We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Wollongong B&Bs / inns

Normandie Motel

30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Normandie Motel to your Saves list
Normandie Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
43%
Ranked #8 of 13 Wollongong B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Helene S Belmont, Australia
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
4
13
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Whilst the room was a small double, it was certainly suitable for me. It was clean and tidy. My only complaint was that the motel information book stated that there was a clock radio and an iron but there was neither. However, my main complaint would be that I couldn't watch the tv as the reception was so bad -... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a clean and nice motel. But unfortunately a little over priced. Unfortunately it had flooded so it smelt damp. There was no explanation from staff regarding this. Privacy was lacking in the bathroom with no curtain so window must be closed at all times which made it a very hot steamroom with no fan for ventilation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, In Destination Wollongong our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area, and we feel that we offer good value, but your case we failed to meet your expectations. Yes we had major flooding, due to excess rainfall. We have had a builder look at were the water came in and looking at... More

Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Beautifully located a short walk to Wollongong North Beach, parklands and walk ways. Hosts are friendly helpful and obliging. Our room was small but met our needs for quiet and a late check out. Hosts advise they are always booked out on Saturday but I would suggest early reservation at any time would be best. Affordable modest motel accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are happy that you enjoyed being here. Hope that you were comfortable in the small room that you booked. All the rooms are different sizes and configurations, as it is not a usual style building. We always like to have feedback Kind regards Beydon More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Attended function nearby so was good in that regard. The place is pretty average and would not stay more than a night. Things going for it, its close to the beach, a short walk. Has car parking for guests which is free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. Sorry that we did not meet up with your expectations, We are in the process of renovating on a timely basis. It is an old building unfortunately does not appeal to some peoples requirements. Kind regards Beydon More

Gold coast
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We recently booked about 12. rooms to attend a wedding. The accomodation was horrific. The carpet threadbare, peeling paint. It is a shame the money they spent on the TV wasn'tl put to other uses.The staff fairly ordinary. To say the accommodation price is in line with similar accommodation in the area is incorrect. We enquired afterwards and found far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lithgow, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 1 night in a Family Room. It is the most out dated room I have ever stayed in. The décor in the room was really old fashioned & in desperate need of updating and renovation. Paint was peeling from the ceilings in the bathroom along with a cracked shower screen & other marks on walls.The bed & the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
normandiemotel, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

We acknowledge that it is an ongoing issue, and may take time to resolve, there are rooms that are in need of renovation. It is an old building built in 1946. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards as it is not usual that, a fridge would be not plugged in nor the bedside clock not be plugged... More

Mildura
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel seemed to compare with others price-wise - we paid $149 for a queen room (i.e. a queen bed) on a Saturday night. Room was a little small, but clean and comfortable with a bathroom, and on the quiet side of the hotel (i.e. not on Bourke St), had an amazing night's sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
normandiemotel, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. . People that come here have their favorite rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Beydon More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

You get what you pay for at this location. The good - very good price for a room in Wollongong, friendly and helpful operators, the location close to the beach and onsite parking The bad - very dated rooms in a serious need of an update. Clunky old furniture in the rooms and hard old beds, chipped paint and old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. In the short time that we have been we have been able to improve some of the facilities and keep it affordable for visitors. The rooms are in need of renovation but that issue may take time to resolve. Sorry that it was not up to your expectations. Kind regards Beydon More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Dark, dated, dinghy. Uncomfortable double bed. Paint peeling in sheets off the ceiling and cornice, chipped paint on the wardrobe, brown plastic light switch shedding its white paint 'makeover'. Tap that dripped no matter what, shower door that would not close. Very noisy bathroom fan. Thin, tired looking green towels, dinghy decor in the room. dirty and threadbare carpet in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We acknowledge, that an upgrade is needed an ongoing issue that may take time to resolve. We do not know if you did come to our restaurant. We hope you still enjoyed your stay. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel we offer... More

Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Family stayed here for a concert. The motel is a lot older than it looks in the pictures - I think showing pics at night makes it a bit deceptive. Lady at front desk was nice, the room was quite old and small for a family room. Really needs updating. The street noise was terrible, I had a great deal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

We sincerely regret the disturbance. Our location close to the beach and easy access the the City,can mean extra street activity on weekends. as much as we try to contain it. Renovation is an issue with the age of the building , it may take time to resolve. Sorry you have left wth a negative impression of our motel. Kind... More

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B and TripOnline SA so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandie Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.