We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Newcastle

4.5 of 5 Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    217
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
65
206
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (500)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (151)
All months
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Extremely friendly staff, nice enough rooms with a nice twin Jacuzzi tub. Food quite good at the Sea Salt restaurant. Good location in the centre of the city, however the following nonsense needs to be stamped out: * 1.5% "merchant fee" on CC payments. This type of fee has to be illegal in Australia. Surely?! * AUD$ 7 (SEVEN) for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haslemere
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights at the same time as the Australian & UAE national football teams (ahead of Asian cup semi-final). The hotel was therefore very busy and often surrounded by supporters, making it a little noisy, but nonetheless we had a good stay. It is a nice harbour front location in the Honeysuckle precinct.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Hotel was a good choice. Whether you are looking for a place to stay as a couple or a family, it is perfect! Nice and polite staff, good environment, everything clean and fresh. Gorgeous swim pool area, a delicious spot to refresh your body and get a tan. :P The Hotel also provide free towels and sunblock in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here two nights over the long weekend in a suite on the 4th floor. Suite was not huge by five-star standards, but it was well designed and equipped and had great views. This is not a beach view, it's a working harbour view and is very unashamedly Newcastle which we think has transformed over the past decade. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a very plesant stay. The hotel is very well located for tourists by the harbor. The hotel has a nice pool and staff is friendly. The city is very beautiful and the breakfast was really good. Excellent option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Zangrande, thank you for your review! We love Newcastle, and our passionate team love to share the secrets of the city. Keep in mind, there is always more to explore! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Erin O'Brien Guest Experience Manager More 

Gunnedah, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, loved the busy harbour view being from a drought ridden rural area. Very comfortable suite, at a "room-rate". We ate outdoors at the onsite restaurant, a fine evening, excellent service and reasonable price. Free on street parking was easily available within 100m of the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mulgamagnet! It's wonderful see you enjoyed our location on Newcastle Harbour as much as we do, and made the most of Seasalt Restaurant dining. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Erin O'Brien Guest Experience Manager More 

Gunnedah, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not to mention the buffet breakfast was amazing! Had pre-made eggs benedict, and omlete bar and a make your own fresh juice option. Staff were friendly, housekeeping was absolutely lovely. Room was nice and dark at night which was perfect for my jet lagged partner. Would stay again...and add on breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

EJD91, thank you for your review and comments. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your time in Newcastle, despite your partner's jetlag! Our staff work hard to ensure that every guest has a relaxing and enjoyable stay, and it is wonderful to see that in particular our housekeeping team assisted in this. Regards, Erin O'Brien Guest Experience Manager More 

Pimpama, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night and unfortunately we found more negative aspects than positives ones. The staff were fantastic, very courteous and helpful. The location is great in a quiet area of the city but within walking distance to shops and restaurants. There was also a great view of the Harbour. But unfortunately the king size bed was one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Lynnp2611, thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not delighted with your stay - it is our aim at Crowne Plaza Newcastle that all of our guests leave relaxed and rejuvenated. The school holidays are always an exciting time for us, because usually our hotel is peaceful and quiet. I apologise that... More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are frequent visitors to the Crowne Plaza Newcastle and feel it's time to let others know about this wonderful establishment. Our most recent stay was 26/12 to 30/12 2014. We arrived very early to check-in and although our room wasn't ready (we had no expectation of checking in early, just wanted to beat the holiday traffic), the hotel stored... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Jailo, thank you for your lovely review and comments! It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I am so glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel during the busy festive period. It is wonderful to see that you appreciated our 'extra touches' we brought in especially for our leisure guests over the Christmas... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As the title suggests, we stayed over night for new years eve so we could enjoy the night out, and have a good viewing platform for the fireworks. We were in room 231 harbour view room, which is second floor down the other end of an impossibly long hallway. The room itself was clean, and airy, and has an excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Kindros, thank you for your recommendations, comments and feedback! Our low and long hotel does certainly give you exercise, and you have already discovered the best part of the layout - a view which extends across the working harbour. The festive period over Christmas and New Year is always out busiest time, so it is great to see that for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (174)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay