We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra Wollongong

Hotel deals
Hotel website
6-10 Gladstone Avenue, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Special Offer
Stay and Save
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mantra Wollongong
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the dirtiest room I have ever stayed in. Looked like there had been a party in there with bad result - including ripped curtains and no vacuum in quite a while. Even one of the "clean" pillowslips was dirty.

Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
Adaminaby, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cant say enough good things about this Mote. We arrived in pouring rain for a show that night. We found we had been upgraded to a full suite two beds two bathroom apartment.My wife had had knee surgery a month before and was still very sore, so the extra bed was great. Had the best nights sleep because we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick M
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are overjoyed that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. You were a pleasure to have staying with us and we look forward to accomodating you again in the future. If you still required the extra space for you and your wife please do... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently booked two apartments at the Mantra. Both were very unclean. Even after requesting a thorough service they remained uncleaned for 3 days. Elevator not great so mantra suggests you use the stairs - they too are filthy. We are going back to Wollongong in April and will be staying at Adina. Perth WA

Helpful?
Thank sertoriotrips
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. We do value all of the feedback both positive and negative. I have noted your comment about the room be uncleaned for your stay and I will be ensuring that the Executive Housekeeper understands your frustration. The lift it a bit harder to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Mantra Wollongong apartments are spacious and reasonably comfortable. It is over looking woolongong train station and industrial estate with distinct ocean views . The apartments is in need to an overhaul as they are showing sign of aging and ware. The curtins in our appartment were moldy and ripped. only one lift to serve 6 floors and 2 car... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fady M
Jason P, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We do take all of the feedback very seriously both positive and negative. I am sorry to hear about the noise you experienced during the storm and we will be sure to look into a way to secure the windows so this is... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a family visit recently. The 2 bedroom apartment was large and had everything we needed. I was disappointed with the level of cleanliness. There was a potted plant on the balcony (overlooking rooftops of adjoining buildings) that obviously hadn't seen attention for a very long time as all that was left was big weeds. The chairs in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank anne_qld
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We do take all of the feedback very seriously both positive and negative. It was disappointing to read of your experience with us and in regards to the cleanliness and I will be bringing this to the attention of the executive housekeeper as... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Like most Mantras it was highly functional. I am always disappointed with the condition of the new buildings. Seems having cracks in the walls, poorly sealed doors and peeling architraves are part of the style guide. That said, it's not expensive, in a good location for us and has a great shower. First world problems.

Helpful?
Thank HughfromAU
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on the experiece at the Mantra Wollongong. I have noted your comments in regards to the "style" and please rest assure that I am using your comments to help me address your concerns. I have taken your comments to the relevant area. I am glad that we are in a... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed a couple of nights between Xmas and New Year. Peak season pricing meant the room was quite high. The room itself was clean on arrival, spacious and had a big bathroom, living area and kitchen with fridge/cooking facilities. Parking was provided free onsite, but on one occasion I went out only to come back and find all spaces were... More 

Helpful?
Thank natdeegs22
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. We do appreciate all the comments left about the hotel. Thank you for informing us about the appliances that were not working. They have been replaced. We appreciate guests informing us if there is an issue so that we can have it replaced.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed as a family of 4 for 1 night over the Christmas break. The apartment was large, spacious and staff were lovely. Free secured parking is also always a bonus. However there were some issues with the furnishings in the apartment which need to be fixed! Like another reviewer mentioned the curtains wouldn't cover the entire windows in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ning Z
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us of your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our feedback very seriously. In regards to the furnishings I thank you for the comments and I have teken these to a higher level. In regards to the wardrobe my sncerest apologies. I have informed the maintenance team... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we initially walked into the reception lobby, I thought that everything was going to be great - it looked clean, spacious and pleasant - but I was SO wrong. After getting the "key", I parked the car in the basement, and it was then that we were confronted with sacks full of what I assumed was dirty linen stacked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mezzma M
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the comments in regards to your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. I have noted all your comments and will be launching a thorough investigation on what went wrong on that day. I thank you for your comments. Regards More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

No safe available in rooms and was told to put the "do not disturb" sign on the door instead (I'm not sure I've ever stayed in a hotel which doesn't have a safe in the room). Also, our room was east facing and the black out curtains didn't cover the width of the window which means we were woken every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Umbrella_abroad
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We do read and take seriously all the comments that are made by our guests both positive and negative. I have taken your comments about the safes and curtains to our owners and we are hoping that this capex will be addressed in the near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 16 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#7 of 16 in Wollongong
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay