We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn

#8 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
25 Cobra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Hotel amenities
Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
downunder2207 Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
18
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed three nights. Room was a good size. I did like the lounge and table with four chairs. Bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Noise from the main road was not a problem. Room was serviced daily with soap and shapoo, however a quick vacuum each day would have been nice. We made our own bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed mid week a while ago. The motel is in a great location to the cbd and the rooms were ok. Having stayed at several different hotels in Dubbo over the years this one is up there with the best of them, with the exception of the beds. They weren't anything special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once again, a faultless stay. Cannot beat this place for service, location, affordability, cleanliness, size of rooms, & hassle free checkin/checkout. Big thumbs up, we cannot see ourselves choosing anywhere else in Dubbo whilst this place remains so great

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimB2830, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for firstly taking the time to post a review and secondly for all the very positive comments. We are extremely happy that you feel you experience the same high level of service on each stay. I have already passed your review onto all the staff here so they can also see that their hard work... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Excellent staff and the fact they are more than helpful makes this place shine. Yes the rooms are a little dated, but clean and tidy with a comfy bed and awesome pillow is what it's all about. Stay here for a week for the price of 2 nights, anywhere else. All the food and drink is just a matter of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, Thank you very much for your honest feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to pass on your experience. Regards, Sandra More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Excellent for 3 star accom. Located on main road so very convenient. However our family room was right on the end (windows facing main road) so wouldn't recommend it if you're a light sleeper, other than that fantastic. We stayed for 1 night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad that you still said you had an excellent stay even being close to the road. I am often asked about the road and how noisy it is. Obviously the further into the motel the quieter it would be, however having said that, the motel strip of Cobra St... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights with kids and it was very comfortable. No disturbances at all inspite of being fully booked. The staff very helpful and courteous. We were there on Christmas Day and they made the effort to provide us what we needed in our room even though they were closed and no staff was available after hours. Very happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Deeksha, Thank you for your review. I am very glad that although we were closed on Christmas day you still felt that you received good service. We tried to make sure that guests checking in on Christmas or staying over Christmas would have everything they needed and that if any emergencies did arise someone would still be able to... More 

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

What can I say other than, we loved out 1 night stopover at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn. We were heading south and going on other's recommendations rang the Motor Inn for availability (yes they had some), and said we would be there just after 7PM. From the minute we arrived, joking with us as we were 5 minutes later than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ozchickybabe, Thank you for your Awesome review. It was lovely to read and thank you for passing on your suggestions/tips to future guests. Hope you can come back again some day. regards, Sandra More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Location was close to excellent restaurants and river walkway. Staff were helpful and friendly. Even though situated on highway the parking area is a buffer for the traffic noise. Nice pool. Well maintained. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimB2830, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your very positive review and for the tips offered to potential guests. We appreciate you taking the time to pass on your experience. Regards, Sandra More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We always stay at the sundowner Aberdeen Motel, as we find it has everything we need, very clean, comfortable bed, hot shower. This time we had driven all day from Melbourne, decided to have a meal in our room, ordered room service, and had the most enjoyable meal, that arrived presented well and most of all, HOT. The staff at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimB2830, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Popsie, Thank you for your review, it is always pleasing to read reviews that are positive especially when as in your case you have stayed multiple times and we have been consistent each time. Hope we see you again. Regards, Sandra More 

Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We stayed here twice, once only overnight as passed through, there was no toaster or microwave in our 2 bedroom family room but upon reading there information booklet in the room we requested these items for our return trip when we would be staying for 3 nights. Location is great, not far to travel to the zoo which is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JimB2830, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alice, Thank you for reviewing your stays with us at the Aberdeen. As you mentioned, unfortunately we don’t have self contained units but we will happily add a microwave and toaster on request (free of charge). We are also lucky to be in a great location for guests to have their pick of restaurants and fast food outlets within... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question