We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normandie Motel

3.0 of 5 30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Normandie Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Normandie Motel
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
7
19
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were tiny, beds were terribly uncomfortable, bathroom was dirty and shower door did not even close, doors were mouldy and cracking, housekeeping were rude, walls were paper thin to the point where we woken up by noisy neighbours having an argument at 2am. Overall it was a terrible experience and I would not reccomend this accommodation to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

We sincerely regret the disturbance. Afterhours contact details are in your infornation book and on the back of every room door. In case of emergency or any disturbance. We we would have resolved the matter if contacted. We have high Cleaning standards and rooms are cleaned daily. Except Rooms that are not vacated by 11.30 are deemed as no service... More 

Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I Stayed at the Normandie Motel on the Sat. 8/11/2014. We went to Wollongong For a dear friends birthday party. We decided to stay overnight to look around a bit afterwards. We found the motel quite relaxing and clean. I knew the building was not new so we were not expecting the Hilton. The bed was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Glad you were comfortable here and enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Beydon More 

Epping, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

The Normandie motel is a good 3 star level accommodation, the staff / owners are really helpful and friendly. I didn't try the restuarant but the soup I had in my room was lovely and home made. The big plus is the fact you can open the windows and get some fresh air into the room - airconditioning was also... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you were comfortable here. We try to make people feel at home when they visit us. Always welcome if you are back our way again. Kind regards Beydon. More 

Helensburgh, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Made booking for Elderly parents to attend grand daughters wedding in Wollongong. Room was so small one person had to sit on the bed while the other got dressed. Bed was so uncomfortable they woke and left at 4 am drove all the way home and had breakfast there. Never again! My apologies Mum.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our motel I am sorry that you had a bad experience. We are in the process of ugrading beds where needed. It was not brought to our attention that your parents were uncomfortable.. With regards to the size of the room, Amongst the choices of rooms available you chose the smallest and lowest priced room that... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The hotel rooms are small, the plumbing is loud, the owners are rude! The walls are paper thin, the corridor echos everything, and I now know more about the strangers in the room next to me than the characters in the movie I was watching! Really appalling at handling complaints, I got told that I had a bad nights sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

We were under the impression we resolved this issue to your satisfaction at the time it was brought to our attention.I am sorry that this is not the case.The rooms are small as per the measurements shown on booking sites.We upgraded your room from a Double to a larger Queen room at no extra cost for the remaining days of... More 

Perth WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This was a last minute booking for myself, daughter and son (both in late 20's) so I was happy to be able to get 2 rooms but not holding out for anything more than average. I was wrong. Even though the Motel is an older styled building, it immediately strikes you as scrupulously clean. Good sized bathroom/toilet combination, the room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. It was a pleasure to read your comments. We do our best to keep people comfortable in their stay. Glad you enjoyed being here, Kind regards Beydon More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It’s an older property, slightly shabby but it was clean, everything worked, quite well located and the staff/ managers I met, were polite. As the name implies, it’s a bit like a French provincial pub, bar, restaurant (that I didn’t get a chance to eat in but looked ok). Pretty charming once. Wollongong doesn’t have any real budget accommodation. Most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Normandie,It is an older style Building Built in 1946. Referbishment is an ongoing problem will take time to resolve..All the staff do make an effort to make people comfortableable here . Hope you enjoyed your stay and got to do and see the things that you wanted to do. Kind regards Beydon. More 

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The photo on the website made the motel appear fresh and vibrant, but that is not what you get once you arrive. The place has the basic amenities, but lacks any charm or character. The room had paint peeling in many places in the bathroom, the shower screen wouldn't close, and there is no exhaust fan and opening the bathroom... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are in the process of renovating.Unfortunately it is an ongoing process that is timely. Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. Perhaps as you say a more expensive accomodation such as a 4 star may be more suitable to impress. Kind regards Beydon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location, great parking, was very quiet during our stay. The staff were great, you can definitely tell its a family run business and the place felt very homely to us for the duration of our stay. Close to the beach, plenty of restaurants and cafes within walking distance while not far at all from the CBD. On site parking... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, We are glad that you enjoyed your time here. I have shared this with our Staff and we all appreciate your comments . It is always good when people let us know that they enjoyed their stay. Kindest regards Beydon More 

Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Was not impressed at all with this venue. Cost $135 per night. Cold warter Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate you telling us the problem you had, we have had no issues in the past with the room you stayed in. If you advised us that the bed was too firm for you. We may have been able to resolve with an alternate room. Unfortunately, our Restaurant is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay