We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Plaza Resort

Certificate of Excellence
80 Marine Parade, Coolangatta, Queensland 4225, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Plaza Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ocean Plaza Resort
Add Photo

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    59
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
58
55
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So many things to say about this hotel... First of all I never write reviews ever but I would hate for someone trying to enjoy themselves to come and have the experience I did. Every person I spoke to that were employees were rude from the second we walked in to the second we left. They charged me $40 over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lilem711 Unknown Location:? I would normally respond and thank you for your review; but unfortunately I am slightly confused upon reading your review and left wondering about the points raised within the review? Particularly with concern to the mention of what appears to be the property procedures etc’. I am left feeling a little unsure if you have in... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in Early May for the start of our 5 week Queensland adventure. We were greeted by friendly staff who allowed us to check in immediately. We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of room we had in this apartment and on the 16th floor had a fantastic view. The décor was good, the location was great and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

KerryLP21_12 Adelaide Hi Kerry, glad to hear that you had a ‘Cool Time in Cooly’ and in particular enjoyed both your stay with us here at Ocean Plaza Resort and our facilities. And ‘WOW’ a 5 week adventure in Queensland, beautiful, what a great opportunity, and hope that you enjoy the remainder of your trip. Thank you for your review... More 

Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had not stayed at Ocean Plaza before as we had not stayed in Colangatta on previous holidays. We asked for an apartment up high for the view - we were pleasantly surprised when we got there to find they had upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment on the 8th floor. On the northern side. It was a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Deirdre P Townsville. Aust We are delighted that you chose to stay with us here at Ocean Plaza Resort. Plus also thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found your apartment to be perfect and the location ideal for your needs. We agree that with the adjacent ‘Strand; shopping precinct being accessible direct from the resort and giving access to... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a 3 night stay on the 16th floor 2 bedroom apartment. This resort is in a great location as we didn't need to drive anywhere. The lift comes out inside the shopping centre, with woolworths and aldi right at hand. Walks along the beach were great with kids playing along the way. The room was clean and tidy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Adam P Brisbane. Aust ‘Great Hotel, Great Location’’ Thanks Adam, what a Great Review. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Yes we may be a little ‘Bias’ but we also think that the location and facilities are great. Especially now that they have upgraded the ‘Strand’ Shopping centre. Great to hear that the kids also had... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

The apartment was perfect for us, very spacious, amazing ocean views and clean and tidy and a 2 minute walk to the beach. However, our only bad comment is the bathroom could've done with a little more attention to detail in the cleaning department, but overall an excellent place to stay. Loved the supermarket being so close and eateries only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

NZShopper 55 New Plymouth, NZ ‘’An Awesome Stay’’ Wow! What a great review, thank you for posting your review. Plus it was our pleasure to be your hosts for your recent Gold Coast stay. Pleased to hear that you also enjoyed our location and took advantage of the complimentary Wi-Fi access available to guests within the lobby area. Plus your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We have stayed at the Ocean Plaza many times over the past 15 years and have previously found the Hotel to be first class. We haven't been for a couple of years and this visit was very disappointing. We booked a single room for two nights and were given a two bedroom unit. Both our ensuite and the second bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

RobbyT19 Melbourne, Australia Thank you for both the review and your patronage over the past 15 years, this has been much appreciated. Regrettably it appears that on this occasion we have not met your personal expectations and for this we sincerely apologise. I believe that there may also be some confusion in relation to the Housekeeping service? As we present... More 

North Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

First class facilities, friendly staff, free wifi in foyer, next to full service shopping centre, foxtel in room, tennis courts, gym. I have stayed at a number of apartments in the Gold coast area and Ocean Plaza is the best in terms of facilities and price. others are mostly more expensive and don't better what ocean plaza offers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

28 Milford North Sydney, Australia ‘Highly recommended on all scores’ Thank you for a wonderful review and your comments on our resort, facilities and the location of the property. All points are a definite ‘Plus’ for our guests, whether they may be travelling for either Business or Pleasure. Particularly now with the adjoining Strand Shopping Centre renovations completed and the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

I love these older self-catering apartments because I like convenience and friendly staff. Other people might think differently and prefer something more modern but I feel like I am coming home every time I visit. The view from all is very good but some have superb views. If you want the latest mod cons ask first so you get one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Claire C Sydney Australia Dear Claire, Thank you for taking the time to place your review of your recent stay with us here at Ocean Plaza Resort - Coolangatta. It is always great to receive feedback from our guests and we value all comments received in relation to their 'Guest Experience'' and hope that they will return again. We look... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

The staff are so friendly and helpful. Gorgeous view to the beach and our apartment was spacious and had all the amenities that your need. Had a great pool with a spa and very clean. A level from the apartments takes you thru to the shopping Centre where there is a Woolworth and Aldi to purchase food otherwise there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Nicky 085 Melbourne, Australia Dear Nicky, Thank you for a wonderful review, plus your comments in relation to the ‘Friendly’ staff were also appreciated and have been duly relayed to the team. I’m sure that they will be delighted to receive such positive feedback on your experiences. Glad that you also found the facilities, apartment to your liking. Plus thank... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Really impressed by beautiful views of the coastline from our 21st floor. Unit was well presented but the main bed was too hard for our liking. Staff friendly and we received a drink voucher each to use at Surf Club which is just down the street .Woolies and Aldi's shopping on ground floor with many other shops such as chemist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Noellejr, Thank you, we agree with you about the fantastic view from the resort apartments. But I guess we could also be a little bias, as we also love working in such a beautiful location. Glad that you enjoyed the Surf Club Vouchers and also took advantage of our location, visiting both the adjoining Shopping Centre (The Strand) and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay