We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rainbow Bay Resort

265 Boundary Street, Rainbow Bay, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rainbow Bay Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed the first week of the July school holidays - there is a major building project directly in front of units - this was not disclosed on the website. We had major noise 6 days of the 7 we stayed. Also nightly rate was reduced on the website but management would not honour it (even with the noise disruption)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Date of trip was actually August 2012. Rainbow Bay Resort is an excellent location for a family surf trip. Walking distance to amazing surf spots. Awesome accommodation and top notch customer service. Managers, Ron & Marilyn Fairbanks made our family feel at home. Roomy 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom rental with full kitchen and balcony w/ beautiful view of Rainbow Bay,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We stayed as a family using 5 apartments recently. Accommodation was clean, beautifully furnished and spacious. My only concern was we didn't feel it was family friendly and were made to feel very uncomfortable by untrue accusations. Unfortunately these accusations were made very publicly by the staff and no apoligies were offered. We will be looking elsewhere next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RainbowBay, Manager at Rainbow Bay Resort, responded to this review

We apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred during your stay with us. The majority of our guests are families or families and friends taking holidays together. We welcome families however out of respect for other guests we do not allow parties that continue till 4 am. More 

Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

A short walk to the beach, close surf clubs/ clubs with fantastic food, I love this place every time I go to Coolangatta I will stay there and the view is amazing. I come up here cause of the amazing service and the lovely view

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RainbowBay, Manager at Rainbow Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to having you to stay in the near future. More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Stayed here for 1 week with a friend in 2 bedroom apartment. Was very modern, clean and spacious. Very well equipped with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Lovely large balcony accessed from bedroom and lounge. Good location with sea views walking distance to beach, bars and shops. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good value for money would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RainbowBay, Manager at Rainbow Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in this part of the world. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Quick drive to/from the airport. Greeted on arrival - staff was a little rude. Very outdated room. Lovely views, though. Sadly, no air conditioning which was a major issue in November, as it was extremely hot. Shower would stay very hot for at least two minutes, then go completely cold with barely any pressure. Beds were not comfortable. Specifically ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RainbowBay, Manager at Rainbow Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We always try to fufill our guests requests. All 2 bedroom apartments have air conditioning. The Resort is within 200 metres of shops, cafes and Services Clubs. Any maintenance issues in your apartment would be dealt with immediately upon notification. We believe our apartments are of a high standard and... More 

Beenleigh, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I recently took my children and we loved it. From the 2 bed room apartment to the pool, everything was accessible. Greg and Felicity were approachable, friendly and they cared that we were happy. Tweed and Coolangatta are one of our favourite places to holiday, now we have found the Rainbow Bay resort, we will be back. Small things like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RainbowBay, Manager at Rainbow Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with the girls. We try hard to keep both the Apartments and Resort facilities immaculate and it is nice to feel appreciated. See you again soon. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I wanted to love this accommodation as the location is fantastic and I enjoyed an amazing holiday with family BUT the AC and cleanliness left me feeling mislead... - 2 hour timer switch for air con, seriously? It was over 30 degrees with high humidity, if a room say air conditioning I expect air con not having to get up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RainbowBay, Manager at Rainbow Bay Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. The air conditioner is on a 2 hour timer to conserve energy when guests are not in their rooms. However we are looking at extending the 2 hour period. The drain problem we thought was fixed prior to your arrival however it took another service to fully fix the problem. We... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

we stayed at four different locations around Brisbane/Coolangatta/Tweed and found this place the best by far. It's not beachfront but has many other benefits, spotliss, decent pool, spa, quiet rooms for a good night sleep, bbq area, and fantastic available managers. Spacious and secure parking was important for us so this was great. The locailty is great for getting around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RainbowBay, Manager at Rainbow Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write. We enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Greg and Felicity take good care of the place. We had unit 10 which was great as it had a good view of the surf. Pools lovely and bbq area nice and clean. I would definitely return. Good times. The only annoying thing was feeling guilty about getting in the lift after swimming. Really, you want to get nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
1.3 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#8 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#9 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Plaza Resort
Ocean Plaza Resort
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay