We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club

Certificate of Excellence
cnr of Banks & Corrimal St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    43
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
48
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Challenging, accuracy you must have . Water water water. Ocean view room is a must. Appartment style is divine. It's a winner and a great all round performer. Try the bisto fresh and exciting.octopus salad was amasing fresh and generous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment which gave us a choice of beds and bathrooms. Consequently we had lots of room to move. The bed was very comfortable, the room was nice and warm (it was cold outside), and the bathroom was well ventilated. There was a large balcony with a nice view to the mountains but no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Convenient for a walk along the beaches and harbour. We didn't eat at the club but the nearby Thai restaurant is excellent. The bed and rooms were very comfortable and there was no street noise at night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Oceanview rooms are very nice with a small kitchen, however, no toaster in ours. The club downstairs is very convenient with good meals. There is no secure parking. If you come for the footy it is not a good idea to take your car out of the car park in the afternoon as you might not get back in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A night away with a great room, seperate lounge/kitchen and huge balcony. Clean, comfortable will definitely return. Also a great restaurant/brasserie with excellent food selection . Watch the waves crash on the beach and the golfers teeing off you'll never want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WollongongGolfClub, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, responded to this review

Hello Naomi K, We are very pleased that you had a great stay with us. We hope you will return on your next trip to Wollongong. Thank you for the great review. Kind Regards, Lynn Costlow Accommodation Manager More 

Lithgow, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

good location,basic room but was clean with a comfortable bed,could not recommend the foreshore restaurant or the bar within the club,staff rude and slow,meal was overcooked and very ordinary,lots of restaurants and cafes nearby to choose from.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WollongongGolfClub, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, responded to this review

Good Morning kimF7904SN, Thank you for your recent review. We value any feedback received and appreciate that you have taken the time to provide this. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy the Restaurant or Bar area of the club. I have passed this feedback on the staff and they have taken measures to ensure this situation is... More 

Canberra - Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A quick one night stay for a family event in Wollongong was made very easy as the hotel was within easy walking distance of local restaurants. It is also very close to WIN Stadium and other pubs, beach and of course the Wollongong Golf Club. The hotel is situated above the golf club that served a quality breakfast which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WollongongGolfClub, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, responded to this review

Hello steve_fossil, We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the very positive review. Kind Regards, Lynn Costlow Accommodation Manager More 

Cowcowing Western Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

My only complaint about my stay was that I arrived after sunset and had to leave before sunrise and couldn't take advantage of the great view over the golf course to the ocean. Had a few troubles with the TV on my arrival but the staff were fantastic and ended up swapping it with another TV when I was down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WollongongGolfClub, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Eliot J, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, all feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope you can return and see the amazing view of the Golf Course, beach and ocean, I am sure you would enjoy this. We hope to see you in the Wollongong area in the future. Kind Regards, Lynn Costlow Accommodation... More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Perfect room, location and value for money. I would definitely recommend this motel for a family stay. We used the restaurant inside the golf club downstairs but there is a Thai restaurant just down the road called Jasimine Rice that I would highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WollongongGolfClub, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, responded to this review

Hello kaye g200, Thank you for your recent review. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Lynn Costlow. Accommodation Manager. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

No TV in bedroom was disappointing,no chairs or table on balcony, terrible shower had no water pressure, bed was comfy,room was clean, great location,bit overpriced.club staff are not in a hurry to serve you,the girl at the check in desk was hard to understand as her English was very bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WollongongGolfClub, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club, responded to this review

Good Morning lisdale, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We are currently looking at some upgrade improvements for the apartments. We hope that if you return to the area in the future, you will come and see how things have changed. I have spoke to the staff in regards to there service... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#9 of 16 in Wollongong
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wollongong Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay