We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge Outback Motel

252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Hotel amenities
The Lodge Outback Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Broken Hill
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
gingie71 Tamworth, Australia
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    29
    13
    2
See reviews for
25
69
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My first stay there and it was clean and spacious. Bed extremely comfortable, reasonably price. Short walk to the center of town and everything you need is available. Definitely stay again and would high recommand.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Wow - I have during my time as manager replied to many reviews, but I must say that this one is very concise and straight to the point. So thank you for taking the time to write it. Travel safely. More 

Tibooburra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

After missing out on my usual place to stay at when in Broken Hill, I was advised to try "The Lodge". I'm glad they did, it's not a modern motel ..if that's any guarantee of good place to stay..ummm no! The Lodge is a older style guesthouse motel situated in amongst some nice shady trees only a short walk from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review, its is great to read that you enjoyed our outback hospitality and that you found rest on one of our pillows. We love our heritage style building and are finding this to be a great place where one can experience the essence of Broken Hill. We hope to see you again soon. More 

LakeMacquarie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This motel was walking distance to town, close to food outlet and liquor store. Pleasant rooms, nice décor, friendly staff - too cool to use pool and bbq facilities however they are a good feature weather permitting. Could have done with a little more attention to tidiness in outside areas but to be fair the Manager was away at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - its is great to hear you enjoyed the outback hospitality that you have to offer. We wish you all the best for future travels and hope to see you again soon in Broken Hill. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Checked in here for two nights with travelling friends. Check in was a breeze, served by a very pleasant lady. Warned about the "sticky" door lock, but had no problem Aircon was good, shower and toilet a little squeeze, but who cares!!! No road noise, breakfasts very reasonably priced. Check out other reviews

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, great to hear that you had a grand experience in the NSW Outback. It is our vision to provide a travel experience that is authentic and relates to the story of the outback. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I went to Broken Hill for summer vacation. It was our first time and we fell in love with the outback.The Lodge Outback Motel is the one we choose to stay while on vacation. Our room has a nice charm,clean and were serviced everyday. The staff were always helpful and smiling.They are very hospitable and friendly. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience of the outback and enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

I've been here for 3 weeks. This place really make me feel like home comfortable and good service and people here very friendly the room also tidy ! The location also good for group traveling and solo travel We can enjoy relax holiday as well ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - it is great to hear that you had relaxing holiday while staying the The Lodge Outback Motel. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. More 

Thule, Greenland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We picked this motel because it looked so picturesque online and we were not disappointed. Chris was very helpful through the check-in and showed us where the room was. The room was of a good size and had all the facilities that we needed to have a pleasant stay. Broken Hill is a great outback place, with a quirky authenticity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, it is great to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the outback hospitality that we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon and we wish you all the best with your future travels. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on our way through broken hill. Was attracted by the multiple "award winning" banners, but was disappointed. Either the awards are dated (or need review) or the other accommodation in Town is a disaster. Pro's - Walking distance to Broken Hill town centre - Plenty of parking Con's - Rooms were very dated and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Owner at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate feedback. We are disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. In regards to your concerns, we were awarded Silver last year (2014) at the NSW State award, which is awarded to 3 1/2 Star accommodation across the whole of NSW. This award... More 

South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I needed a place to stay at short notice in Broken Hill. I booked at the reception desk and despite the fact the hotel was very busy the staff was friendly and was able to find a room for my family that met our needs and budget. The room was clean and the bed comfortable with a hot shower and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you found our service of value and that we were able to accommodate you and your family. Wishing you safe travels from us at the Lodge. More 

Lightning Ridge, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Look, the lady in charge was very nice and accommodating BUT our first room was unclean so we asked to be moved. The second room was better (renovated) but still needed the hair cleaned off the bathroom floor. Shower screen put over bath in such a way that all water pours out onto the floor and water tap outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We do acknowledge your points and are very sorry that you had such an unfortunate experience. We make sure they are attended to swiftly. In regards to the hair issues that you have encountered, we will be communicating this directly to our cleaning staff, to ensure this does not happen... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay