We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn

#9 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
25 Cobra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
Add Photo

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    47
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
20
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Stayed at the Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn during my recent trip to Dubbo, the motel is located in a good location on the Mitchell Highway & close to the centre of town. The motel itself is just basic, but clean & friendly staff. Booking in was quick and easy, the room had everything I wanted bed, tv, shower, tea &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for passing on the issues you had with the air con unit and TV volume. The motel room’s air conditioning units are still only fairly new so it is surprising that you had problems with yours. 30 degrees on high fan should heat the room quickly. I... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

stayed here overnight while travelling Brisbane to Melbourne. The bed and pillows were sooo comfortable, if we had time would probably have stayed at least another night. Manager was very helpful and accomodating. Nice clean room, would definitely reccomend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tracey.M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Aberdeen. We appreciate all the positive comments that you made and hope that if you are every traveling through this way we can accommodate you again. Regards, Sandra More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Good value for money. Very clean, spacious room and a cosy bed. Close to the centre of town and the Dubbo Zoo. Friendly and helpful staff and the only accommodation on our 2 week driving holiday where other guests shared their experiences with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi David, It was very nice to read your review. We love the title of "The friendly Motel". It's great the read that not only did you find the motel staff friendly but your experience was made even more enjoyable by being able to interact with our other guests. We do have quiet a few regular guests that stay and... More 

Omak, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

We had a one night stay on way through Dubbo. Room was clean and comfortable but nothing exceptional. We were surprised and disappointed with the rate as we booked through Expedia which showed a $99 rate but when we checked in found out we were being charged $134. As we booked 2 rooms we paid $70 more than had planned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi again Jerry, Thank you again for your feedback. We were happy to hear that besides the rates issue you found the room clean and comfortable. As I have previously mentioned to you in our correspondence,after reading your review I have checked our rates on Expedia and could only find the rates that appeared on your booking slip.As I also... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Stayed three nights. Room was a good size. I did like the lounge and table with four chairs. Bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Noise from the main road was not a problem. Room was serviced daily with soap and shapoo, however a quick vacuum each day would have been nice. We made our own bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate guests letting us know if we need to make improvements in any areas.I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and have noted your comment regarding the vacuuming. The housekeeping staff are asked to vacuuming floors in our stop over guests room if needed. Apologies that this didn't happen in... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I stayed mid week a while ago. The motel is in a great location to the cbd and the rooms were ok. Having stayed at several different hotels in Dubbo over the years this one is up there with the best of them, with the exception of the beds. They weren't anything special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. In regards to the beds, not all our rooms have the same beds, some may be firmer than others. Obviously people all have different preferences. If you do stay again let us know what you prefer and we'll endevour to accommodate you.... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Once again, a faultless stay. Cannot beat this place for service, location, affordability, cleanliness, size of rooms, & hassle free checkin/checkout. Big thumbs up, we cannot see ourselves choosing anywhere else in Dubbo whilst this place remains so great

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimB2830, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for firstly taking the time to post a review and secondly for all the very positive comments. We are extremely happy that you feel you experience the same high level of service on each stay. I have already passed your review onto all the staff here so they can also see that their hard work... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Excellent staff and the fact they are more than helpful makes this place shine. Yes the rooms are a little dated, but clean and tidy with a comfy bed and awesome pillow is what it's all about. Stay here for a week for the price of 2 nights, anywhere else. All the food and drink is just a matter of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, Thank you very much for your honest feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to pass on your experience. Regards, Sandra More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Excellent for 3 star accom. Located on main road so very convenient. However our family room was right on the end (windows facing main road) so wouldn't recommend it if you're a light sleeper, other than that fantastic. We stayed for 1 night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad that you still said you had an excellent stay even being close to the road. I am often asked about the road and how noisy it is. Obviously the further into the motel the quieter it would be, however having said that, the motel strip of Cobra St... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights with kids and it was very comfortable. No disturbances at all inspite of being fully booked. The staff very helpful and courteous. We were there on Christmas Day and they made the effort to provide us what we needed in our room even though they were closed and no staff was available after hours. Very happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Deeksha, Thank you for your review. I am very glad that although we were closed on Christmas day you still felt that you received good service. We tried to make sure that guests checking in on Christmas or staying over Christmas would have everything they needed and that if any emergencies did arise someone would still be able to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay