We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Wollongong B&Bs / inns

Normandie Motel

30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Normandie Motel to your Saves list
Normandie Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #6 of 13 Wollongong B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nathan T
  • Overview
  • Reviews (42)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
5
16
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, great parking, was very quiet during our stay. The staff were great, you can definitely tell its a family run business and the place felt very homely to us for the duration of our stay. Close to the beach, plenty of restaurants and cafes within walking distance while not far at all from the CBD. On site parking... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was not impressed at all with this venue. Cost $135 per night. Cold warter Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate you telling us the problem you had, we have had no issues in the past with the room you stayed in. If you advised us that the bed was too firm for you. We may have been able to resolve with an alternate room. Unfortunately, our Restaurant is... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Normandie is ideally located close to North Beach and a short walk to the city centre. The double room was clean and adequately equipped, the bed comfortable. Parking was easy. Our short stay was hassle free.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Wollongong and that we were close to the places that you wanted to go to. Always Welcome Kind regards Beydon. More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location and service !!! Walking distance to the Beach and Cafes, Restaurants and Take Away spots. Quiet room and very good service. People at reception always kind and ready to help. Taxi rank is across the road.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you too for mentioning the area. Wollongong has a lot to offer with different activities and things to see, as well as our beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back . Kind regards Beydon More

Narrabeen, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Is looking a bit jaded. Lucky I didn't take a cat, cos I couldn't have swung it anyway in the tiny, tiny room. Pretty noisy from adjacent rooms and corridor, seems like the walls were made of paper, Agree with comment about hot water - I was about to call reception (which wasn't open anyway) about no hot water when... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are a small boutique motel. You chose the small double bedroom, which we advertise as small. There are bigger rooms, all have different configurations. We do not allow cooking in the rooms for safety. Should you have needed a Microwave we would have been happy to have heated food up for... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Bed was comfortable, hotel was not noisy despite Saturday night, adequate parking, large bathroom, friendly service at front desk. Walking distance to North Wollongong beach and restaurants/coffee shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay . Kind regards Beydon More

Lithgow, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a terrible experience in a noisy, dirty and foul smelling room. Even after advising management of the room's condition, their defence was "it's our most popular room" and "this is the room you booked" I booked a room based on a web site description which certainly didn't reflect what was provided. No clean towels provided on second night, diabolical... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing Normandie . Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, as you were aware ,we could not upgrade your room as we were booked out. I understand you perceived the room to be different. It is advertised as Front facing under family room 1 queen bed. I don''t know any other way to describe it. Our... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We booked to stay here over a long weekend. When we arrived we were shocked by the tiny size of the "family" room and the terrible smell in the room. Had to run the shower for 5 minutes just to get it warm. We were lucky enough to secure a room at the Adina apartments and were able to cancel... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our Motel. We appreciate you telling us you had a problem with the room size. We have not had issues in the past regarding this,as we show the rooms as they are,as per photos on our website,displaying different Room types and pricing is comparable with other 3 star motels. We... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Beautiful location. The motel was close to Wollongong North beach and Wollongong Harbour, cafes and restaurants overlooking the beach. The queen size room was a good size for 2 people, quiet, clean and close to all amenities. I loved the shower it was very soothing, extra towels would be helpful, as we had a bath towel and face washer, no... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Glad that it was close to everything for you, We are changing the furnishing and decoration of a room on a timely basis where we can. We have considered the bed toppers that you were wanting, something we may add in the future. It is a personal thing some people like a firm bed. You... More

Belmont, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Whilst the room was a small double, it was certainly suitable for me. It was clean and tidy. My only complaint was that the motel information book stated that there was a clock radio and an iron but there was neither. However, my main complaint would be that I couldn't watch the tv as the reception was so bad -... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. I have checked the room you stayed in, found that the Iron and Ironing board are in the built in cupboard where they are kept. If you had needed we would have gladly shown you where it was. It appears the radio clock has been taken. Thank you for letting... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Normandie Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer