We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zoofari Lodge

#2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Obley Road | Taronga Western Plain Zoo, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Zoofari Lodge
Management photos
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    Write a Review

    95 reviews from our community

    Traveler rating
      73
      15
      6
      1
      0
    See reviews for
    39
    34
    2
    Business
    0
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (95)
    • Mar-May only
      (17)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (26)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (32)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (20)
    All months
    Sydney, Australia
    Senior Contributor
    26 reviews 26 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars NEW

    We had hoped to do the cheaper tent camping at the zoo, but only the more expensive lodge was available. It seemd a bit expensive at over $300 per person twin share, but in fact we found it was great value for money. it includes 2 days zoo pass, bike hire, discounts on purchases, free private tours with direct encounters... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello Richard, Thank you for your review of Zoofari Lodge. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience, and found the stay to be good value for money. We hope to have you back to stay with us again. More 

    Australia
    Senior Reviewer
    9 reviews 9 reviews
    6 hotel reviews
    8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

    This is a must do for travellers of all ages. Yes, its expensive but you will not regret the experience. It is clamping at its best. Five star luxury and the high-light of any trip around New South Wales. We stayed in the Savannah Lodge, 2 adults and 2 children, for one night. (I don't think its necessary to stay... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Sydney, Australia
    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Excellent place to stay. Tours were amazing and our kids loved them. Food was great. View from savannah lodges was fantastic....Only problem was not enough time to enjoy as out on tours. Well worth the money. The tour guides were great with our kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are glad to hear that you and your family had an excellent time. We hope to have you back to stay with us again in the future. More 

    Essex, United Kingdom
    Contributor
    19 reviews 19 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We had a brilliant time at the Zoofari Lodge. The lodge was great, beds were comfortable and they give you a choice of different pillows which was nice. Air conditioning was good too. Ive never felt the need to comment on a bathroom before but ours was lovely, the bath was huge and shower was powerful. I loved sitting on... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello Jenna, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time and we hope you created memories to last you a lifetime. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again next time you are travelling in Australia. More 

    Parramatta, Australia
    Contributor
    16 reviews 16 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

    If I could give more than 5 stars I would - its more Glam and Camp All the staff were friendly and helpful, I have a food allergy that was dealt with ease, the food was amazing and plenty of it. The lodges were clean, comfy, air con if wanted, I had about 6 pillows to choose from, the bath... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello Aileen, Thank you for your excellent review of Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the luxuries of one of our Lodges. Thank you also for sharing some wonderful photos from your stay. We hope to have you back to stay with us again in the future. More 

    Brisbane, Australia
    Senior Reviewer
    10 reviews 10 reviews
    8 hotel reviews
    8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

    We had been to Dubbo Zoo a few years before but had not stayed in the Savannah View rooms as they have only recently been built. What can you say when you awake to see giraffes, zebra and water buffalo strolling past your window? Dinner and breakfast the following morning are included along with and evening and morning behind the... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 3
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Zoofari Lodge, and our newly renovated Lodges. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. More 

    Sydney
    Contributor
    11 reviews 11 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

    The Zoofari lodge exceeded our expectations. Everything included was definitely worth the price. The room itself was very beautiful and clean, and extremely comfortable to sleep in and relax. The view from the rooms was exactly as advertised, where even the animals came up close. The banquet dinner and breakfast was exceptional, where even a wine tasting was included. Furthermore,... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations, and that you would recommend a stay at Zoofari Lodge to your friends. We hope to have you back to stay with us again in the future. More 

    Sydney
    Senior Contributor
    47 reviews 47 reviews
    26 hotel reviews
    31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

    The Zoofari package is an exceptional overnight experience with three ‘behind the scenes’ tours of the zoo – two of them out of hours. The accommodation is in luxury, air-conditioned tents located on the edge of the Savannah area. Each tent has large, well-appointed en suite facilities and a living area with a comfortable king-size bed, divan, mini-bar and tea... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Zoofari Lodge. We are very glad to hear that you found our meals, accommodation and tours to be excellent, and that you would recommend this experience to others. We hope to have you back to stay at the Zoo again in the future. More 

    Senior Contributor
    46 reviews 46 reviews
    13 hotel reviews
    28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

    In Australia we usually struggle to deliver tourist experiences of quality but Zoofari is great! We spent two nights with our 4 yo son and had a wonderful time. The facilities, location and staff were excellent. The private tours fun. The booking and arrival process could be a little clearer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you found Zoofari Lodge to be a great experience, and that your family had fun on our tours. We hope to have you back to stay with us at the Zoo again in the future. More 

    London, United Kingdom
    Contributor
    11 reviews 11 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

    My stay at Zoofari Lodge got off to a poor start with the booking process and this is one of the reasons it drops a rating point from me. Very hard to get through on the phone so I sent an email enquiry explaining precisely what we wanted to book with a whole range of date options (being as flexible... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 4
    TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and enjoyed the luxury of the newly renovated lodges. However, we are very sorry to hear about the difficulty you faced when trying to book at Zoofari Lodge. Please be assured that... More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
    Owners: What's your side of the story?
    Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
    Manage your listing

    Been to Zoofari Lodge? Share your experiences!

    Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

    Additional Information about Zoofari Lodge

    Address: Obley Road | Taronga Western Plain Zoo, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
    Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
    Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
    Number of rooms: 15
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zoofari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

    94 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (69)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (8)
    Viewed
    View from room (5)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (7)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (3)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (4)
    Viewed
    Dining (3)
    Viewed
    Other (39)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (25)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (8)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (1)
    Viewed
    Dining (3)
    Viewed
    Family/play areas (1)
    Viewed
    Other (12)
    Hotels you might also like...
    Check In Check Out
    Price Your Stay

    Amenities

    Highlights
    • Pool
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    About the property
    • Wheelchair access
    Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Internet
    • Free Internet
    Services
    • Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
    • Free Parking
    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    Zoofari Lodge is a unique safari-style retreat located in the grounds of Taronga Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo, recently expanded to include 10 luxury lodges overlooking a savannah area where Giraffe and Zebra roam. The Zoofari Lodge package is inclusive of tours, accommodation, meals, Zoo admission and bike hire. It is, in essence, a private safari experience in the heart of NSW. ... more   less 
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Zoofari Lodge staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    Hotels around Dubbo

    Across Country Motor Inn
    Across Country Motor Inn 4.0 out of 5, 47 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 2, 2015
    Comfort Inn Blue Lagoon
    Comfort Inn Blue Lagoon 3.5 out of 5, 61 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 2, 2015
    BEST WESTERN Blue Diamond Motor Inn
    BEST WESTERN Blue Diamond Motor Inn 4.5 out of 5, 47 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Blue Gum Motor Inn
    Blue Gum Motor Inn 4.5 out of 5, 76 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
    Cattleman's Country Motor Inn 4.0 out of 5, 286 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Tallarook Motor Inn
    Tallarook Motor Inn 4.5 out of 5, 172 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 28, 2015
    Australian Heritage Motor Inn
    Australian Heritage Motor Inn 4.0 out of 5, 76 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 27, 2015
    Matilda Motor Inn
    Matilda Motor Inn 4.5 out of 5, 33 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 24, 2015
    Econo Lodge Fountain View
    Econo Lodge Fountain View 3.5 out of 5, 19 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 5, 2015
    Dubbo Palms Motel
    Dubbo Palms Motel 3.5 out of 5, 27 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 1, 2015
    Quest Dubbo
    Quest Dubbo 4.5 out of 5, 115 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 29, 2015
    Comfort Inn Dubbo City
    Comfort Inn Dubbo City 3.5 out of 5, 13 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 25, 2015
    Golden West Motor Inn
    Golden West Motor Inn 4.0 out of 5, 76 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 20, 2015
    Countryman Motor Inn
    Countryman Motor Inn 4.0 out of 5, 22 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 18, 2015
    Westview Caravan Park
    Westview Caravan Park 3.5 out of 5, 10 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 10, 2014