We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Newcastle hotels

The Clarendon Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
The Clarendon Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarendon Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014
Kimbacat1 Queanbeyan, Australia
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    58
    11
    15
    9
See reviews for
13
51
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Clarendon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Queanbeyan, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Booked in for 2 nights. convenient for us to Honeysuckle and port dinner cruise. it is a pub with accommodation. we stayed in room 101 right next to a fire hydrant ---- good water pressure. the pub itself has a good range of boutique beer and live entertainment which last night was good from the beer garden itself and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, the rooms and the venue itself. We also really appreciate your understanding regarding the construction site next door. We are looking forward to its completion which will improve both the view and access to the hotel/car park. Very sorry... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was not fazed by our unannounced arrival. We were offered a lovely room and parking at a very reasonable price. The room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed and great city views. Loved the pressed metal ceiling in the room and the option of breakfast downstairs. We had a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Clarendon Hotel. The hotel certainly does have it’s charm. It was built back in the 1930s and still retains some of it’s Art Deco features. We’re very happy that you enjoyed your time here. Thanks especially for recommending us to others, we hope that everyone else enjoys... More 

Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights mid week and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were the best we have encountered anywhere especially Darren at breakfast and James and Elle at dinner. The room was modernised and contained every thing we needed including iron and ironing board, plus extra touches such as chocolates on the bed, biscuits to have with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We love hearing that we have pleasantly surprised you! The feedback you have given on the restaurant is greatly appreciated. The Courtyard Brasserie is new to the hotel and it is wonderful to hear that they are providing great service to our guests – not to mention delicious food!... More 

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Could not have asked for anything better. The room was 100% clean and comfortable with beautiful finishings. I didn't not expect such high quality when booking here as it is "pub" accommodation. Very well priced and close to everything (transport, beach, Darby street, honeysuckle etc) the best part of our experience was the friendly and helpful staff. They definitely rank... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. We aim to provide exceptional pub style boutique accommodation and are very happy to hear that we did not disappoint. It’s also fantastic to know that you were well looked after by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Newcastle! More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I stayed for a week and overall it was very pleasant.However I do believe that management need to make a decision as to whether they are going to make their hotel a top accommodation hotel or a party hotel for young,noisy revellers in the courtyard.I have managed hotels and I believe the two do not mix,it should be one or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. The party on the evening of your stay was a private function booking. Based on comments from yourself and other guests we have decided not to book any private functions like this in the future. We apologise for any disruption this caused you during your stay. We still host a ticketed... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 via mobile

Folks this is a pub, over the Rd from a relatively busy train line, next door to a 6 day a wk construction project, in an area seemingly a magnet for loud late teen/early 20s idiots who cant hold their drink. If it wasn't for the lovely girl on check in I'd say "terrible", especially on the weekend when an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We are a pub and proud of it. We are pleased to be able to offer our guests 4-star boutique accommodation that far exceeds the standards of regular pub-style accommodation. Our rooms are equipped with ensuites, free wi-fi, LCD televisions, free movies, ipod docks, free tea & coffee, mini-bars, air con, free amenities and... More 

Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I thought this was a good, low rise hotel option in the CBD area. Its on Hunter Street which is a main rd so there is some noise, but nothing to cause concern. There is a pub with restaurant and pokies underneath, access above is by secure lift. I thought it was quite good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience. Our hotel is centrally located on Newcastle’s main street, Hunter St. While we are subject to the usual sounds of the city, our windows are double glazed and that keeps most of the noise out. We’re happy to hear that you were not troubled by noise during your stay in the heart... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my brief stay. Friendly staff, comfortable room, central to everything. My only issue would be the lack of lighting in the rooms. Some of our lights didn't work so we were relying on the desk lamp and wall light in the bedroom. The rooms need at least one ceiling light or a large floor lamp to light them properly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience. Your feedback regarding the lights has been passed on to management who are currently in the process of looking at new lighting options for the rooms. We are pleased that in spite of this issue you were happy with the three things travellers value most when they stay in hotels – great... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The service here was very helpful and the room was very comfortable. The location was perfect for coming in by train. I would have liked a better variety of film channels/ box office and it's a shame that you don't include breakfast or any extra facilities in the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. It’s great that you were pleased with your room & the service you received. Our close proximity to Civic Station is fantastic for guests travelling from Sydney and the Hunter, happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of this convenience. The two free movie channels we... More 

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I think that the room was lovely but to pricey for the room. the lighting was poor and needed a light at the door . It is located close to all areas so you can walk to many places. The staff was lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Clarendon. It’s great to hear that you appreciated our location and the service you received from our staff. Your comments regarding the lighting have been passed on to management as we are currently looking at different lighting options for the hotel rooms. It is a shame that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 347 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay