We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Broken Hill hotels

The Lodge Outback Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lodge Outback Motel to your Saves list
The Lodge Outback Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
72%
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Broken Hill
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sue H Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
42
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely old style country accommodation with very helpful staff. I stayed for 4 days for business and was looked after very well by the staff who were helpful in showing me where to go and how to find my way around. This place also can pick up or drop you back to the airport which is delightful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very thrilled that you like our outback hospitality and found staff helpful. We look forward to be of service again, if your business travels leads you this way again. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent place to stay , clean , tidy and reasonable prices. It gives you that feeling you are not away from your home. Very kind staff and managment. Close to the city, hospital and Cathedral Church.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Dr Ali for taking the time to write a review we very much appreciate your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the 'outback hospitality' and found the place a home away from home. Thank yuo again. More

King's Lynn
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We found this with some difficulty and had to wait about twenty minutes at reception, but once the manager arrived she was apologetic for the delay and helpful. The room was quite small and the bathroom was tucked in at the back, along with the fridge, kettle etc. The pool looked fine but the weather was too cold to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

‎Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologies for the delay you experienced at reception. We usually provide efficient check in service and we have reviewed our pick-up procedure to ensure it doesn't happen again. We are happy though to hear that you found our Staff helpful. We are guessing you must have been here during... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We hadn't booked so were lucky to find such a nice place on our first try. The room wasn't large but had everything we needed- Microwave, kettle, toaster, table & chairs. Air con that worked well- 45degrees the day we arrived!!! Bed was comfy, nice and quiet in our room. Helpful staff- laundry for a coin fee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate feedback and hope you had a great stay in the great outback town of Broken Hill More

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked this place based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. What a lovely motel and the landlady owner is a really charming character. We stayed in one of the outer rooms, not in the old building, but it was spotlessly clean and a decent size. We were glad of the good air conditioning, as the daytime temperature... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we appreciate it very much. We are very happy that you had a great experience of the big outdoors. Good luck with future travels. More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a beautiful motel. Situated in a quiet, peaceful yet central location, this grand old manor house has been lovingly restored and made into very tastefully appointed accommodations. The delux spa room we stayed in was just beautiful and the staff the generous and helpful I have had the pleasure to meet. Breakfast was sensational, fresh and hot and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the outback hospitality that we are well known for. We wish all the best with future travels. More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great old building, though we stayed in the cabins outside. Not very big rooms, but ours was clean and comfortable and we had a great sleep. Friendly service and reasonable price. Good location and a short walk into town. Lovely gardens and the pool was basic but a welcome amenity after a very hot day of sightseeing. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we very much appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear that you a wonderful experience at our motel and the outback. More

Central Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Arrived Broken Hill 17/10/13 at 6.30am on board the Indian Pacific Train with a booking for a one night stay at The Lodge. There were six other people that also had the same booking as us so the eight of us mingled outside the railway station hoping for transport. I rang the Lodge & asked if there was anyone that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We are more than excited that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay at The Lodge Outback Motel. We appreciate very much your positive feedback. More

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights, in a great Heritage Room, very comfortable bed, very clean unit good sized room with very high ceilings as per age of main dwelling. We had a carport attached to our room which had a beautiful atmosphere with old world charm and a bottle wine on arrival, very welcome and appreciated.Microwave was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay and that you loved the Outback hospitality we offer. More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Clean. Helpful staff. Bed comfortable. However, on the downside, SMALLEST room I have ever stayed in! Terribly cramped. ONE tiny window which looked on to a tall boundary fence just a metre or two away. So no outlook at all! Would even liked to have looked on to a car park!!!!! Shower over the bath, and the water because of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write you comments. It is unfortunate that the room you booked did not cover your needs. Most of our rooms are individually fitted and have some unique aspects. Being part of an old building this is unavoidable. We always encourage guest who are not happy about there rooms to come and... More

Been to The Lodge Outback Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Outback Motel

Address: 252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Outback Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine comfortable living with an exclusive outback experience and you have award wining The Lodge Outback Motel. This delightful place is in the secluded area of Broken Hill, offering a great place for you to escape from every day hassles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Lodge Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Outback Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.