We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sanctuary Inn

293 Marius Street, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia
Hotel amenities
BEST WESTERN Sanctuary Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Tamworth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Ellie H Greater Newcastle, Australia
Share an Experience

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    17
    13
    9
See reviews for
16
26
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked two standard rooms.my only complaint was the carpets need a good clean .Your staff are very friendly and helpful a credit to you ...pool was perfect, price was right, would I book again yes for sure,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My room, which by the looks of it had been fairly recently refurbished, could serve as a template for other motels looking to renovate. Although not large, it looked great, with smart, contemporary fittings and a wonderfully comfortable bed. Free wi-fi was occasionally slow but generally worked well. The staff managed to combine country friendliness with city professionalism for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The motel was overpriced for what it offered. The room was dingy, carpet was grotty, bathroom old and had a banging tap. The card key failed twice despite keeping it away from all electronic devices and the staff were not very gracious when asked to fix the cards. Trying to leave the room the door stuck and took several minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Evelyn293, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sanctuary Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry we have disappointed you, and that we did not exceed your expectations, you had chosen to stay in one of our Economy, budget rooms. The Lobby Restaurant is a multi award winning restaurant and is very popular with hotel guests and locals both with table service and cuisine, it is unfortunate that you did not dine with... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel to stay at! Stayed here with a friend while we attended a workshop and could not fault it. Comfortable bed, spacious room, huge bathroom, excellent shower water pressure and temperature, clean and ample power points. When we checked in, the staff member who greeted me was fabulous! She was welcoming, polite and very accommodating - she ensured that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We looked forward to our trip to Tamworth for a special national event and as usual, because of our Best Western membership chose this accommodation from those prebooked by our club. We were invited to dine in the attached restaurant but one look at the prices of the main plate with vegies as an $8.00 side along with the cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

Comfortable bed if you didn't hit the divider of the beds pushed together. Shower hot and clean room. Nice big TV, easy to operate. A bit dark though and the free wi-fi didn't work at all even after numerous attempts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We were given a older room upstairs so we up graded to the ground floor. Room was clean and bed comfortable. They had a very well stocked mini bar and snacks. Hotel had a bar, and restaurant open nightly with a good choice of food options. There was a pool down the back with a spa. Good air con which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nerang, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

A good motel with clean rooms in a good location. The swimming pool was welcome after a long trip. Service was good, Nice, helpfull staff and..... a perfect restaurant. Food was good. Buffet Breakfast made it all complete

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Our room was caught in the 70's time warp so hopefully they are upgrading the rooms as their brochure shows a modern room. Their restaurant was very tastefully appointed but we felt the pricing was quite expensive. Mains were priced around $33- $38 but vegetables and sides needed to be added on and the extras were quite expensive as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Muswellbrook, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Rooms were clean, staff friendly and prices fair. We were a group of family who occupied 7 rooms. One room had a blocked drain that made the room smell but once reported the hotel staff were on to it. We stayed during a heat wave and the cooling system coped very well. Rooms were quiet and beds comfortable, what more... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Evelyn293, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sanctuary Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for positive comments, happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay, hope to see you again in Tamworth. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question