We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra Wollongong

6-10 Gladstone Avenue, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mantra Wollongong
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    31
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
15
27
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great self contained apartment. Friendly staff and centrally located to train station , shops and many restaurants. Rooms are modern and have everything you need. Only one lift, which was ok, but might get busy around check out time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow. I am shocked and stunned that you can charge over $400 a night for the most disgusting dirty horrible rooms. I'd rather sleep in my car than on your pathetic single beds with stained sheets that don't fit. I'm so angry. How dare you advertise as a 4 star. I would expect these prices at the Hyatt. Your hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. We do take all of our feedback seriously as we are always trying to improve. I was disappointed to read of your experience here. Pricing is set by the market unfortunately. If you are able to book well in advance you will find... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived late evening and was pleasantly surprises by the receptions attitude and client service. Rooms are really well appointed and large. Mini bar very reasonable, tea and coffee all as you would expect. Beds are very comfortable and large with great selection of pillows.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our feedback very seriously. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its offerings. I will be passing your comments on to our staff as well, as they always enjoy reading about our guests... More 

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

This is located, near city centre, a stone throw away from hospital. Rooms were very nice, but starting to look tired, also let down by staff not communicating wifi access to me, then wanting to charge $5 dollars a night, then changing their mind. Also front desk doesn't open until 7am.......They have a 25 dollar buffet breakfast, which is over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us of your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our feedback very seriously both positive and negative. I was very happy to read that our location was able to meet your expectations. We are close to town, and the hospital is only a small walk from the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

My partner and I stayed overnight at the Mantra. We booked a one bdrm apartment with a balcony. The weather was bad so we didn't really utilize the balcony but would've otherwise. The apartment is spacious, all the amenities were clean and of a decent quality. The water and pressure of the shower was hot and the towels are king... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us of your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our guest feedback very seriously both positive and negative. I was very happy to read that we were able to provide a great experiece for you. We are close to town and I would have to agree with... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Having been a season business traveller, the Manta is good value to stay at. There is always "free" under cover car parks, Breakfast is sufficient. Free wifi and good size rooms. There could be a larger selection in the mini bar and Foxtel would be nice... but again...You pay for what you get. recommend... A+

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us of your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. We do take all of our guest feedback very seriously both positive and negative. I was very happy to read that we were able to provide you with everything that was required during your stay. My sincerest apologies about the Foxtel when... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The Mantra Wollongong was used as a one night stay in Wollongong to attend a show. The facility is very clean and suited our requirements. It is probably better suited to a business person rather than holiday makers as it is near the city and conveniently opposite Wollongong railway station. It supplies a cooked buffet breakfast and "collect and cook"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our guest feedback very seriously both positive and negative. I was very happy to read of your experience here and was very happy that we were able to provide you with everything that you needed while staying here. I hope... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Paid $240 a night for 4 nights for an ocean view 1 bedroom apartment and defintely was not worth it. Room was unclean with tardy carpet and distressed furnitutre. See attached photos. Room was on the top floor and everytime lift stopped and started it sounded in the room and was really annoying. Bathroom toilet seat was half off and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our guest feedback very seriously both positive and negative. I was very disappointed to read about the cleanliness of your room and will be taking this up with the Executive Housekeeper so that she can ensure that the... More 

Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Had the unfortunate reason to spend many hours at Wollongong hospital a short easy walk from this fabulous facility. A one bedroom apartment was excellent. Warm, spacious, clean, free parking. More than friendly staff, had to extend our stay , no problem. Will certainly be back if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your stay at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our feedback very seriously both positive and negative. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and its proximity to the hospital. I will definately pass on your comments to the team. I am sorry that you had to... More 

Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We stayed here in January 2015 with 2 kids. Liked the car park (a bit narrow but okay), the reception - but that's where things are excellent. The room was fine and roomy - however the sofa needed replacement, leather was worn out and things like the bedroom TV had a universal remote with flat batteries ($2 shop thankyou). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason P, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us of your experience at the Mantra Wollongong. We take all of our feedback very seriously, both positive and negative. Since your stay there have been quite a few updates to the hotel. We have replaced all of the couches that were in the hotel rooms. They are all brand... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#7 of 16 in Wollongong
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay