We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

4.5 of 5
Hotel website
15 Thompsons Rd. (Cnr McDonalds & Thompsons Rd.), Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Wendy T Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    217
    162
    101
    54
See reviews for
161
166
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (650)
  • Mar-May only
    (176)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (190)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a 2 bedroom villa for a getaway for 4 friends. The villa we had was perfect. Each room had 2 single beds and an ensuite. There was also a separate toilet downstairs. Well appointed kitchen, lounge and dining areas too. Beds were comfy and warm. The situation was handy to Hunter a Valley Gardens - shopping, and Se... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice and central location to majority of the hunter vineyards Had a couple of issues getting into our room , once this was sorted out night was wonderful We had an apartment, nice large rooms and a spa, would of been nice if there was room for 2 however was very relaxing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here as four couples for a vineyard lunch date weekend. I am training hard for an event in 8 weeks so I rang about the gym during the week to check what equipment they had. On arrival I was told that I was unable to use the gym as I was staying in a private villa and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reynella South Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A family holiday had us booking a villa for a few days. Outside appearances were impressive, however the interior was tired and neglected. Mismatched utensils, worn furniture and bedding. All in all we had everything we needed and it was functional

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Got away from Sydney with the husband and kids. Enjoyed the stay overall. We decided to make our own breakfast daily as we had a villa with a kitchen, well appointed and had everything we needed to cook with. Dinner in the restaurant was great on Saturday night. Although I forgot to bring my purse but was able to charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Naree T, I am happy to see that you enjoyed your Sydney getaway overall. The two bedroom and three bedroom villas do offer full kitchen facilities with cooking utensils, I am glad that you were able to make use of this. Thank you for the positive comments on our restaurant and staff, I look forward to passing this feed... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for a girls wine tasting weekend. Check in was effortless and reception staff were extremely helpful. The villa had a stunning view of the vineyards and our dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Could not fault the staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear pea2211, I am very glad to see that our reception staff were extremely helpful. A handful of villas in the resort does offer views of the vineyards or the golf course, these can be requested at the time of booking. Thank you for your kind comments on the staff, I will pass this feed back on to the team.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pokolbin is a beautiful part of Australia - rolling hills, wineries, quaint country towns, etc, etc. Within a few hours drive from Sydney it makes for a ideal weekend gateaway. A group of family and friends stayed at this resort for weekend for a wedding. The Hunter is becoming a sort after unique wedding location. Check-in went smoothly. The accommodation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Nick K, Thank you for providing your review and bringing to our attention the missing villa signage. I apologise for the hassle of finding the villa, the maintenance team have been notified to have the villa signage replaced. The resort is currently going through a refurbishment and the villas are on the agenda for an upgrade. We are also... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed and played here for 2 days and nights. We experienced our first major disappointment at check-in. We had booked two 2-bedroom apartments months ago. They ended up being at opposite ends of the complex. Needed to drive between the two or wait for the shuttle bus. Hopeless. Apartments were OK but are showing their age. Took ages to open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Greg H, Glad you were able to stay and play golf at the resort. I apologise that your bookings were not allocated close together; we do try our best to accommodate requests as such however there are times where we have no availability to meet the requests. The resort villas are going through a refurbishment program; we are looking... More 

Redland City, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovedale long lunch winery weekend May 16/17 2015. Huge event for the district. Hunter Valley in recent weeks was impacted by bad weather and is keen to attract tourists back, but this Oaks Resort has failed miserably with its poor management. Great location, but on Sunday when many guests were checking out, the resort did not operate its shuttle service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Holidayqueensue I am sorry to hear you believe our resort is so badly managed. I am confused as to why you believe the shuttle service was not running Sunday. The shuttle service runs daily on the hour, this is also mentioned on the resort information page. Our shuttle log does show a group of 13 being collected with all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pokolbin hotels

qld, australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from staying here for a ladies weekend away. On arrival staff at reception were very helpful and as it was early held onto our shopping and bags but we did have a little hiccup in having them all returned to us. Villas are spacious but need some tlc...grounds were lovely. Very spread out. Breakfast was included ...the normal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Anniepotts66 Nice to hear you ladies managed to have a weekend away. I am glad that the reception staff were helpful upon arrival. The grounds certainly are spread out, we span an area of 500 acres including our golf course. The resort is currently going through a refurbishment program which does include renovating the villas. Your comments on the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities