We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Broken Hill hotels

The Lodge Outback Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lodge Outback Motel to your Saves list
The Lodge Outback Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Broken Hill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
MarkW1802 Adelaide, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (105)
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
48
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lodge provided us with an excellent pit stop on the drive from Adelaide to Sydney. Well-priced and a very pleasant family room in the old building with comfortable beds and kitchenette. The building itself is beautiful and breaks the monotony of the standard motel structures. Close enough to the city centre and one block away from a fantastic park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we love your use of words. We wish you all the best with your travels and hope you come by for another pit stop. More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfy warm bed Hot water plenty of tea making items continually replenished. We stayed 8 nights & I could stay more. We will return. the train trip up from Sydney was brilliant & pick up by motel staff was appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear that you have had a great experience at the Lodge Outback Motel. We will certainly be happy to pick you up again at the train station when you next come to town. Thank you More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although well situated close to town centre the presentation left a bit to be desired cleaning removal of dust under bed and cupboards was not up to standard. The shower wet the bathroom floor creating sodden towels each day plus the smell from the bathroom drain was bad. We had a spa room but it was very small with limited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as you had hoped. Due to the Lodge's location in an area rich in mineral, the water/ drains can at times produce a bad smell. I am glad the issues were solved for you and we hope that you overall had a great experience of... More

Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When I get a warm welcome from happy friendly staff it makes the rest of my stay feel like I am with friends so anything that is less then perfect is fine by me. This fabulous old building gave access to my room via an internal hallway and also via a door directly to my car park. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and taking the time to write it. It is great to hear that you felt welcomed at the Lodge Outback Motel and had a great experience in the outback. More

Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed two nights in a lovely room in the main building, well equipped with microwave and fridge. We were collected from the train station, which made things much easier. The Lodge is a quick walk to town and other attractions, in a quiet location. Garden setting, pool and bbq available. We would definitely stay again, very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that the pick up from the station made your stay much easier. We look forward to being of service again when you next visit Broken Hill. More

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and loved the location, friendly staff and beautiful rooms. The staff gave us a great deal and were more than accommodating. The rooms were great, the place has good facilities and we would recommend to anyone staying in Broken Hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the outback hospitality that we are known for and that you had some great days in the outback. More

Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is a must, a very old but well-maintained large house with additional accommodation added. It is very well located - five minutes walk to the CBD of Broken Hill and very close to many other tourist features in the City.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review - we are happy that you liked the way we have put this establishment together and that you enjoyed the outback atmosphere. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Once an initial misunderstanding had been sorted out, my almost week long stay was wonderful. I had a lovely room although my visit was a working one so I did not actually spend a lot of time in my room but when there, it was more than worth it. The main complex of the lodge is a superb building and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that we managed to solve the misunderstanding and that you had a great stay after. You will always be welcomed at the Lodge Outback Motel. Thanks you More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

A lovely welcome, but the deluxe queen room was very small and tired. The free wireless internet didn't stretch to our room which was very close to reception, this was extremely disappointing. There must be much better places to stay in Broken Hill than this place, I certainly will not return and I would not recommend it to anyone. Do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is disappointing to hear that we did not met your needs. We always say to guests if they are not satisfied come and talk to us and we will be more than happy to find something more suitable. The same is when it comes to the internet, if you... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were attracted to this motel by the great pics on the web site. It does look nice and offers Heritage Rooms. We were offered a choice of 2 on arrival, which is just as well. One was an inside room, which was inside the heritage style main building which is what had attracted us. However this room, whilst it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always recommend to guests to have a look a at the rooms before they select the room they would like to stay in. As can be read through the review our guests have varied expectations. The majority of our rooms come with a view and a large window but... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lodge Outback Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lodge Outback Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Outback Motel

Address: 252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Outback Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Lodge Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combine comfortable living with an exclusive outback experience and you have award wining The Lodge Outback Motel. This delightful place is in the secluded area of Broken Hill, offering a great place for you to escape from every day hassles. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer