We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Newcastle hotels

Crowne Plaza Newcastle

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Newcastle to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
258karen Australia
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    198
    71
    17
    10
See reviews for
57
186
31
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (459)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A relaxing stay. Hotel staff were polite and helpful providing directions to local attractions. Rooms are clean and quiet. View of the river from our room was superb. We enjoyed watching the fishing trawlers leave in the evening and the sailing boats during the day. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have traveled a lot and stay mostly in 4 to 5 star hotels ,what impressed us the most was the friendly helpful staff . We had dinner in the restaurant 2 nights and one night room service. the food was perfect and beging coeliac it was good to see the menu had choices or if you wanted something that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In terms of location, service, facilities, price point and general presentation, this hotel is top of my list for regional hotels in Australia right now. I travel a lot for work and use the facilities in-house for training and meetings. At every level the team go out of their way to ensure everything is done exactly right. The location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Rose K - as a seasoned traveller we welcome your feedback. We understand the importance of a hassle free stay when travelling for business, especially when you are the organiser for functions in-house. I am glad that our staff have been able to provide you with the seamless service we strive for! We look forward... More

Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Excellent service. Facilities are top notch. The room was very very nice. The location is geat because it is in walking distance to restaurants in Honeysuckle and Newcastle CBD. I could not fault the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Rodney M, thank you for your review and insightful room tip - the Harborview Suites are certainly the best way to take in the beautiful water views. You certainly made the most of our central location in exploring the Honeysuckle district, but there is always more to see! See concierge during your next stay for more tips on the best... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Crowne Plaza Newcastle is located on the harbour and has views across the working harbour of Newcastle, it's a great location and the rooms are excellent for business or pleasure. Use a gps to get there as there is a number of changes to roads in the area with the redevelopment of the waterfront in Newcastle. The in house... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Charles B, thank you for your review! It certainly sounds like you made the most of our beautiful position on Newcastle harbour, thank you for sharing your experience and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, as you say for business of pleasure! Erin O'Brien Guest Experience Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed Friday to Sunday. No onsite parking and limited on street was the most annoying fact. However staff are very helpful, used the valet service that has very good. Told them when I wanted the car and always had it ready at the door. Little more problem parking/dropping off particularly as only a few spots to park out front. Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

MKozzie, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle! We are glad that your were able to use our hotel Valet Parking Service, this service can ease the frustration when trying to find a park in the Newcastle CBD area. Our Concierge Team work around the clock to ensure your arrival and departure... More

Dubai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just stayed in the hotel in Newcastle for a few days. It was okay and was given a superior room, the view of the harbour was great. Just a few things that I did not like, and that was housekeeping was very standard, and we had a few problems. We only ate once at the hotel and went down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chicko2075, it is wonderful to receive your feedback as it allows us to see what is most important to our guests, and to make sure our standards of service and offerings stay to our high standards. I apologise that the cleanliness of your room was not up to this standard we strive to - if... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good sized rooms. Very quiet. Great view over the water. Excellent quality and service in the restaurant. Very attentive front office staff. Unfortunately there is a but because of inefficient housekeeping. The little pieces of paper in the bedroom and behind the door of the bathroom stayed there during our stay. They didn't even notice that. How do they clean?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We understand the importance of a rejuvenating view and relaxing atmosphere during your stay, and it is wonderful to see that you experienced this during your time with us. I apologise for the issues regarding the cleaning of your room - our hotel has very high standards of cleanliness which in this case were not... More

Berwick, Victoria
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Have been to Newcastle many times but first time at the Crowne Plaza. Very good standard, definitely 4 star. Good sized rooms and amenities, great view over the water. Had a meal in the restaurant and excellent quality and service. Even had my car waiting at checkout at 6 am. Would make this my regular hotel from now on when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

GriffinFamily4, we are so glad that you decided to join us at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. It is always a pleasure hosting guests for their first stay, in the hopes that they will enjoy their experience and we will have their company again in the future! It sounds that we have succeeded in becoming your number one choice in Newcastle. Remember... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My wife and I went there for a night away. This is our 6th time we have stayed there and we have never been disappointed . We have stayed in city view, spa and balcony harbour view and just harbour view rooms. They are all big with a separate bedroom from lounge and kitchenette with plenty of room. Close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

SIMMO940, it is always a pleasure to host you and your wife during your trips to Newcastle! Being such regular guests, you have certainly had the chance to experience every suite style and every aspect of the hotel. It is wonderful to receive a glowing review such as your because it shows that the hotel is consistently upholding the high... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay