We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zoofari Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Obley Road | Taronga Western Plain Zoo, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zoofari Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Zoofari Lodge
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

From the well organised check in to the accommodation to the behind the scenes tours to the wonderful African themed meal, we loved this experience and put it up there with some of the best things we have done. We came away feeling we had really got to know the animals and their personalities, also confident that best practice was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A great experience including dinner and breakfast. Rooms were luxurious and beds were very comfortable, although we could not enjoy a late sleep in as the morning tour had to leave at 7 in the morning. African dinner buffet was interesting and tasty. Breakfast was very filling. The tours were very enjoyable and informative. Wifi only available in the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of Zoofari Lodge. We are happy to hear that you and your mother had a great experience, and found the beds to be very comfortable. We hope to have you back to visit the Zoo again sometime soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a unique experience and overall very satisfying. We stayed the one night including three tours, dinner, breakfast, family zoo pass and bike rentals on checkout. Good value if you itemised. On doing the regular zoo visit I realise zoofari was the best way to see the animals and experience the zoo. The timing of tours and meals is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your experience at Zoofari Lodge. We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While you do get exclusive behind the scenes tours, feeding giraffes, bongo, and seeing cheetahs, hippos, elephants, rhinos up close, the rest of the experience was somewhat lacking. For $1200 overnight, for a family of four, the food was only okay, and the accomodation squishy. The lighting in the glam-tents was very dim (especially the bathroom) and sofa bed very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with certain components of your stay at Zoofari Lodge, as well as the rest of the Zoo. However, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We hope we can have you back to visit us again in the... More 

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a marvelous stay! Everything was perfect from accommodation to food to safaris. Our room was spectacular and we got amazing views of animals in our backyard. My family and I were in the African Wild Dog lodge and were so pleased. So many wonderful touches, pillow menu, complimentary bottles of water, binoculars, robes. Everything was just perfect! Nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience and made many memories with your family. Thank you also for sharing some of your photographs. We look forward to having you back in the future. More 

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First let me say a huge thank you to our guides John and Keiyla for their care and humor- they made our stay at Zoofari so memorable and special. Also to chef Nan for the African inspired dinner . The tours and meals were excellent. Unfortunately the booking process was a disappointment- it is possible to call straight through and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our tours and meals, however we are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with our reservation process. We are also very sorry that you missed out on hiring bikes on the day of your visit. Thank you... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stay 2 nights at Zoofari Lodge in an Animal View room with our toddler as part of a special family holiday and we were not disappointed. The room was lovely. Clean, very well equipped with excellent views of the animals! Our toddler loved sitting on the porch watching the zebras, buffalo & zebras as they passed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your fantastic review of Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had an amazing stay, and would recommend this experience to your friends. We hope to have you back to stay with us again in the future. More 

Avoca Beach, Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We enjoyed the overall experience, great tours, feeding the giraffes was great. But we didn't think the room was very clean, needed vacuuming. But the most disappointing was the smoking(maybe if you lucky enough that you don't have any smokers in your stay), after we came back from the afternoon tour, we went straight to the swimming pool and whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Yukari, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience of the stay, however we are disappointed that some guests who were smoking made your stay uncomfortable. We are also sorry that you missed out on receiving your discount at... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We had hoped to do the cheaper tent camping at the zoo, but only the more expensive lodge was available. It seemd a bit expensive at over $300 per person twin share, but in fact we found it was great value for money. it includes 2 days zoo pass, bike hire, discounts on purchases, free private tours with direct encounters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Richard, Thank you for your review of Zoofari Lodge. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience, and found the stay to be good value for money. We hope to have you back to stay with us again. More 

Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

This is a must do for travellers of all ages. Yes, its expensive but you will not regret the experience. It is clamping at its best. Five star luxury and the high-light of any trip around New South Wales. We stayed in the Savannah Lodge, 2 adults and 2 children, for one night. (I don't think its necessary to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Gabe, Thank you for your wonderful review of Zoofari Lodge. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your overnight stay, and that you created life long memories. We hope to have you back to stay with us again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question