We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashby House Motor Inn

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
83-85 Ebsworth Street, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia
Special Price
AUD10 off room rate
Ashby House Motor Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Tamworth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Stacey A Drouin, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
6
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Drouin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I regularly stay at Ashby House when visiting Tamworth for work and I wouldn't consider going anywhere else. The rooms are great, beds are comfortable and food is fantastic. Great Location to walking tracks and the town centre. Meals are great and service is fantastic, I feel like part of the Ashby House family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this motel with a group of friends for 2 nights & then with my daughter for another. The room was lovely with very comfy beds and great amenities. The wi-fi worked very well as did the TV. I loved the roominess of the fridge/coffee-making area. I just wish they had supplied de-caf coffee. The bathroom needs renovating... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for your generous review As mentioned in an earlier response, your group was a delight to host for the weekend. We were pleased that chatter and laughter filled the restaurant during your sewing sessions. We are pleased you enjoyed the room amenities and had a comfortable nights sleep. The Wifi platform has been overhauled as... More 

Inverell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The service & accommodation at Ashby House is wonderful. The owners & their staff are very friendly with nothing being too much trouble. The rooms and bathrooms have been tastefully redecorated with comfortable beds, modern fittings and lovely soft furnishings. The free Wi-Fi is an added bonus. The meals are lovely with a choice to eat in the dining room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Angela, and thank you for your generous review. We recognise that you have a choice with whom you choose to stay with when you travel for work, and are thrilled that you have chosen to continue to stay with us. Were thrilled that , as one of our regulars, you consider the refurbishment to be a success. We... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is very simple, you can pay a lot more and get a lot less the upgrades have produced a level the you would normally pay much more for the menu should suit most tastes,is great food ,well presented, even if to the rooms, which i find rarely happens elsewhere my first concern is always cleanliness and it is first... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Alan and thank you for your encouraging review. We are thrilled that you regard our tariff as value for money, and agree that it is possible to pay more and get less. We have invested a great deal of time and money into the property since purchasing it 15 months ago. The finished we have chosen are exceptional... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Ashby restaurant. My husband, myself and our 2 year old son went for dinner after finding out that the restaurant was now open to the public. Whoa hasn’t it changed. The restaurant was relaxed - laid back casual dining, we were served the most wonderful meals and the chef was happy to prepare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for your encouraging review. We are really pleased that you, and your family, enjoyed your special night out with us to celebrate your anniversary. Many years ago, the restaurant at Ashby House was a very successful fine dining venue in Tamworth, and many locals still think that that it is still a fine dining venue.... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was one of the group that Marg spoke about and I would also like to say that Kay and Matt did everything possible for us, nothing was too difficult and all with a smile. My room was spotless and very comfortable with all the usual extras. The bathroom is a bit dated but very clean and the shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for your generous review Sharon. Matt and I were thrilled to have Ashby House chosen by your group organiser (Marg) to host the Group last weekend. It was lovely to hear the sound of chatter and laughter coming from the restaurant, and all the ladies in your group were an absolute delight to host. Whilst... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have travelled extensively within Australia and overseas.We have just moved from Melbourne to tamworth & staying at this awesome motel. Our hosts Kay & Matt are so accommodating anything you may need they are more than happy to assist you, As for the rooms ,so very clean and spacious. The Licensed restaurant and their chef are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for your generous review Fran. You have both been a delight to host at our property, and we have thoroughly enjoyed the conversations with you and your husband. Thank you for the great feedback of the rooms, whilst yours had an unrenovated bathroom, all the rooms have been refurbished to the same beautiful standard. New... More 

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Ashby House with a group of friends for a sewing weekend. Kay and Matt bent over backwards for us, making sure we had everything we needed etc. The room I stayed in was lovely - recently refurbished, I think. The bathroom was a little dated but spotlessly clean and fully functional. All the usual amenities - kettle,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Marg K and thank you for your encouraging review. Thank you for choosing Ashby House as the venue for your recent sewing weekend. The lady's, who travelled from all parts of NSW, were a delight to host, and it was great to hear chatting and laughter come from the restaurant area over the weekend (as it is closed... More 

Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel all over the world and live in the USA.I was made welcome and my room was clean and neat .Frsh lining that did not smell of detergent .I loved the room names and i stayed in 108 .I loved the fridge stocked with goodies and even some bigger hotel chains don't even do that .I can certainly Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good morning , and thank you for your generous review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our genuine hospitality. We pride ourselves on endeavouring to make every guests stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back , should you need to visit and stay in Tamworth again. Regards Kay... More 

Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1. We looked online to check prices then phoned to book. Online $129, quoted $143. We asked and they said that $129 was fine. Gave them our card number as we were arriving late and supposed to leave early - invoice left in our room, but they had charged $143. As a result we had to wait the next morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AshbyHouseMotorInn, Owner at Ashby House Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not have a comfortable stay with us on this particular evening. I have not responded earlier to your review, as I wanted to reply in a considered and comprehensive manner, given the extremely disparaging content of your review. Firstly, we want to assure you, and potential guests, that our aim is that each and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay