We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Broken Hill hotels

The Lodge Outback Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Hotel amenities
The Lodge Outback Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge Outback Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Broken Hill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jenny T Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
24
62
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As we arrived at the motel before 6pm, we managed to find a parking space right outside our room - convenient for unpacking our belongings. However, as the main property is an old house turned into a motel, you may often find yourself parking in the garden rather than just outside your motel room door. We found the atmosphere at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have taken on board your concerns regrading the room and the layout. As you mentioned, The Lodge Outback Motel is part of an old heritage building which has come with its challenges, but our priority is to keep the intimate, more personalised and homely feel that you so delicately... More 

Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Make sure you pay the extra to get a renovated queen room and ask for it to be quiet....the building entry is in need of a major facelift but be had a great night's sleep with everything we needed. Walking distance to whatever you need and receptionist nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you that you had a good night sleep at our motel. It is on our list of to do's to give the front a bit of a facelift, but thank you for bringing it to our attention again. We wish you safe travels. More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night while driving around the country. As stated in other reviews, this motel is quite old but has a lot of character. Considering the price, I was very happy with the room and facilities provided. The grounds were lovely and our room had everything you expect from a country motel (air con, fridge, tv, etc).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - it is great to hear that you enjoyed the feel of the outback and the hospitality that we offer out here. We try to en-capture the feel of the outback and the historical heritage that comes with it. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again. More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on a driving holiday and stayed here after reading reviews from Trip Advisor on the wonderful service. Yes, the service is very friendly, but the room needed a good scrub. The venue is dated but that is part of the charm. My disappointment was with how dirty the rooms and old house is. A really good clean is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations. We will certainly make sure that the room you stayed is given an extra clean, and that this is mentioned to our housekeeping staff. As you might know Broken Hill has just been listed as a National Heritage City and our motel... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in mid afternoon and took the last family room right near the reception desk and front door of the main building, which was surprisingly quiet. We had a nice stay here with plenty of room and old but comfy beds, with an air con that worked. Plunger coffee in room a nice touch. My sister in law stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stayed with us and found out facilities enjoyable. Thank you for your concern regarding the air con in the outside room, we shall check and make sure it is working. We wish great future travels. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Christine was so accommodating. Running late & rang to say we would be later. No issues. She waited for us. Made sure air conditioner was on for us & was just the lovliest person you could meet. The room was wonderful & it was a shame to leave the next day. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - we are very happy that you liked our Outback hospitality. We wish you all the best for your future travels and hope to see you again soon. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Myself, partner & my 2 children stayed in the queen room with spa for 3 days on our outback holiday experience. The service was very friendly, quiet place, clean & walking distance to the shops, parks etc

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. More 

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

My husband and I booked a spa room on our way home to. Dubbo, NSW from Port Lincoln, SA. While we were towing a camping trailer, on our way home we just wanted a stay where we could avoid setting up our camp for a night as we covered over 1600km in just two days on our way home. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are impressed with the amount of kilometers that you have traveled. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with and enjoyed our facilities. I have made sure that attention have been paid to the door that you mentioned. In regards to the key box, we suggest to our guest... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We loved our stay in the Lodge - comfortable room, pretty garden, pool to cool off in, and easy walking distance to everything in town, but quiet and peaceful. Christine, the manager, could not have done more for us - picked us up from the coach stop at the ungodly hour of midnight, and even supplied me with asprin when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - We hope your toothache has disappeared by now. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience of the Outback hospitality that we offer and wish you safe travels in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This was my very first time in broken hill. Stayed in this motel for a week with my boyfriend. We had a lovely little room off the main building. It had a double bed, bathroom, tv, fridge, CD player - all that we needed. The manager was lovely and helped us out, telling us where to go and visit. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear that your experience of the Outback was a great one and that you found our facilities in good working order. We hope to be of service to you again soon. Happy travels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lodge Outback Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Outback Motel

Address: 252 Mica Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Outback Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay