We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sovereign Inn Wollongong

111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

It is not too far away from CBD and closed to Nan Tien Temple. It is quiet place to stay especially if you travel as couple or family. Room is well maintained, at least it is clean and the bed is comfortable. For the price that I was paying, it's worth it! Things that I would strongly suggest for improvement... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are ideally situated for all that Wollongong has to offer at an affordable price. More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed here 1 night during the weekend. Even though it is right on the Princess highway it's quiet at night and it's got all the facilities you expect from a motel. It comes up in the search results for Wollongong but it's actually in Figtree, a 5 to 8 minutes drive away from the city centre. Good option when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are ideally situated for all that Wollongong has to offer at an affordable price. Look forward to welcoming you back More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

Stayed on December 12 for two nights. Great location for my needs. Rooms are old and need renovation but are clean and have new beds. Rooms in back are best with views of lovely landscape area. Food was good for breakfast. New managers Doug and Verne made the stay more enjoyable with their helpful attitudes. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Doug & Verna our wonderful hosts and we are receiving many compliments about them. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the busy Christmas holidays, check in and check out was a breeze and the staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating. Although an older style of accommodation everything was very clean and grounds well kept. We got great sleep as it was nice and quite! Great locations! Walking distance from parks and shops and only a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are ideally located from the beaches and city but away from the hustle and bustle. Look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We had an overnight stay at this Inn. It does need an upgrade, especially the bathroom. The tiling is so old it looks disgusting, some bathroom mats would have made a difference. When I tried to connect to the internet using the password provided it said 'no internet connection', but what annoyed me the most was that when I made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Can you please contact us as we are confused as to your payment concerns. A number of booking engines do require payment by credit card when booking, some do not. The ones that say payment can be made on arrival - then we do require payment by credit card or cash on arrival. We would... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

To be honest, this motel exceed my expectation!.. We were there for a birthday party on Sat and couldn't book our usual hotel plus most of accommodation in the area are fully booked. My partner and I were skeptical as we both read other reviews. We both were surprised with the room (we booked a queen room at the back).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Completely agree that we are an older style motel but comfort and cleanliness are most import in the eyes of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd or 4th stay at the Sovereign Inn in Figtree, for business, and I always stay a week, sometimes 2 weeks at a time. The location is perfect being only a short walk up to the corner to the Figtree Hotel, and adjacent food shops. It's convenient being on the Princes Highway for access in any direction.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will shortly be reopening again for dinner 5 nights a week and look forward to welcoming you back More 

Goulburn, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Looking forward to a weekend away, we booked this hotel. Walking into our room was disappointing. Whilst clean and tidy, the room was very old fashioned and small. Paper thin walls ensured that we were wide awake and knowing our next door neighbours business very early! The toilet is jammed into a corner of the bathroom with no leg room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The motel is an older style motel, built when the rooms were smaller than those of a later period. Free wi-fi is a standard in all our our motels. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Good location if you are driving from Melbourne like we did. Front desk are friendly and helpful and rooms are clean. Keep in mind it is a budget hotel so don't expect anything else. Downside for us was that our non-smoking room had a stale smell of smoke from the walls and we had to put a blanket over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovating the rooms and will have a look at the shower head position as that is definitely too low!! More 

Goulburn, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Booked this twin accommodation by phone as we were visiting my Mum in Figtree Private Hospital. My friend had spent 6 hours travelling by coach to get here. We paid on arrival and also got two meals to be sent to the room. I mentioned I was going to get some food for my dogs and feed them while Tina... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As with the majority of motels, we do not allow dogs on site (except for Service Dogs) as it does disturb other guests . After you checked in you then mentioned that you had 7 dogs in your van. After parking the van across the road - right next to a neighbours bedroom window, the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sovereign Inn Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Inn Wollongong

Address: 111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sovereign Inn Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolongong

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay