We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Motel

271 Kaolin Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Hilltop)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilltop Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    18
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for two nights and would happily stay here again. The room was quiet (no noise from neighbours) and although the bathroom was small, it was big enough for me with a good shower. The staff were friendly and the price was reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wangaratta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

First night spa wouldn't work no one came to fix found out next day that it was turned off at the motor its self light over door blown hard to find keyhole ants in the room got told oh that's common. Our allocated parking spot was too small so we had to park next door

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Situated at the western end of the township, this motel has easy access when arriving from Adelaide. The room was a reasonable size and the bed comfortable. Had a lovely meal at the onsite restaurant. The free Wi-Fi had very good response.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

This economical motel is located on the "hilltop" in a quiet part of the township, the city-side of Kaolin Street. It's an adequate sized room that contains everything you'd need for a short stay, including a desk, and a great mirror, something that many motel rooms lack. This trip I didn't eat at the restaurant on the premises, but in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LISAROW
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

After spending the best part of my younger years flying to other continents I was a little embarrassed that I had not visited many iconic Australian places of which Broken Hill was one. After finally convincing my wife that it would be the place to go we decided to make the 1300 km from the Central Coast via train 15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We stayed one night driving through.room vas clean big inough with all the things one need for comfortable stay staff vas frendly and helpful you could park right in front of your door so getting your luggage was easy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bomaderry, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Just home from a week here. Had a great time. About 1 km from the city centre, it suited us well as we had a hire car. The restaurant attached, Betina's, was fantastic - the best dinner we had in Broken Hill. I liked the: Fresh milk for a cuppa Biscuits to go with it Great range of toiletries Use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We stayed here on our way back home from the Gold coast and found it to be a good quiet place to stay. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was a little small and shower was too but big enough to shower in. Water temp was good but at times flow rather slow. Motel out of Town a bit but at night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mogo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Andrea and the team worked hard to give our 46 passengers a comfortable stay. We stayed 5 nights the advantages were it was in a lovely quiet spot high up with stunning views at sunset and sunrise. Meals were good one night in particular was exceptional there was also a bar breakfast was available making our stay easy for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Booked a family room online it looked amazing. Upon arrival the place looked nice and we thought great. When we opened the door of our room it was nothing like the pictures showed online. It was very old with the kitchenette on a carpeted floor.. We asked for a downgrade as 140 was a rip off for what you actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea S, Manager at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

In response to your review. It is unfortunate that your stay was so disappointing as we pride ourselves in making our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. However, in response to your complaints: Firstly, the room you chose to book online was featured as a family room containing 1 x queen bed and 2 single beds configuration allowing a (MAX... More 

Travelers are raving about these Broken Hill hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
1.1 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 16 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#2 of 16 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#12 of 16 in Broken Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Exchange Hotel
Royal Exchange Hotel
#9 of 16 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Silver Haven Motor Inn
The Silver Haven Motor Inn
#5 of 16 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#6 of 16 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay