We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge Outback Motel

Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Hotel amenities
The Lodge Outback Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Broken Hill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Christina_Wangi LakeMacquarie
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    29
    13
    2
See reviews for
25
69
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
LakeMacquarie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This motel was walking distance to town, close to food outlet and liquor store. Pleasant rooms, nice décor, friendly staff - too cool to use pool and bbq facilities however they are a good feature weather permitting. Could have done with a little more attention to tidiness in outside areas but to be fair the Manager was away at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checked in here for two nights with travelling friends. Check in was a breeze, served by a very pleasant lady. Warned about the "sticky" door lock, but had no problem Aircon was good, shower and toilet a little squeeze, but who cares!!! No road noise, breakfasts very reasonably priced. Check out other reviews

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, great to hear that you had a grand experience in the NSW Outback. It is our vision to provide a travel experience that is authentic and relates to the story of the outback. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I went to Broken Hill for summer vacation. It was our first time and we fell in love with the outback.The Lodge Outback Motel is the one we choose to stay while on vacation. Our room has a nice charm,clean and were serviced everyday. The staff were always helpful and smiling.They are very hospitable and friendly. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience of the outback and enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I've been here for 3 weeks. This place really make me feel like home comfortable and good service and people here very friendly the room also tidy ! The location also good for group traveling and solo travel We can enjoy relax holiday as well ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - it is great to hear that you had relaxing holiday while staying the The Lodge Outback Motel. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. More 

Thule, Greenland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked this motel because it looked so picturesque online and we were not disappointed. Chris was very helpful through the check-in and showed us where the room was. The room was of a good size and had all the facilities that we needed to have a pleasant stay. Broken Hill is a great outback place, with a quirky authenticity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, it is great to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the outback hospitality that we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon and we wish you all the best with your future travels. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on our way through broken hill. Was attracted by the multiple "award winning" banners, but was disappointed. Either the awards are dated (or need review) or the other accommodation in Town is a disaster. Pro's - Walking distance to Broken Hill town centre - Plenty of parking Con's - Rooms were very dated and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Owner at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate feedback. We are disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. In regards to your concerns, we were awarded Silver last year (2014) at the NSW State award, which is awarded to 3 1/2 Star accommodation across the whole of NSW. This award... More 

South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a place to stay at short notice in Broken Hill. I booked at the reception desk and despite the fact the hotel was very busy the staff was friendly and was able to find a room for my family that met our needs and budget. The room was clean and the bed comfortable with a hot shower and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you found our service of value and that we were able to accommodate you and your family. Wishing you safe travels from us at the Lodge. More 

Lightning Ridge, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Look, the lady in charge was very nice and accommodating BUT our first room was unclean so we asked to be moved. The second room was better (renovated) but still needed the hair cleaned off the bathroom floor. Shower screen put over bath in such a way that all water pours out onto the floor and water tap outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We do acknowledge your points and are very sorry that you had such an unfortunate experience. We make sure they are attended to swiftly. In regards to the hair issues that you have encountered, we will be communicating this directly to our cleaning staff, to ensure this does not happen... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night, that was enough! Saw prices on wotif.com, didn't book off the net went to reception instead. When we checked in was quoted more then online, when I questioned the price there was a big story and explanation of why my room was more than online, Worse than being overcharged the shower was full of hair and so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Owner at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Cleanliness is a priority of ours and as you can read our overall rating by members of Tripadvisor is 4 out 5 stars. It is unfortunate that you had a different experience and we apologize for this. As you stated, the sheets were changed immediately for you and all was... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for fairly cheap accommodation in Broken Hill but wanted something that would allow us to prepare our own meals – but my wife objects to youth hostels and similar accommodation. A difficult mix. I chose this Motel because the rooms were air-conditioned and contained a kitchenette (microwave oven, small fridge, tea and coffee facilities, etc). There’s also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed review. Broken Hill is know for its heritage style of architecture and this is also reflected at the Lodge Outback Motel. Our rooms have been fitted so they stay true to the style of the building and at the same time incorporates modern facilities such as microwaves etc. We are glad... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question