We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zoofari Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Obley Road | Taronga Western Plain Zoo, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Zoofari Lodge
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Coomera, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visits the zoo and stayed at the Zoofari Lodge a couple of years ago. Gave the place an excellent rating then. This time we stayed in one of the new animal view lodges. The lodge was amazing. Much larger and much better appointed than the old ones. So this time I have to give the review 6 stars because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hervey Bay
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our Zoofari experience. We were expecting to relax in the luxurious accommodation on offer - and we did to a certain extent - but we found that the Zoofari experience (tours and meals) constitute a lot of your time. That said, you may as well immerse yourself in as much as you can while you're there. The tours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay, and enjoyed visiting our elephant barn during one of your tours. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic time staying at the safari lodge, lodges are great & tours are fantastic as well Great food, loved the wildlife Really loved it & would recommend. Planning on doing it again. They're camp style, but have AC, ensuite with large bath & shower, great outdoor feel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Neil, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at Zoofari Lodge. We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The zoofari experience was amazing. We would love to do it again. We took three young kids and we found it educational and everyone of us loved it . The dinner was kind of average but they were able to provide gluten free options and service was great :) The pool could have done with a clean thou!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you had a nice mini break at Zoofari Lodge with your family. However we are disappointed to hear that you found the food to be average, and that the pool was unclean on the day of your visit. Please be assured we are... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Zoofari lodges are outstanding. You tour the zoo at 3pm, 8:10pm - after a great dinner and wine tasting, & 7am after which there is a delicious breakfast. The staff are great and very knowledgeable about the zoo, and will help you in any way they can. The lodges themselves are perfect, super relaxing and you can sit on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing a review about Zoofari Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic time, and enjoyed exploring the Zoo on the exclusive behind the scenes tours. Thank you also for sharing some of your excellent photos with us. We look forward to having you back in the future. More 

San Remo, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic time glamping at the zoo. The tent was beautifully decked out. with great amenities. The guide John, was very informative and friendly. I feel the value is good, keeping in mind that it is the animals that benefit with our ongoing support. The weather was fine and sunny, a wet & windy stay would have spoilt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Terry, Thank you for writing a review. We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic time, and that the weather was kind to you on your stay. We look forward to you coming to stay with us again in the future. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the well organised check in to the accommodation to the behind the scenes tours to the wonderful African themed meal, we loved this experience and put it up there with some of the best things we have done. We came away feeling we had really got to know the animals and their personalities, also confident that best practice was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you got to know our animals. We hope to have you back to stay with us again in the future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great experience including dinner and breakfast. Rooms were luxurious and beds were very comfortable, although we could not enjoy a late sleep in as the morning tour had to leave at 7 in the morning. African dinner buffet was interesting and tasty. Breakfast was very filling. The tours were very enjoyable and informative. Wifi only available in the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of Zoofari Lodge. We are happy to hear that you and your mother had a great experience, and found the beds to be very comfortable. We hope to have you back to visit the Zoo again sometime soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

This is a unique experience and overall very satisfying. We stayed the one night including three tours, dinner, breakfast, family zoo pass and bike rentals on checkout. Good value if you itemised. On doing the regular zoo visit I realise zoofari was the best way to see the animals and experience the zoo. The timing of tours and meals is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your experience at Zoofari Lodge. We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

While you do get exclusive behind the scenes tours, feeding giraffes, bongo, and seeing cheetahs, hippos, elephants, rhinos up close, the rest of the experience was somewhat lacking. For $1200 overnight, for a family of four, the food was only okay, and the accomodation squishy. The lighting in the glam-tents was very dim (especially the bathroom) and sofa bed very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Zoofari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with certain components of your stay at Zoofari Lodge, as well as the rest of the Zoo. However, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We hope we can have you back to visit us again in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities