We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Wollongong hotels

Chifley Wollongong

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 - 62 Harbour Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splash & Crash Package
Save Saved
You added Chifley Wollongong to your Saves list
Chifley Wollongong
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Nari_Makena Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
29
102
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in an executive suite with balcony for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights in Wollongong. Room and bathroom good size and staff were friendly. Food was ok but starting to go cold when it was delivered to our room. The Only disappointment is the King Bed that is 2 beds pushed together, hate that! nevertheless hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Nari_Makena, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. It was pleasure to welcome you to the Chifley Wollongong and great to read that you had an enjoyable stay. I was particularly delighted to hear that our team were helpful and friendly as we strive to provide all our guest with great service. Should... More

Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Slow lifts (only 2) , slow check in . Also not impressed by $15.00 parking charge. But on the positive side, good size room and bathroom, nice big balcony. The location is good, and if you come here for the football, it"s right next door. Nice area with golf course and walk ways all very close as well as club... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear MrDigby100, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. It was pleasure to welcome you to the Chifley Wollongong and great to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Should you travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again. Warm... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here over a weekend. This hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and across the road from WIN Stadium and entertainment centre. Rooms are modern and staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended and will look forward to returning. Thanks Chifley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Chad S, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a nice stay with us. Please do let me know when you plan on returning to Wollongong and I will be delighted to assist you with your booking. Warm regards, Adrian Teh General Manager Chifley Wollongong More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had stayed here previously on three occassions and had joined their rewards club scheme. This time the room was not the same as before and the balcony was filthy. They moved us to another suitable room but the balcony was also filthy with an empty beer bottle there and what looked like vomit on the screen, right at eye... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Dennis B, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. My sincere apologies for not providing you with an enjoyable stay. Rest assured our housekeeping services are consistently maintained and monitored to offer our guest with an outstanding experience. I am confident that this was an isolated incident nevertheless, I have communicated your feedback... More

Mollymook, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We bought a voucher for 3 nights at the Chifley at a discounted price. When making the booking, I called the hotel and quoted the voucher number and was sent an invoice with the balance owing after paying our deposit. When we arrived at the hotel, the girl at reception insisted that she sight the original voucher. I had unfortunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear newautumn, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Trip Advisor. Naturally I was extremely disappointed to learn about your unsatisfactory experience upon check in at the hotel and I do empathise with you and your husband. We do value constructive feedback from all avenues and I have personally addressed your comments with the front... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We checked in late in the evening and were running late for dinner. The lady that checked us in was utterly incompetent and lacked a basic personality. She shouldn't be working in hospitality. She asked me to fill out a form with all my personal details and I said I've already provided all if them when making the booking she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear sydjetsetter86, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Trip Advisor. I do sincerely apologise for not delivering the level of service Chifley Hotels are renowned for, to you on your recent check in at the Hotel. We do value your constructive feedback as it allows us to improve the service which we deliver to... More

sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have stayed at The Chifley on many occasions, this time is was for a St George game and family day weekend, great location, close to the game, close to the club and great eating places.The views are amazing and the beach close by. The room I was in was clean, large and comfortable the staff are excellent. I must... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear sydneygee, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Chifley. Our close proximity to WIN Entertainment Centre is certainly an asset when staying with us, being so close to Wollongong’s great beaches and walk ways. We appreciate you sharing your experience and are delighted you enjoyed the weekend experience at the... More

UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in 2 hotels during our trip and I have over 10 years of travel experience under my belt. Those reading this review should note that I am not one to usually complain and have stayed in everything from 5 star to the dogiest of hostels. I also used to be a Wollongong local. The service at the Chifley... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear KirstyZee, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We apologise for failing to provide you with a fully enjoyable and memorable experience. We do value your construcitve feedback as it allows us to improve the service which we deliver to our most discerning guests. Once again, thank you and... More

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Only stayed here as everything else was booked so expensive 1 night stay. Hotel looked ok at the start and checking and parking efficient. Room was ok until you looked closely, Balcony was very dirty with lots of black marks ( last nights party /ash - need a mop and scrub. Bathroom was large but weird with only power point... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WOLMGR, General Manager at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Peter M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We apologise for failing to provide you with a fully enjoyable and memorable experience. We do value your construcitve feedback as it allows us to improve the service which we deliver to our most discerning guests. Once again, thank you... More

Been to Chifley Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Wollongong

Address: 60 - 62 Harbour Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Wollongong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Wollongong is a new, ultra-modern hotel located 1½ hour drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong’s foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Chifley Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chifley Wollongong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.