We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Motel

271 Kaolin Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Hilltop)
Hotel amenities
Hilltop Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Broken Hill
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Rosanna B Adelaide
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here on our way back home from the Gold coast and found it to be a good quiet place to stay. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was a little small and shower was too but big enough to shower in. Water temp was good but at times flow rather slow. Motel out of Town a bit but at night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mogo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Andrea and the team worked hard to give our 46 passengers a comfortable stay. We stayed 5 nights the advantages were it was in a lovely quiet spot high up with stunning views at sunset and sunrise. Meals were good one night in particular was exceptional there was also a bar breakfast was available making our stay easy for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a family room online it looked amazing. Upon arrival the place looked nice and we thought great. When we opened the door of our room it was nothing like the pictures showed online. It was very old with the kitchenette on a carpeted floor.. We asked for a downgrade as 140 was a rip off for what you actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea S, Manager at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

In response to your review. It is unfortunate that your stay was so disappointing as we pride ourselves in making our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. However, in response to your complaints: Firstly, the room you chose to book online was featured as a family room containing 1 x queen bed and 2 single beds configuration allowing a (MAX... More 

Parramatta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay it was clean and tidy and a very comfortable room. Staff were very professional and helpful. Restaurant was very nice and service was fast and professional. Town was great with lots to see. We were there for 8 days and had a fabulous time and the townspeople were ever so friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Hard beds, no towels left in room, i had to use the floor towel to dry and a face flannel for floor, put us in a room initially with no single beds for children, awkward tight car park and when checking out I noticed manager had parked her bmw in the spot you would pull into to check in to,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Stayed at this motel recently and was very impressed with the motel. The nightly rate is very reasonable and this motel is situated in a quiet area. Rooms were very clean and the bed was super comfy. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. If I need to return to Broken Hill again, I will definitely stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mildura
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in the queen spa room (which was worth the little bit extra $) and were very happy with the hilltop. Friendly efficient staff/mamagrment, super clean room, not overly modern but still nice decor. Big spa bathroom was fantastic, bed comfortable, and was in a good location. We enjoyed our stay here.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cobar, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Rooms are clean, beds are comfy. A/C is loud, rattles and squeaks constantly. Lucky if the air is cooler than outside. Dining room service on a very quiet night was poor. Food very substandard for the high price. Will not return, nor recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Entrance, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

A Great place to stay if you brought or rented your car. A fair walk from town & shops & all uphill on the way back. We stayed 8 nights, having travelled on the Explorer train service from Sydney. We found heaps to occupy our time with a selection of Museums,Galleries, & City Tours. we hired a car for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The room was tiny, just room for the bed. The toilet & shower ditto. It is a 1950's style motel. Their advertising claims the "air-conditioned room features views of the town & pool area". There is no view from the rooms, maybe if you climb onto the roof, not sure. It is on the fringe of town and a car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay