We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chifley Wollongong

60 - 62 Harbour Street | Wollongong, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chifley Wollongong
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chifley Wollongong
Chifley Wollongong
Chifley Wollongong
Share an Experience

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    283
    116
    41
    32
See reviews for
125
294
22
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (705)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (237)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (250)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We have family and friends in the area and stay often with them. However we wanted a little break in a hotel on our so we booked a last minute hotel. We were told the Chifley was one of the better hotels as there isn't much choice in Wollongong anyway. It was great, the service was impeccable and we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for a conference. The entire facility seems rather strange - large, high-ceiling rooms with minimal artwork, very uninviting. No free internet, no wifi on upper floors. Beds and bathrooms were fine. No view from the rooms, other than at the nearby apartments. Breakfast was reasonable, standard full australian breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penrith, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent service and very happy with everything. Only thing I could pick at was the key card kept stuffing up which was a little inconvenient and the buffet food was a bit cold but that's just being very picky but staff quickly helped with the key and the food was delicious. The beds where extremely comfortable and the rooms are... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Kelly R, Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Chifley Wollongong. We are pleased that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Sales Manager More 

Jerrabomberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nothing remarkable about this hotel. Staff were pleasant enough, Room was OK though marred by a dirty bathroom floor and grimy grout around shower. And no vanity, a ledge for toiletries just isn't adequate. If I were visiting Wollongong again I wouldn't necessarily go back there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Tracy B, Tthank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to the Chifley Wollongong. We pride ourselves on our service and the quality of housekeeping so it is disappointing to hear of the issues in the bathroom. This will be discussed with housekeeping and raised with Senior Management. We do hope you return and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel because we were going to a concert at the "Win entertainment Centre". I found the hotel a great location and quiet and peaceful. The bed was very comfortable a ten out of ten, I liked everything about the room. Hopefully will return in the future. My only complaint is there were long blonde hairs on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Rockgoddess, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to the Chifley Wollongong. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We pride ourselves on our service and the quality of housekeeping so both these issues will with raised with our management team for review & action. We look... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall good except on Sunday morning there was vomit in the hall which someone had covered with a towel and was still there 3 hours later despite cleaners being on the floor! Would have been it was cleaned up

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Andrea R, We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to post a review. We will certainly investigate this occurrence with our Housekeeping department and bring it the attention of our General Manager. We hope to welcome you back t the hotel soon. Kind regards, Sales Manager. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is new and clean. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The check-out assistant had a mix up with our master account, however this was eventually sorted after about 10 minutes. Staff friendly and only a short walk to town. Food was delicious. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Laura C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the Chifley Wollongong. We do pride ourselves on our service and quality of cleanliness. I am pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Sales Manager. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The shower in our room was the worst shower I have ever used. offering your guests a trickle of water to shower with is disgusting. This was the first time I have actually felt angry after using a shower. A decent bed (no problems with bed) and shower are the top 2 essential things most people expect from a hotel.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Simone R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Chifley Wollongong. May I offer my apologies that our showers did not meet your expectations and I have shared your comments with our senior management for their review and consideration. Thank you again for providing this feedback. Kind Regards, Sales Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As my son requires the use of a wheelchair, accessible hotels are imperative. We found all areas accessible....although didn't try the pool.....that looked like it may be a little difficult. Lovely room.......clean & tidy. Staff very friendly & accommodating.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer M, Thank you for your review of the Chifley Wollongong. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel met your requirements for movements with a wheelchair. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Sales Manager More 

Picton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed here because of proximity to Entertainment Centre. The only issue I had was actually getting to the hotel by car - all the one way streets & not great signposting, but we eventually made it. Will definitely stay here again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Director of Sales at Chifley Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Chifley Wollongong. I am pleased that you found your way to the hotel, and have rated us highly. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chifley soon. Kind regards, Sales Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question