the same price but with much better room facilities. Very disappointing. *No cupboards or bench space in room, *nowhere to hang clothing, *no air con, *bad tv reception, *no wifi in room, *were given a voucher for the restaurant but the restaurant was not opening the days we were staying and the voucher expired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
komuneresort, Owner at Komune Resort, responded to this review

Hi Cuddlepuddle, Firstly thank you for staying with us at Hotel Komune on the Gold Coast. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You stayed in our most basic hotel suite at $99 per night. We welcome your comments and will try in the next week or two to make some modifications to these rooms... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome location, well appointed rooms, nice views from the balcony pretty much everything you could want as a visiting surfer. its not 5 star luxury but for the price I think its the best value for money on the strip. We'll be back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is very overpriced for the quality of the rooms! We booked 2 two bedroom apartments for only one night(thank goodness no longer) the young lady on reception was barely friendly but we appreciated her dropping the room rate as she knew we had no chance of a refund and were catching an early flight next morning. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
komuneresort, Owner at Komune Resort, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, Thank you firstly for staying with us at Komune Gold Coast. We are truly sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations but thank you for your kind words about our great views and location. Debbie your family and your friends booked 2 x 2 beachfront bedroom units side by side on level 5 for a... More

Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently had a 2 night stay at this hostel/hotel with different slant on life! Arrival was seemless, check-in efficient and well before the 2pm (we were in our 8th floor apartment by 12.30). Parking was secure and under cover and the reception staff were friendly. The room itself was a bit aged, even though it had, apparently, been recently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Only 5 mins from the airport and literally 2 mins to the beautiful Coolangatta beach. There is public bus (number 700) every 15 mins heading towards Surfers Paradise but the journey is a little bit long, took more than one hour to reach. There is free basic breakfast for backpackers only. Wifi is said to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We loved our stay here so much that we made sure we returned for our last stay in Aus before returning to the UK! Kommune is in a perfect location in the heart of Coolangatta just a stones throw from the beautiful beach. Couldn't fault the bedrooms. We went for the 4 bed dorm and was by far the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Komune Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Komune Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komune Resort

Address: 146 Marine Parade, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Komune Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Komune Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komune Hotel Coolangatta

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
2:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Coolangatta with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Komune Resort – Australia’s No.1 Ocean Front Resort and Beach Club. Overlooking the world famous "Superbank" surf break at Coolangatta, Komune is the new entertainment and accommodation hub for surfers and travellers who thrive on the beach lifestyle. Enjoy the magical location, exotic design, great beats and a friendly community spirited atmosphere. Komune is dedicated to connecting adventurous, fun-loving, environmentally conscious travellers who share a passion for surf and beach culture. Komune is a Mecca for surfers and ocean lovers, located in what is the most prized position on the entire eastern seaboard with views over Greenmount, Kirra, the Tweed Boat Harbour and back to Surfers Paradise. There is a variety of stylish accommodation to suit all budgets. Komune has been designed to include all the features of a beach lovers resort, but also to be a sanctuary for rest and social activity. KOMUNE BEACH CLUB: Komune Beach Club is designed as your all day place to hang, re-charge and charge! Kick back & listen to tunes, trawl the net, check the waves and mix good times with good people. Unlike most hotels, on weekends you'll find a vibrant scene in our Beach Club with local and international DJ sets and some delicious live acts and poolside sunset sessions. Our fully licensed public Beach Club hosts regular DJ sets, fashion parades and live entertainment and may at times not be suitable for families with young children or "fuddy duddys." Sit back with the latest movies and sporting action on the pool deck with personal noise cancelling headsets, or go for highest score on the beach club’s classic arcade machine. Fresh, local, organic produce is used for a simple, but world class menu including pizzas and salads to ensure that all tastes and budgets are catered for. Those with a thirst can get quenched with a cold beer or sublime cocktail at the bar. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Komune Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer