We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sovereign Inn Wollongong

111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

To be honest, this motel exceed my expectation!.. We were there for a birthday party on Sat and couldn't book our usual hotel plus most of accommodation in the area are fully booked. My partner and I were skeptical as we both read other reviews. We both were surprised with the room (we booked a queen room at the back).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Completely agree that we are an older style motel but comfort and cleanliness are most import in the eyes of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd or 4th stay at the Sovereign Inn in Figtree, for business, and I always stay a week, sometimes 2 weeks at a time. The location is perfect being only a short walk up to the corner to the Figtree Hotel, and adjacent food shops. It's convenient being on the Princes Highway for access in any direction.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will shortly be reopening again for dinner 5 nights a week and look forward to welcoming you back More 

Goulburn, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Looking forward to a weekend away, we booked this hotel. Walking into our room was disappointing. Whilst clean and tidy, the room was very old fashioned and small. Paper thin walls ensured that we were wide awake and knowing our next door neighbours business very early! The toilet is jammed into a corner of the bathroom with no leg room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The motel is an older style motel, built when the rooms were smaller than those of a later period. Free wi-fi is a standard in all our our motels. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Good location if you are driving from Melbourne like we did. Front desk are friendly and helpful and rooms are clean. Keep in mind it is a budget hotel so don't expect anything else. Downside for us was that our non-smoking room had a stale smell of smoke from the walls and we had to put a blanket over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovating the rooms and will have a look at the shower head position as that is definitely too low!! More 

Goulburn, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Booked this twin accommodation by phone as we were visiting my Mum in Figtree Private Hospital. My friend had spent 6 hours travelling by coach to get here. We paid on arrival and also got two meals to be sent to the room. I mentioned I was going to get some food for my dogs and feed them while Tina... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As with the majority of motels, we do not allow dogs on site (except for Service Dogs) as it does disturb other guests . After you checked in you then mentioned that you had 7 dogs in your van. After parking the van across the road - right next to a neighbours bedroom window, the... More 

NSW, Aus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First of all non of the places in this area are good value for money they are all overpriced due to a shortage of accommodation meaning places can charge what they like. That being said this was one of the only places available with a family room when we needed to book unless we wanted 5* It's an old building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. This an older style motel, however, we do take pride in the fact that it is clean, comfortable and larger rooms - as you mentioned. We do have a number of workers stay with us and I am disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by their talking outside in the evening. If this occurs... More 

Tinamba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our room was clean and bathroom appeared to have been updated but facilities are old with small rooms and thin walls. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, location is a bit out of the way and had some difficulty with access to busy road at front. Wifi was free and breakfast very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are 8 minutes to Wollongong CBD, Port Kembla and the beaches / attractions. Ideally located for all corporate travellers and those they may need to attend the various hospitals in Wollongong. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

charlotte2571
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Booked two nights stayed only one. The person at reception treated me like a number no personal service. The room was small it smelled and it was run down. The walls are paper thin. We could here the TV in the next room all night . It was that bad we checked out and stayed somewhere else. I would never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Bathroom horrible and smelly. Room was clean but smelled like old cigarettes. Stay there if your desperate or with a group of blokes and dont really care about where you sleep. Easy to get into town, bus stops out the front if you dont have a car, so it aint all bad

Was this review helpful? Yes
Temora, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We had to stay in the Wollongong area for a night and this was one of the few motels available. We could only get a twin room which was unfortunate because the beds were very small. There was no central light in the room which also smelt musty. On the positive side, we were towards the rear of the motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sovereign Inn Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Inn Wollongong

Address: 111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sovereign Inn Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolongong

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay