We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Wollongong B&Bs / inns

Normandie Motel

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Normandie Motel to your Saves list
Normandie Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
40%
Ranked #6 of 13 Wollongong B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
6
17
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a last minute booking for myself, daughter and son (both in late 20's) so I was happy to be able to get 2 rooms but not holding out for anything more than average. I was wrong. Even though the Motel is an older styled building, it immediately strikes you as scrupulously clean. Good sized bathroom/toilet combination, the room... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. It was a pleasure to read your comments. We do our best to keep people comfortable in their stay. Glad you enjoyed being here, Kind regards Beydon More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It’s an older property, slightly shabby but it was clean, everything worked, quite well located and the staff/ managers I met, were polite. As the name implies, it’s a bit like a French provincial pub, bar, restaurant (that I didn’t get a chance to eat in but looked ok). Pretty charming once. Wollongong doesn’t have any real budget accommodation. Most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Normandie,It is an older style Building Built in 1946. Referbishment is an ongoing problem will take time to resolve..All the staff do make an effort to make people comfortableable here . Hope you enjoyed your stay and got to do and see the things that you wanted to do. Kind regards Beydon. More

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The photo on the website made the motel appear fresh and vibrant, but that is not what you get once you arrive. The place has the basic amenities, but lacks any charm or character. The room had paint peeling in many places in the bathroom, the shower screen wouldn't close, and there is no exhaust fan and opening the bathroom... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are in the process of renovating.Unfortunately it is an ongoing process that is timely. Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. Perhaps as you say a more expensive accomodation such as a 4 star may be more suitable to impress. Kind regards Beydon. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location, great parking, was very quiet during our stay. The staff were great, you can definitely tell its a family run business and the place felt very homely to us for the duration of our stay. Close to the beach, plenty of restaurants and cafes within walking distance while not far at all from the CBD. On site parking... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, We are glad that you enjoyed your time here. I have shared this with our Staff and we all appreciate your comments . It is always good when people let us know that they enjoyed their stay. Kindest regards Beydon More

Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Was not impressed at all with this venue. Cost $135 per night. Cold warter Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl Unfriendly staff No restuarant open Bed very hard Not againl

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate you telling us the problem you had, we have had no issues in the past with the room you stayed in. If you advised us that the bed was too firm for you. We may have been able to resolve with an alternate room. Unfortunately, our Restaurant is... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Normandie is ideally located close to North Beach and a short walk to the city centre. The double room was clean and adequately equipped, the bed comfortable. Parking was easy. Our short stay was hassle free.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Wollongong and that we were close to the places that you wanted to go to. Always Welcome Kind regards Beydon. More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location and service !!! Walking distance to the Beach and Cafes, Restaurants and Take Away spots. Quiet room and very good service. People at reception always kind and ready to help. Taxi rank is across the road.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you too for mentioning the area. Wollongong has a lot to offer with different activities and things to see, as well as our beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back . Kind regards Beydon More

Narrabeen, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Is looking a bit jaded. Lucky I didn't take a cat, cos I couldn't have swung it anyway in the tiny, tiny room. Pretty noisy from adjacent rooms and corridor, seems like the walls were made of paper, Agree with comment about hot water - I was about to call reception (which wasn't open anyway) about no hot water when... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are a small boutique motel. You chose the small double bedroom, which we advertise as small. There are bigger rooms, all have different configurations. We do not allow cooking in the rooms for safety. Should you have needed a Microwave we would have been happy to have heated food up for... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Bed was comfortable, hotel was not noisy despite Saturday night, adequate parking, large bathroom, friendly service at front desk. Walking distance to North Wollongong beach and restaurants/coffee shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay . Kind regards Beydon More

Lithgow, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a terrible experience in a noisy, dirty and foul smelling room. Even after advising management of the room's condition, their defence was "it's our most popular room" and "this is the room you booked" I booked a room based on a web site description which certainly didn't reflect what was provided. No clean towels provided on second night, diabolical... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing Normandie . Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, as you were aware ,we could not upgrade your room as we were booked out. I understand you perceived the room to be different. It is advertised as Front facing under family room 1 queen bed. I don''t know any other way to describe it. Our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Normandie Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wollongong with
any amenities