We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duntryleague Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
Woodward Street, Orange, New South Wales 2800 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Duntryleague Guesthouse
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Duntryleague Guesthouse
Duntryleague Guesthouse
Duntryleague Guesthouse
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    26
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of June. Finding reception was a bit tricky and a simple "reception in golf club foyer" would be helpful. The bar staff let us check in early which was nice! The romantic old house is just beautiful but for one thing- the floors are extremely creaky. It sounded like the people in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed 2 nights at the guesthouse and while the building is very impressive to look at the rooms were a big disappointment. The rooms are very small and it was difficult to move around, in fact I had to turn sideways and squeeze between the wall and the bed to go to sleep. While it is obvious that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Orange hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

no doubt that this is a beautiful house, and our room had a good bed, clean linen and adequate bathroom (although no heating in the bathroom in Orange is a bit tough). But the overall feeling is neglect: the curtains droop on broken clips, the window ledges show rot and flaking paint, and the flatpak excuse for a desk is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Duntryleague is a beautiful heritage building with tons of character. The room we stayed in was large and even though the decor is dated it was very comfortable with a lovely king size bedand beautiful linen. The bathroom was very dated but very clean. Looking at the front of the building the room we stayed in was the room at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dungog, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Only stayed here ones nigt, it that was enough. Really needs to be handed over to a professional hotel operator to relise the potential of this beautiful building. Very outdated bathrooms clearly decorated by a committee, needs lots of money to restore but would be worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orange Golf Clu... D, Manager at Duntryleague Guesthouse, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here at Duntryleague, you have identified a few things in your comment that we are already addressing, refurbishing is one of our main priories and this is obvious in the majority of our rooms. I'm sure if you were to visit again you would be pleasantly surprised. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

As a family we stayed in the Magaret Dalton Lodge which is a 3 Br self contained flat attached to the main house. Decor was a mix of old and new furniture, beds and pillows comfortable. At night the smoke alarms flash very brightly so you would need a sleeping mask, we reported it to reception. Bathroom was adequate but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This was our 3rd choice for a 3 night weekend in Orange as we wanted somewhere nice rather than an average motel room and the recommended hotels were fully booked. We were pleasantly surprised. It had an old world charm and reminded me of an old scottish hotel with its huge dark wooden stair case, stained glass windows, massive doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundanoon, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

A charming old mansion on a beautiful golf course, we stayed for one night and enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we got a good walk up rate which included breakfast. Definitely recommend for those who enjoy old world charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wollombi, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I agree with the other reviewer (geebob1) about the mediocre breakfast. The pipes in the rooms were a bit noisy but that is part and parcel of staying in a old house. The potential of this place as top notch accommodation is amazing. I wish I owned it. But otherwise I really liked it. A good central location and (apart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waratah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Stayed overnight. Met expectation, great dining experience and outlook along with friendly and attentive staff. Good information displayed in reception area on current and upcominng events in Orange and surrounds along with friendly and helpful reception staff. Will stay again. Ray and Pauline

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay