We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra Wollongong

4.5 of 5 6-10 Gladstone Avenue, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mantra Wollongong
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra Wollongong
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visit Wollongong on a regular basis and often stay with family. Around Christmas, however, we need our own space, as we are there for longer and so we have tried various apartments around town. This year we stayed at the Mantra for seven nights in a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom superior apartment located on the third floor. We booked a “School’s... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night with a friend, location great, 5 min walk to Shops and restaurants. Our apartment was brilliant, very clean and had everything we needed. Wi fi was not very good but that did not bother us. All in all would recommend the Mantra Wollongong to anyone needing accommodation in Wollongong .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was lovely. But unfortunately my room was not cleaned properly. The floor was dirty and the leather lounge had something sticky on it. Then there was blood (not mine) all over the pillow case on the double bed. Contacted reception and they apoligised and brought me a new pillow, however I was just disgusted and wanted to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The mantra in Wollongong gave great value for money and I would recommend and stay again The two bedroom family room was spacious clean and well laid out Breakfast was served in a small room but was well presented with plenty of choice and the staff were very accommodating if a little under pressure I work in the industry and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lismore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed here in a 2 bedroom, 2nd floor apartment for 2 nights. The room was very clean and tidy and there was enough space for our family (young children under 5). The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming - even at 3am when we checked out! Undercover secure parking was great. Was close to some shops, train station,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After staying at several other Mantra hotels, we assumed the same standard here. We paid more than $300 for one night in an ocean view room (which shoud have said direct views of the train station, with the luxury of a close up view of the car park) we were then disgusted by the gigantic rip in the couch, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 6 days over Xmas 2014 in a 2nd floor 2 bedroom apartment. This was our 7th visit, but only the first since Mantra took over. The noise level was appalling - we ended up getting ear plugs and even then we were woken many times. Even the WIFI is now charged at $15. This were not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed recently for a few nights. The air conditioner wouldn't work and the heat was stifling. We told reception and and they passed it onto houskeeping but it wasn't fixed. ended up getting 2 hours sleep. They are suppose to have a strict "no party policy" so why was there music coming from a room on the top level until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Mantra Wollongong mid Dec with a group of friends in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment itself was very spacious, modern and clean. However the location of the hotel meant that at night it was VERY noisy. We were on the second floor and could hear everything from the street. It was very good value for money,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graeme C, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Alan0056, Thank you for your review of Mantra Wollongong. I am pleased to hear that for the most part you were pleased with your apartment. I am dissapointed to hear that on the occassion of your stay you were subject to street noise, I assure you this is not a regular occurance, however, please do let me know when... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am native to Wollongong and visit regularly, over Christmas we decided to pay for accommodation. I was a little concerned as the area is notorious for being a little crumby and sleazy. The area is fine and you can take a 2 second drive to the main centre and the beach. I will list the pros and cons: Pros... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graeme C, Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Dear Sam274 Thank you for your review of Mantra Wollongong. I am pleased to hear that for the most part of yous stay with us you were happy with your apartment. Please let me apologise that our housekeeping standards were not up to our high standard on this occassion and that your requests weren't met promptly. We are currently reviewing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mantra Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wollongong

Address: 6-10 Gladstone Avenue, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Wollongong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay