We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sovereign Inn Wollongong

111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Dont waste your money. This is a old motel, in need of maintenance and serious updating. You cannot open the single window and room is dark. The shower needed a thorough clean with bleach. Bed sagged which resulted in little sleep over two nights. Might suit a couple on a budget or a group looking for cheap digs but at... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJL L
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were driving through Wollongong from Coffs Harbour back home to Melbourne and stopped off at Sovereign Inn for the night. It was reasonably priced. Hotel was neat and tidy. Was greeted by a lovely gentleman who was very helpful. It's not a new hotel but very comfortable. Kids enjoyed sleeping on the bunk beds. Parking was available at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our managers pride themselves on always providing friendly helpful service and clean, comfortable accommodation. Our guests also enjoy the reasonable price of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you pass through Wollongong. More 

Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Staff friendly, clean, but needs a major update. We had a room with double bed and a single. Very pokey and small for 3 adults.D/B had a broken slat underneath it, not that comfy. TV set up too high on the wall, Shower good but mould in the shower recess. Bathroom and mini kitchen and wardrobe in a very small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have taken your comments into consideration. Would you mind contacting the motel about your review as we don't have any slats under our beds, they are all ensembles so would like to check which room you stayed in. More 

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We arrived late from Sydney Airport to check in. Asked the managers for somewhere to have a bite to eat. We were offered some cheese and crackers with their complements. We would like to thank them very much again and had a great nights sleep. Rooms clean, bed comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Colin T
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our managers always take pride in going the extra mile to ensure your stay with us is pleasant and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Wollongong. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

A very old motel in style & build. The rooms are extremely basic with paper thin walls. The air conditioner in our room sounded like a tractor. Not much more to say other than the whole site is probably due for re-development. Not worthy of a star rating in this day-and-age.

Helpful?
Thank silverstreak78
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been taken into consideration. We are an older style building however we do provide clean, comfortable accommodation at an affordable price and our managers always provide friendly, helpful service to our guests. More 

Ourimbah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Doug & Verna were just gorgeous, they couldn't be more helpful. I loved that it was all one level, just like the motels I stayed in as a kid. Not too far out from the city which I like. We had a front facing the highway room which meant you could hear traffic noise in the morning, but I am... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary19620527
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our managers, Verna & Doug go out of their way to provide great service, wonderful home style cooking & clean, comfortable accommodation for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Wollongong More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Old style motel , well over due for a makeover. No complaints with cleanliness or management - Wollongong was all booked and this was all that was available. Whilst the rooms are non smoking , the room still have that ingrained stench of old cigarette smoke. The motel is based on a main road , the brick fence does little... More 

Helpful?
Thank 5Aussie
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The motel is an older building and we do our best to make sure our rooms are clean and fresh smelling. Our managers take pride in providing clean, comfortable accommodation and friendly, helpful service. More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Cool reception. No information regarding food, room service and not offered a breakfast menu for the morning. Extremely bad lighting for an evening arrival. Room outdated and dowdy. Air-con, although looked fairly new was extremely noisy and had to be turned off although a freezing cold night. Curtains did not close properly so had to climb on bed to re-arrange... More 

Helpful?
Thank surlamer_10
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

We appreciate your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and are working to address your concerns as our aim is to give our guests a quality experience while staying with us. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

After staying in equivalent types of accommodation on a recent road trip I would not recommend or choose to stay here again. The room was small and desperately in need of a refit, on entry to the room the scent of the room deodoriser was overwhelming, most likely to cover the underlying used stale smell. The bathroom also doubled as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our Wi-Fi is password is changed regularly and is available at Reception on check-in. Our apologies for the fridge not being turned on. As you say this is an older style motel. Clean and comfortable, with plenty of parking. Our apologies if this did not suit you requirements. More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Great place to stay, there is a choice of levels from basic to higher standard. The rooms we had were very clean, reasonably basic, queen bed in 1 room twin beds in the other with an interconnecting door. The beds were comfortable, there was extra blankets and pillows in the cupboard if needed. Really great shower with lots of hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine V
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and you comments about our friendly helpful managers. Verna does provide wonderful meals for our guests and we're glad you enjoyed your lamb shanks. We look forward to seeing you next year. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
2.7 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 16 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.5 mi away
Marketview
Marketview
#8 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 16 in Wollongong
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay